FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

How to manual update a complete stock US wifi only Xoom to 3.1 without host cable?

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By rlf, Junior Member on 11th May 2011, 04:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Is it possible?
My xoom is NOT rooted and I do not intend to root it. I just want to manual update it because the update still haven't showed up on the device

Thx.
 
 
11th May 2011, 05:10 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Sorry, nope. I'm in the same boat with an unactivated 3g.
11th May 2011, 05:15 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi, I also have a non rooted wifi Xoom and I just downloaded the Honeycomb 3.1 update zip file but I don't know how to install it. Any idea?

Thanks
11th May 2011, 07:11 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfreddy

Hi, I also have a non rooted wifi Xoom and I just downloaded the Honeycomb 3.1 update zip file but I don't know how to install it. Any idea?

Thanks

several how-to guides available. You must have a USB micro-USB female OTG adapter and a thumb drive. If you don't, go get one then read these forums again.
11th May 2011, 09:49 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slack04

several how-to guides available. You must have a USB micro-USB female OTG adapter and a thumb drive. If you don't, go get one then read these forums again.

Yes, the problem is that i donīt have one right now and canīt get one shipped quickly. I live in Brazil and bought one on ebay last week. Itīs coming from Hong Kong lol

But i have read on the forum that the recovery option trough USB is avaible ONLY to 3G models and thatīs not my case. Is that true?

Thx.
11th May 2011, 11:44 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Tried OTG Cable - No Luck
I tried the procedure outlined in the forums. I've made my own OTG cable by connecting a gender USB Female-to-Female adapter. Tried formatting my San Disk Cruzer or even micro-SD to USB converter and following the procedure. I get E: Cannot locate /sdcard (No such file or directory) I have the update.zip file in the root of either the thumbdrive or microSD card plugged into the microSD to USB converter. I saw someone make their own cable and provide a photo and I pretty much did the same thing. Any ideas?
12th May 2011, 05:31 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Question OTG in any USB cable?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstefani

I tried the procedure outlined in the forums. I've made my own OTG cable by connecting a gender USB Female-to-Female adapter. Tried formatting my San Disk Cruzer or even micro-SD to USB converter and following the procedure. I get E: Cannot locate /sdcard (No such file or directory) I have the update.zip file in the root of either the thumbdrive or microSD card plugged into the microSD to USB converter. I saw someone make their own cable and provide a photo and I pretty much did the same thing. Any ideas?

Someone should correct me if I'm wrong, but an OTG cable is different from a converter. OTG is a specification that requires a very small chip in the cable. All you made with a F-F adapter is a USBmicro to USB converter. But the idea was good

Anyone know if the OTG is built into the USB cable that came with the xoom? Is it built into any cable? I can get a F-F adapter tomorrow and give this a try, but if someone says that it's never in the cables then I won't bother.
12th May 2011, 06:47 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 241
 
More
host cable doest need any chip.
I bought a standard USB adapter and connected pin 4 to pin 5 on the micro USB plug side, worked great.

12th May 2011, 07:50 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike

host cable doest need any chip.
I bought a standard USB adapter and connected pin 4 to pin 5 on the micro USB plug side, worked great.

NICE! How sis you connect the wires? Did it require soldering? There's lot's of people on here who would love to know how you did this!
12th May 2011, 02:12 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 241
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slack04

NICE! How sis you connect the wires? Did it require soldering? There's lot's of people on here who would love to know how you did this!

Yes, i did solder the wire. I removed the plastic cover with a knife and soldered the wire to the pins 4 and 5.
I must say I'm not good at soldering, but it worked, so i believe anyone can do it. Just check with a multimeter that there is no short with other pins before you use your creation.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes