FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[Guide] How to apply an update.zip to a stock Xoom (3G/WIFI) (with a USB-Host cable)

557 posts
Thanks Meter: 127
 
By Bauxite, Senior Member on 11th May 2011, 01:04 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi everyone, I just managed to get my completely stock Xoom updated via USB host-cable... some instructions:

REQUIRED:
USB HOST CABLE
FAT32 USB THUMB DRIVE

3G Instructions:

1) Place the update.zip (can have any filename you like) on the usb stick.

2) Connect the USB stick to the host cable and connect the host cable to the Xoom.

3) Power off

4) Power on, tap (ONLY TAP) volume down a few times until you get a list of options you can cycle through.

5) Select Android Recovery

6) Tap Volume up to boot into recovery

7) Hold power and tap volume up at the green android screen to get the BLUE recovery menu

8) Select apply update from USB drive

9) Select your update.zip from the menu... enjoy!

As for the 3.1 Update, if you get into a boot loop, just hold power and volume up to get out of it.

WIFI ONLY USERS:

There is no menu option for android recovery, you'll need to use:

adb reboot recovery

you can plug in the usb stick at the green android guy screen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-05-10_20-17-47_3.jpg
Views:	10518
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	592533  
Last edited by Bauxite; 11th May 2011 at 03:41 AM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Bauxite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
11th May 2011, 01:08 AM |#2  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
good stuff, wish i had a host cable
11th May 2011, 01:08 AM |#3  
dean_fx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /
Thanks Meter: 334
 
Donate to Me
More
Wifi version? Or only 3g?
The Following User Says Thank You to dean_fx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2011, 01:10 AM |#4  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
Im assuming its the same, but he tested it on a wifi i think
11th May 2011, 01:10 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS2006

Im assuming its the same, but he tested it on a wifi i think

I did it to my 3G, but it is 100% the same I'm assuming...
11th May 2011, 01:14 AM |#6  
dean_fx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /
Thanks Meter: 334
 
Donate to Me
More
I think I am going to roll back to stock and hope for a OTA.
11th May 2011, 01:14 AM |#7  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
nice, next step how to root this 3.1..
11th May 2011, 01:16 AM |#8  
Member
Jersey City
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
awesome
you sir deserve an award
11th May 2011, 01:19 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
How about if we don't have the Host cable?
11th May 2011, 01:20 AM |#10  
ruvort's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 406
 
More
Anyone searching for a cheap host cable can find one here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00474OYLG . It also ships pretty fast.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to ruvort For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2011, 01:20 AM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimitri407

How about if we don't have the Host cable?

Then you must be rooted/unlocked, there is no way around it

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes