Post Reply

[Guide] How to apply an update.zip to a stock Xoom (3G/WIFI) (with a USB-Host cable)

OP Bauxite

11th May 2011, 01:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Hi everyone, I just managed to get my completely stock Xoom updated via USB host-cable... some instructions:

REQUIRED:
USB HOST CABLE
FAT32 USB THUMB DRIVE

3G Instructions:

1) Place the update.zip (can have any filename you like) on the usb stick.

2) Connect the USB stick to the host cable and connect the host cable to the Xoom.

3) Power off

4) Power on, tap (ONLY TAP) volume down a few times until you get a list of options you can cycle through.

5) Select Android Recovery

6) Tap Volume up to boot into recovery

7) Hold power and tap volume up at the green android screen to get the BLUE recovery menu

8) Select apply update from USB drive

9) Select your update.zip from the menu... enjoy!

As for the 3.1 Update, if you get into a boot loop, just hold power and volume up to get out of it.

WIFI ONLY USERS:

There is no menu option for android recovery, you'll need to use:

adb reboot recovery

you can plug in the usb stick at the green android guy screen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-05-10_20-17-47_3.jpg
Views:	10034
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	592533  
Last edited by Bauxite; 11th May 2011 at 03:41 AM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Bauxite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2011, 01:08 AM   |  #2  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 90
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
good stuff, wish i had a host cable
11th May 2011, 01:08 AM   |  #3  
dean_fx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /
Thanks Meter: 330
 
788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Wifi version? Or only 3g?
The Following User Says Thank You to dean_fx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2011, 01:10 AM   |  #4  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 90
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Im assuming its the same, but he tested it on a wifi i think
11th May 2011, 01:10 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS2006

Im assuming its the same, but he tested it on a wifi i think

I did it to my 3G, but it is 100% the same I'm assuming...
11th May 2011, 01:14 AM   |  #6  
dean_fx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /
Thanks Meter: 330
 
788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
I think I am going to roll back to stock and hope for a OTA.
11th May 2011, 01:14 AM   |  #7  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 90
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
nice, next step how to root this 3.1..
11th May 2011, 01:16 AM   |  #8  
Member
Jersey City
Thanks Meter: 19
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
awesome
you sir deserve an award
11th May 2011, 01:19 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
How about if we don't have the Host cable?
11th May 2011, 01:20 AM   |  #10  
ruvort's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 405
 
1,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Anyone searching for a cheap host cable can find one here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00474OYLG . It also ships pretty fast.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to ruvort For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xoom Android Development by ThreadRank