Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Windows 31 & 95 Via Adosbox

OP DevCake

14th May 2011, 10:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Howdy all,

I know I know, why would anyone put windows 3.1 or 95 on the TF? Games. I have been able to run dos games bia Adosbox but came across this while searching for an android version or Warcraft I or II .

http://androidblog.therevolve.com/?p=12

The methods there should be similar to all devices. As I test and get it working I'll update the OP with instructions. Anyone want to help?

~DC
The Following User Says Thank You to DevCake For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2011, 07:54 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Crowley, TX
Thanks Meter: 389
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
I'm down with helping... I'm currently installing win3.1 on my computer using dosbox. When its finished, I'll copy it over to the transformer and try to run it! *crosses fingers*
15th May 2011, 08:16 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Crowley, TX
Thanks Meter: 389
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Success! Windows 3.1 is booting on my TF using aDosBox. Very simple progress. I'll post some screenies in a bit.

Pretty useless. Seems to have a problem loading .grp files.

I'll try windows 95 next.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P20110515011826[1].jpg
Views:	306
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	596579   Click image for larger version

Name:	P20110515011918[1].jpg
Views:	303
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	596580  
Last edited by husker91; 15th May 2011 at 08:22 AM.
15th May 2011, 08:41 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Can you try running doom or doom 2 on DOSBox. I'd be interested in seeing doom up and running on the TF! I'm at work but I'll give it a shot tomorrow afternoon!

EDIT: Just saw in the article it didn't run well on the droid. Lets hope the transformer has the ooomph needed to run doom.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
15th May 2011, 09:02 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Crowley, TX
Thanks Meter: 389
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cd419

Can you try running doom or doom 2 on DOSBox. I'd be interested in seeing doom up and running on the TF! I'm at work but I'll give it a shot tomorrow afternoon!

EDIT: Just saw in the article it didn't run well on the droid. Lets hope the transformer has the ooomph needed to run doom.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App

Running Doom through aDosBox is terrible, runs extremely slow. There are much better ports in the market.

But for the sake of it, I ran it and took a couple screenies.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P20110515015827[1].jpg
Views:	211
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	596596   Click image for larger version

Name:	P20110515015904[1].jpg
Views:	240
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	596597   Click image for larger version

Name:	P20110515015952[1].jpg
Views:	198
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	596598  
23rd January 2013, 02:19 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Hai husker91,Where can i download win 3.1 ? Thks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes