Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Enable proximity sensor

OP aidanbree

13th May 2011, 03:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
I am looking to find out how to enable the proximity sensor. When I take my ear away from the handset (e.g. calling a call sensor), it isnt detecting it. I therefore need to press the power button to wake the screen.

Any ideas?

Cheers
13th May 2011, 04:27 PM   |  #2  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Thanks Meter: 1,944
 
5,016 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aidanbree

I am looking to find out how to enable the proximity sensor. When I take my ear away from the handset (e.g. calling a call sensor), it isnt detecting it. I therefore need to press the power button to wake the screen.

Any ideas?

Cheers

If you hold your thumb/finger over the top of the screen to the left of the HTC logo, do you find that the buttons light?
14th May 2011, 11:22 AM   |  #3  
Dr.Romca's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 209
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Just a thought here, but isn't this the feature of the light sensor? There are two of them in that particular area....
14th May 2011, 11:49 AM   |  #4  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Thanks Meter: 1,944
 
5,016 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Romca

Just a thought here, but isn't this the feature of the light sensor? There are two of them in that particular area....

Opps, my bad, you're right I'm confusing the two...

Although I don't believe that I've seen any settings that dictate whether the proximity sensor is on or off, on my device it just worked out of the box, switching screen off during call when phone is lifted to ear and back on automatically when pulled away

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes