FORUMS

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] MTP on linux Ubuntu

13th May 2011, 05:38 PM |#1  
Apache14's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 551
 
Donate to Me
More
anyone been able to sync music/video's to there transformer from a linux machine ?

I have all of the mtp stuff set up for other devices, but i cannot get the transformer to show up ...

Any help would be appreciated
 
 
13th May 2011, 05:54 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I don't believe the TF is an MTP device... it simply mounts as storage. Drag/Drop your music.
13th May 2011, 11:01 PM |#3  
Roach2010's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crater

I don't believe the TF is an MTP device... it simply mounts as storage. Drag/Drop your music.

It is actually an MTP device. This allows us to access the storage area without making it unavailable to the device like a USB mount does.

Here's how to get your Transformer to show up in Ubuntu for example. This includes stuff you will have setup but this will help others too.

Code:
$ sudo apt-get install mtpfs
$ sudo mkdir /media/transformer
$ sudo chmod 775 /media/transformer
$ sudo mtpfs -o allow_other /media/transformer
You should now be able to see the device under /media/transformer

To remove the device type:
Code:
$ sudo umount mtpfs

You may also need add a rule for the device to see it in Ubuntu:
Code:
$ sudo vi /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
Add this line to the 51-android.rules file:
Code:
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0b05", ATTRS{idProduct}=="4e0f", MODE="0666", OWNER="<your user name>" #Asus Transformer
Save the file, then chmod to all read:
Code:
$ sudo chmod a+r /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
Last edited by Roach2010; 13th May 2011 at 11:45 PM. Reason: tidied up a little
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Roach2010 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2011, 11:40 PM |#4  
Crimton's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
i was reading a guide on xoom forums i believe that told you to edit fstab. is that not necessary? i did it without making a backup and i messed up my mounting points.
13th May 2011, 11:46 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roach2010

It is actually an MTP device. This allows us to access the storage area without making it unavailable to the device like a USB mount does.

My mistake, I was completely unaware that they had made this change in honeycomb.

mtpfs works great, I've got it working on my gentoo netbook for managing music and videos on my Creative Xen X-Fi.
13th May 2011, 11:54 PM |#6  
Roach2010's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimton

i was reading a guide on xoom forums i believe that told you to edit fstab. is that not necessary? i did it without making a backup and i messed up my mounting points.

fstab is for automounts at system startup, I just tried adding an entry for mtpfs but I got 'An error occurred while mounting /media/transformer' so I can't help with that.
14th May 2011, 12:31 AM |#7  
Crimton's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
I could care less if it auto mounts I just want it to mount at all. so you have tested what you posted above and it definitely works? if so, that is awesome.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

edit: can't get this to work for me how do you get it to mount? if i do sudo mount mtpfs i get:

Code:
 mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on mtpfs,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       (for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might
       need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program)
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so
if i do /media/transformer i get:
Code:
 bash: /media/transformer: Transport endpoint is not connected

i got it to work by starting a new mount point /media/tf101 and setting permissions on it.
Last edited by Crimton; 14th May 2011 at 07:16 AM.
15th May 2011, 06:17 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I can't get this to work consistently, some times I can see all of the folders in the internal storage some times I only see the playlist folder and sometimes I see no folders and the "Transport endpoint is not connected" error message.

It is also worth noting that everytime I set up a new mountpoint it works but getting the files system to mount again is very unreliable.

Any ideas what this might be?

Don't really fancy setting up a new mount point every I want to transfer files onto the eee pad.

Using Ubuntu 11.04
15th May 2011, 06:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Some small village
Thanks Meter: 124
 
More
I just use gmpt on Ubuntu (in the rare ocasions I need it - I mostly get files from Samba share).
23rd May 2011, 10:38 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Ok, so i got things mounted, but when i try to copy a 5gb file from my 2tb drive to my transformer, it seems to eat up space on my os disk when it tries to transfer. This definitely wont work for me as I only have a couple gigs of space free on my OS disk, which is meant for speed, not lots of storage (my 2tb drive is for that). Why is this happening? Some sort of temporary/caching action going on? Seems like a major design flaw with mtpfs if this is how it works. =(
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes