Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,429 Members 53,675 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] Final fix for nonworking WIFI on unlocked ATT Atrix in some countries

Tip us?
 
crnkoj
Old
(Last edited by crnkoj; 23rd January 2012 at 11:13 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default [FIX] Final fix for nonworking WIFI on unlocked ATT Atrix in some countries

So guys, here is a quick tutorial how to fix your nonworking wifi in certain countries. The problem for it not working is that motorolas wifi driver is missing some country codes ... i guess they still live 20-30 years back, if anyone has the will to do it, we might post on motos forums to change the driver int he upcoming updates/releases. Here is the link to working wifi drivers: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=V8TGAY0C
if anyone can host it on a better location, feel free to do so.
I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT HAPPENS TO YOUR PHONE, YOU OR TO ANYTHING THATS IN RELATION WITH THE PHONE OR YOU.
this tutorial will be for use with adb shell (if anyone wants to make a script or a batch or even cwm flashable out of it, be my guest, i dont really have the time and my knowledge is a tad limited in doing those things )
Prerequisites:
1.the wifix.zip
2.adb on your computer with at least some adb/linux terminal knowledge
3.rooted ATT Atrix (i tested it on mine thats from ATT and several others did too, dont know if anyone tried with the bell or other atrix's but im sure it should work)
4.some common sense
5. i assume you have am external sdcard aswell (if not swap the sdcard-ext for sdcard only to use the internal card)
Code:
TURN OFF WIFI in the settings/wireless networks menu
1.connect phone to computer with us on usb mass storage mode and without adb debugging, create a folder called wififix on your external sdcard, unzip and copy the three .bin files to that folder
2.do the safely remove on windows/linux and than change connection to none, disconnect usb, enable adb debugging and reconnect your phone to the usb
3. run cmd/terminal
4. write as follows, after each line press enter:
adb shell
su (allow su on your phones display if its the first time you are using adb with su)
mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system
rm /system/etc/firmware/wifi/*.bin
cp /sdcard-ext/wififix/*.bin /system/etc/firmware/wifi/
chown root /system/etc/firmware/wifi/*.bin
chgrp root /system/etc/firmware/wifi/*.bin
chmod 755 /system/etc/firmware/wifi/*.bin
reboot
5. let your phone reboot, disconnect usb, unlock phone, enter pin, enable wifi and its working.
Feel free to comment in the thread and help eachother with problems and ideas
Updated link due to request and megaupload being down, fee free to host it if you want to: http://filesave.me/file/13333/wififix-zip.html
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to crnkoj For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ririal
Old
#2  
Ririal's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 398
Posts: 777
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Grayslake

 
DONATE TO ME
Where was this driver taken from?
 
crnkoj
Old
(Last edited by crnkoj; 13th May 2011 at 05:27 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Feb 2011
lg optimus 2x /system dump
the driver itself is a tad older version as the one moto has, but everything works for me fine now, several other users reported the same. i wanted to use the driver from the UK atrix (from orange) but its identical with the one from the ATT atrix (even the nvram.txt has region US in and not UK ...), so for the time being this is the only way for a few of us to have a fully functional phone.
 
crnkoj
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Feb 2011
one more thing, everyone who uses the fix and it works for him please post on motorolas forum that you have the problem:
https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/50598
i started the thread just add that its not working.
 
CyberPunk7t9
Old
#5  
CyberPunk7t9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 340
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
and I was thinking how can wi-fi be related to country/location?!

because I remember in the old thread that several users from the same country (Qatar) reported the same problem.

I just sent an e-mail about your thread to one of those users who was in contact with me via e-mail while trouble-shooting his problem.


Thanks and gold luck.
If you want to stay on stock SBF that is fine but there are also a lot more adventurous people who have discovered great things by venturing and risking their phones.. that is the spirit of XDA. -seven2099 (XDA Dev)
 
crnkoj
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Feb 2011
Ye, just post in the moto forums that he/you have the same problem.
 
genatsvale
Old
#7  
genatsvale's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tbilisi
Default Does not work :(

on the line: chmod -R 0755 /system/etc/firmware/wifi

I get: Bad Mode

then I use: chmod 755 /system/etc/firmware/wifi/*.bin

and after reboot the same problem... WiFi appears for few seconds and gets lost
The Following User Says Thank You to genatsvale For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CyberPunk7t9
Old
#8  
CyberPunk7t9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 340
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
crnkoj, since this is the case. do you think using the market enabler app to spoof the SIM carrier will make wifi work in non-supported countries?!
If you want to stay on stock SBF that is fine but there are also a lot more adventurous people who have discovered great things by venturing and risking their phones.. that is the spirit of XDA. -seven2099 (XDA Dev)
 
crnkoj
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Feb 2011
uhm, did you copy the files over properly? the thing is its working for me fine and several others have confirmed this to work. Honestly i dont know why it wouldnt work, did the method from akizakian work for you at least? with the modified and locked settings.db?
Quote:
Originally Posted by genatsvale View Post
on the line: chmod -R 0755 /system/etc/firmware/wifi

I get: Bad Mode

then I use: chmod 755 /system/etc/firmware/wifi/*.bin

and after reboot the same problem... WiFi appears for few seconds and gets lost
 
crnkoj
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Feb 2011
Tried that, it wont help. Market enabler spoofs the mcc and mnc, which comes from the sim card itself. The problem here becomes once you have cellular signal and turn on wifi, at that point wifistatetracker request country code from the cellular network, sets it to the one in which country you are and than the driver doesnt reckognise the code and blocks wifi. If you would take lets say a german sim card and put it in in your country wifi still wouldnt work, if you would take your sim card go to germany, turn on wifi and it would work. im trying to get something solved int eh motorola forums but until now only one guy is responding (not sure if hes motorola staff or whatsoever).
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberPunk7t9 View Post
crnkoj, since this is the case. do you think using the market enabler app to spoof the SIM carrier will make wifi work in non-supported countries?!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes