View Poll Results: Post your eMMC Serial
SEM04G 2.17GiB Gfree 97 26.15%
SEM04G 2.17GiB Visionary 67 18.06%
SEM04G 2.17GiB (Failed eMMC) 17 4.58%
M4G2DE 2.10GiB Gfree 115 31.00%
M4G2DE 2.10GiB Visionary 24 6.47%
M4G2DE 2.10GiB (Failed eMMC) 51 13.75%
Voters: 371. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

Post your eMMC serial

19th May 2011, 10:24 PM   |  #61  
Account currently disabled
Flag Fort Lauderdale
Thanks Meter: 5
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag1kate8all

i have the good one and used visionary to root i flash new roms and kernels every day sometimes two or three times a day and have never had a problem

Thanks for feedbacks from folks like you. I hope someone make a thread with active poll just like the old screen SH vs SO issue. But as I can tell ATM SEM04G user's are less likely to run in to the issue. This is why we can use all the meth's to root while M4G2DE user's seem to only be able to root with gfree as VISIONary+ does not stick for them. I hope someone take the time to make a comprehensive poll which will help people like me to narrow it down. I am ATM trying to get my hands on another MT4G maybe I can get both types and test it and see and post back the results.
19th May 2011, 10:27 PM   |  #62  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by UsrBkp

You have to understand how emmc works as on MT4G its using SLC-EUDA

Are you sure the partitions are SLC and not MLC? The emmc can be SLC but it can be partitioned as MLC for /data and SLC for others.

The emmc says ~2GiB when in fact we have 1GiB usable right? If so, its MLC.
Last edited by NovoRei; 19th May 2011 at 10:31 PM.
19th May 2011, 10:36 PM   |  #63  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Okay thanks for the help everyone. I got SEM04G 2.17 GiB, im guessing thats a good serial? I rooted the gfree method btw
19th May 2011, 10:45 PM   |  #64  
Account currently disabled
Flag Fort Lauderdale
Thanks Meter: 5
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovoRei

Are you sure the partitions are SLC and not MLC? The emmc can be SLC but it can be partitioned as MLC for /data and SLC for others.

The emmc says ~2GiB when in fact we have 1GiB usable right? If so, its MLC.

When it was originally allocated it by the manufacture the chip was using SLC thus we have 2GB instead of 4GB. If we used MLC we would have total 4GB allocated but since we using EUDA it can NOT be reformatted fully unless you replace the whole motherboard. Even then you would need to declare the partition table using low level format which you don't have access to since its EUDA.

UPDATE:



Keep in mind when I said formatting the partition table I don't mean reformatting /data or /system. As those parameters are still predefined originally when it was allocated by the manufacture as they formatted it using SLC-EUDA. Sorry for the confusion if anyone didn't understand it.
Last edited by UsrBkp; 19th May 2011 at 11:26 PM.
20th May 2011, 01:34 AM   |  #65  
eqjunkie829's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Jordan, UT
Thanks Meter: 600
 
1,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
I just checked my phone and my wifes phone and found that I have the bad chip on my red mytouch4g and my wife has the good chip on her white mytouch4g, although her phone seems to have tons of issues and mine does not ie: unresponsive from waking while plugged into wall charger requiring a battery pull to reboot. I wonder if the color is relevant in this issue in regards to how many of what model were sold before they switched from or to the supposedly problematic chip.
20th May 2011, 03:06 AM   |  #66  
crawler9's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 289
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
I have:
Red myTouch 4G
LCD: Good model
EMMC: SEM04G 2.17 GiB
20th May 2011, 04:35 AM   |  #67  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
help, how do I find this on a mac?
20th May 2011, 05:19 AM   |  #68  
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 19
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
happy to report i got the good chip 2.17 (is that right...so many numbers lol) and i rooted using the gfree method. This thread is a good idead. needs to be more organized some way....mmm.
Last edited by tjlawson09; 20th May 2011 at 05:20 AM. Reason: edit and my mt4g is black if that's important
20th May 2011, 05:24 AM   |  #69  
Account currently disabled
Flag Fort Lauderdale
Thanks Meter: 5
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballcat03

help, how do I find this on a mac?

Do you have Android SDK installed on your Mac-OSX? If not go download the and install Android SDK. Then connect MT4G and try from terminal. The adb commands are same as in any other platform.
20th May 2011, 05:29 AM   |  #70  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by UsrBkp

Do you have Android SDK installed on your Mac-OSX? If not go download the and install Android SDK. Then connect MT4G and try from terminal. The adb commands are same as in any other platform.

But the instructions show "c drive" which there isn't on a mac, is it?

Yeah, I have everything downloaded...but I'm so new to Mac, I don't know everything quite yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes