5,595,268 Members 46,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fastboot oem unlock/ fastboot oem lock please read!

Tip us?
 
albundy2010
Old
#1  
albundy2010's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1851
Posts: 3,191
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Fastboot oem unlock/ fastboot oem lock please read!

I have seen quite of few people screw up their devices by not knowing what they are doing. So I am making this thread to simply tell people not familiar with fastboot what they should and should not do.

1. Fastboot oem unlock will unlock your bootloader and do a complete wipe of your device. As far as I know the only way for something to go wrong here is if you're device is low on battery and shuts off during the process. Either plug it in or have a "good" amount of juice left in your battery. To be 100 percent sure plug it in.


Before I get into oem lock IMHO you should only use this command for one thing only. Getting the device ready to send into motorola for the LGT upgrade or a another warranty repair or some sort. When done properly it is completely safe but there is no reason to do to go back to "stock".


2. Fastboot oem lock. Do not issue this command unless you are absolutely sure you have the correct software on your device. The correct software is what you get from the motodev site for your device. You need the official sofware images for your specific device AND REGION. If it is not released then DO NOT re-lock the device. If you have a OTA installed you will need to flash back to the motodev images first.


All this info is all ready on the forums in various threads already but I wanted to put in one place since I noticed quite a few users botch up the devices trying to update to 3.1 The last thing we need are a bunch of people bricking the devices and sending them in moto. I suspect if enough people do it they will end up changing their minds on the entire encrypted bootloader situation.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to albundy2010 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Blaisun
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: Feb 2011
I know you have to unlock to flash "non-stock" images, but do you have to unlock if you are only going to flash the "stock" motodev images?
 
ccogan
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 138
Join Date: Jun 2010
If I am currently just unlocked, not rooted do I need to lock in order to get the 3.1 update?
 
jase33
Old
#4  
jase33's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1725
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: - /
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccogan View Post
If I am currently just unlocked, not rooted do I need to lock in order to get the 3.1 update?
NO. the update only checks for stock files, not lock or unlock.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaisun View Post
I know you have to unlock to flash "non-stock" images, but do you have to unlock if you are only going to flash the "stock" motodev images?
before you can flash anything you will need to unlock the bootloader.
 
Twiztid777
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2009
how to lock the bootloader????
 
deejinfla
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by albundy2010 View Post
I have seen quite of few people screw up their devices by not knowing what they are doing. So I am making this thread to simply tell people not familiar with fastboot what they should and should not do.

1. Fastboot oem unlock will unlock your bootloader and do a complete wipe of your device. As far as I know the only way for something to go wrong here is if you're device is low on battery and shuts off during the process. Either plug it in or have a "good" amount of juice left in your battery. To be 100 percent sure plug it in.


Before I get into oem lock IMHO you should only use this command for one thing only. Getting the device ready to send into motorola for the LGT upgrade or a another warranty repair or some sort. When done properly it is completely safe but there is no reason to do to go back to "stock".


2. Fastboot oem lock. Do not issue this command unless you are absolutely sure you have the correct software on your device. The correct software is what you get from the motodev site for your device. You need the official sofware images for your specific device AND REGION. If it is not released then DO NOT re-lock the device. If you have a OTA installed you will need to flash back to the motodev images first.


All this info is all ready on the forums in various threads already but I wanted to put in one place since I noticed quite a few users botch up the devices trying to update to 3.1 The last thing we need are a bunch of people bricking the devices and sending them in moto. I suspect if enough people do it they will end up changing their minds on the entire encrypted bootloader situation.
Question for you, how do I go about entering this command? My knowledge is basic. I have unrooted, restocked a Nexus 7. Trying to do oem lock without being able to use the screen. Cannot enable USB debugging because the screen is nonoperational. Any advice?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more