Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Lg Optimus V Emergency Recovery Mode Walkthrough

OP smokenbiskits

14th May 2011, 04:04 AM   |  #1  
smokenbiskits's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Panama City Beach
Thanks Meter: 58
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
So I'm planning on testing partition sizes and I want to start w/ stock. Good thing is I haven't found a good walkthrough for using the Emergency Recovery mode, so I will tell you my experience. If it works great, if not you can learn from me. I have a Nandroid backup, and a Titanium Backup. I feel prepared and confident.

I have KDZ (KDZ_FW_UPD_EN) and the stock cab (VM670ZV4_13.S4_13.P61007)

I've read shabby walk-through-esque deals...

but it's disenchanting how it starts with,

"NO ONE should try this. No one. Not ever. Donít do this. This will brick your phone."

but again I feel confident in my abilities now so let's see how it goes
Battery out; Power + vol down + back (very hard to push and plug in usb, but it's possible)

I'm not interested in shaking the phone.

After win 7's driver notification sound goes off a few times and disabling the LGE CDMA USB Modem in device manager, I watched to make sure it didn't re-enable after the drop/add driver sound. It's all good.

CDMA pulldown in KDZ wasn't pulling anything, tried 3GQTC and nothing popped up. When I selected "Read Phone Info" in 3GQTC info was pulled up then KDZ locked up, but I saw it said the battery didn't have enough charge, so I put the batter back in.

Checked device manager again....all good.
So just to test I shook phone vigorously in CDMA Emergency, CDMA CS_Emergency, 3GQCT CS_Emergency, and 3GQCT Emergency.

Just to see what happened I tried to use Lg's software updater....no bueno, couldn't communicate...no harm no foul...

And so then, while the battery was out, the usb cable came unhooked. I gasped, but after turning phone on all is good.

I will try again soon.
14th May 2011, 06:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
http://forum.androidcentral.com/opti...-untested.html

For now, the firmware put out by LG doesn't load in any of the updaters. It is assumed to be broken.
18th May 2011, 06:53 PM   |  #3  
smokenbiskits's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Panama City Beach
Thanks Meter: 58
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Started on something else, I'll come back later
I really want to figure it out, but I'll come back to it later.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes