Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,758 Members 38,567 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] How to apply an update.zip to a stock Xoom (3G/WIFI) (with a USB-Host cable)

Tip us?
 
Bauxite
Old
(Last edited by Bauxite; 11th May 2011 at 03:41 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 557
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [Guide] How to apply an update.zip to a stock Xoom (3G/WIFI) (with a USB-Host cable)

Hi everyone, I just managed to get my completely stock Xoom updated via USB host-cable... some instructions:

REQUIRED:
USB HOST CABLE
FAT32 USB THUMB DRIVE

3G Instructions:

1) Place the update.zip (can have any filename you like) on the usb stick.

2) Connect the USB stick to the host cable and connect the host cable to the Xoom.

3) Power off

4) Power on, tap (ONLY TAP) volume down a few times until you get a list of options you can cycle through.

5) Select Android Recovery

6) Tap Volume up to boot into recovery

7) Hold power and tap volume up at the green android screen to get the BLUE recovery menu

8) Select apply update from USB drive

9) Select your update.zip from the menu... enjoy!

As for the 3.1 Update, if you get into a boot loop, just hold power and volume up to get out of it.

WIFI ONLY USERS:

There is no menu option for android recovery, you'll need to use:

adb reboot recovery

you can plug in the usb stick at the green android guy screen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-05-10_20-17-47_3.jpg
Views:	9963
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	592533  
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Bauxite For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SS2006
Old
#2  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 1,502
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Ontario
good stuff, wish i had a host cable
 
dean_fx
Old
#3  
dean_fx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 327
Posts: 774
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: /

 
DONATE TO ME
Wifi version? Or only 3g?
The Following User Says Thank You to dean_fx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SS2006
Old
#4  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 1,502
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Im assuming its the same, but he tested it on a wifi i think
 
Bauxite
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 557
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS2006 View Post
Im assuming its the same, but he tested it on a wifi i think
I did it to my 3G, but it is 100% the same I'm assuming...
 
dean_fx
Old
#6  
dean_fx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 327
Posts: 774
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: /

 
DONATE TO ME
I think I am going to roll back to stock and hope for a OTA.
 
SS2006
Old
#7  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 1,502
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Ontario
nice, next step how to root this 3.1..
 
tpham08901
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 57
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jersey City
Default awesome

you sir deserve an award
 
dimitri407
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 229
Join Date: Jun 2007
How about if we don't have the Host cable?
 
ruvort
Old
#10  
ruvort's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 405
Posts: 1,498
Join Date: Aug 2010
Anyone searching for a cheap host cable can find one here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00474OYLG . It also ships pretty fast.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to ruvort For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes