Post Reply

BackTrack 5 ARM (with GUI via TightVNCServer)

OP xMemphisx

12th May 2011, 12:03 AM   |  #1  
xMemphisx's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Backtrack (http://www.backtrack-linux.org)
Backtrack-Linux.org, home of the highest rated and acclaimed Linux security distribution to date. BackTrack is a Linux-based penetration testing arsenal that aids security professionals in the ability to perform assessments in a purely native environment dedicated to hacking. Regardless if you’re making BackTrack you Install BackTrack, boot it from a Live DVD or thumbdrive, the penetration distribution has been customized down to every package, kernel configuration, script and patch solely for the purpose of the penetration tester.


Here is a guide to getting ARM Backtrack Running on the Xoom (tested on Wifi Only Version, running 3.1)

After much frustration I have gotten the GUI part of the backtrack 5 arm release working with the Motorola Xoom.

This has only been tested to work on the Xoom. But it should work just fine with any other device that supports linux, and should work especially well on anything with a dual-core processor (G2X, Atrix, etc.)

Pre-requisites:
- Rooted Motorola Xoom
- androidVNC from the Android Market
- Terminal Emulator from the Android Market (which you should already have)
- Backtrack 5 for ARM with Gnome downloaded and setup (check the README file, and follow the instructions.)
Link: Backtrack 5 http://www.backtrack-linux.org/downloads/. This tutorial will assume you put Backtrack 5 in the folder /sdcard/BT5 like the README says.


Launch the terminal emulator and enter the following commands:
Code:
cd /sdcard/BT5
su
sh bootbt
BackTrack will start up in shell. You will get a red line that says "root@localhost:". To verify if you type:
Code:
ls pentest
It should echo back the folders in pentest, stuff like 'backdoors','database',etc.

At this point enter the following commands:
Code:
export USER=root
vncpasswd
When you type in 'vncpasswd' this is to the the password for the tightvncserver. Since I only connect locally I just use 'qwerty' for my password, and then confirm the password. [Edit] Apparently you can skip this step, as the default password for vnc is simply, 'toortoor' (root backwards, twice).

When it asks if you want to create a view only password just type 'n' and hit enter. After you have your password setup for vnc start the server up.
Code:
tightvncserver -geometry 1280x800
When this happens you will get a message confirming that "New 'X' Desktop is localhost:1" and a bunch of other random stuff below it (it isn't important unless there are errors listed).

At this point, press the "HOME" button on the Xoom and then open the application "androidVNC".
-In the "Nickname" box, you can name it whatever you like.
-In the "password" entry, use your password (mine is 'qwerty').
-In the "Address" box you can type in localhost (or leave it blank).

****Change the port from 5900 to 5901.
[Edit] TightVNCServer uses 5901 by default, but if you are having connection errors it may have changed to something else. View the TightVNCServer logs (which I believe are under /root/.vnc/, do an 'ls -a' and a 'nano logfilename') to check to see what port was in use.

I also recommend setting the color-depth to 24-bit. After that press the "connect" button, and bam! You're rocking Backtrack 5 on your motorola xoom!!

You're welcome to repost this on other message boards of on your website, please just give me credit though. Thank you and enjoy!

Last edited by xMemphisx; 12th May 2011 at 03:47 PM.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to xMemphisx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2011, 01:32 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
what is backtrack?
uses?
12th May 2011, 01:43 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Reno, NV
Thanks Meter: 41
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
But can our wireless go into monitor mode... can it inject? New to backtrack... but know what.it can do

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA Premium App
12th May 2011, 02:09 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Whoa!!!

This is big...I'm going to do this immediately after I update to 3.1. Great job!!
12th May 2011, 02:45 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by renocivik

But can our wireless go into monitor mode... can it inject? New to backtrack... but know what.it can do

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA Premium App

It would depend on if the BT developers provided a driver that has monitor mode enabled. I have it installed but haven't investigated that yet. I do know that tcpdump is on the box, so at least you can monitor your own web traffic.

OP: You don't necessarily need to change the vnc password. It comes with a default password of "toortoor"
12th May 2011, 02:48 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
As an aside, I'm going to spend some time this week/weekend looking into getting this to run natively. I'm doubtful that it will work but you never know.

I do know they are using Tiamet 1.3.0 as the kernel they are running, so it's possible that this can be done with a good bit of work.
12th May 2011, 04:24 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 61
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
There is a slight error in your commands I believe. To change the VNC password it should be vncpasswd rather than vpnpasswd.
Port for me was 5902 btw. I was stumped until I looked at the tightvnc log.

Monitor mode does not appear to work and maybe some things have changed since Backtrack 3 but I couldn't locate aircrack-ng.


Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App
Last edited by B Dizzle; 12th May 2011 at 05:37 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to B Dizzle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2011, 05:52 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Thanks for this. Going to try it on my nook color tomorrow. If it works, ya mind if I x-post this in their dev forums?
12th May 2011, 10:09 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 318
 
680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
The command should be vncpasswd.

also BT image already contains startvnc as a command which will start the vncserver for you.


I am working on porting BT image to Xperia X10 (thread marked in Sig.)
12th May 2011, 01:19 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
all of these steps work on all devices or just xoom only??

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xoom Android Development by ThreadRank