T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

UK Galaxy S Help please?

OP Dave759

14th May 2011, 04:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Basically, in all of my wonderful wisdom, decided to try and root my Galaxy S thinking it would be a similar process as to that of the HTC Desire on the ground that I was sick of the way Orange have changed the phone.

Several methods here didn't work so I decided to play about with Odin. I ended up in a boot loop and have now managed to install a US T-moblie OS for a Vibrant handset. Does anyone have any idea how to rectify this horrific balls up? Or where I can get a UK OS from to put back on it? Also I have failed to root the phone.
14th May 2011, 04:31 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
now seems to be good time to install gb with cfroot kenrel
14th May 2011, 04:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I know I'm a complete novice and I'm sorry for that, but could you/show or link me to a tutorial of that at all please?
14th May 2011, 04:36 PM   |  #4  
Mr Woolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cornishman stuck in Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 764
 
2,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Dave Dave Dave Dave Dave. What have you done?

Don't worry mate, check out the ezbase thread in development section. Full instructions and downloads included. Should sort you right out.

Happy flashing.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA Premium App
14th May 2011, 04:55 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
So far so good, just lacking the room as I have no idea what I should download.

Any idea?
14th May 2011, 05:03 PM   |  #6  
Mr Woolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cornishman stuck in Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 764
 
2,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave759

So far so good, just lacking the room as I have no idea what I should download.

Any idea?

Probably best to go for rom kitchen jvh - stable, customisable and great help from the users in the thread. Once you've a bit more experience with sgs flashing, then insanity all the way.

Hope it all goes well mate.

Edit: dave, have you flashed the gingerbread base rom from the ezbase thread yet?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA Premium App
Last edited by Mr Woolf; 14th May 2011 at 05:06 PM.
14th May 2011, 05:17 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I couldn't tell you where I'm at. All I've done is follow the steps, downloaded EZOdin V1.70 and this;

Repartition is not mandatory, but it does not hurt to repartition the phone.

Start Phone in Download Mode (No Cable Attached)
Open EZOdin.
- Check Re-Partition
- Select EZbase.pit as PIT
- Select EZbase-PDA-XWJS3.tar.md5 as PDA
- Select EZbase-PHONE-XXJVE.tar.md5 as PHONE
- Select EZbase-CSC-XXJV1.tar.md5 as CSC

checked everything it says and pressed start. The message box is up to;

<ID:0/007> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/007> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!

and has been that way for a good 10 minutes.
14th May 2011, 05:26 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Coventry
Thanks Meter: 32
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
this is very strange,anyway

1- did u install kies as its important for the sake of the drivers
2- did u check/tick the 3 boxes in odin
3- if the 2 above are checked try changing the usb port or the computer
keep me informed m8
14th May 2011, 05:26 PM   |  #9  
Mr Woolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cornishman stuck in Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 764
 
2,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I think that's the froyo 2.2.1 ezbase base. On the first page, there should be a jvb (I think) ezbase download.

10 minutes is too long, pull battery, disconnect usb, close ezodin, reopen, re-add files, go to dl mode on phone, connect usb, wait for yellow light in ezodin, press start.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA Premium App
14th May 2011, 05:28 PM   |  #10  
Mr Woolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cornishman stuck in Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 764
 
2,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Dave, if you want to pm me your home number, i can call you to talk you through it.

Worst case scenario is a flash of eclair jm9 - will sort 99% of snags.


Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA Premium App
Last edited by Mr Woolf; 14th May 2011 at 05:32 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes