Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,679 Members 42,709 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[READ] Found ad-hoc teather method?

Tip us?
 
devilpera64
Old
#1  
devilpera64's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 232
Posts: 839
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monfumo (NGI Service)
Lightbulb [READ] Found ad-hoc teather method?

hi all! I've found a topic where all people was talking about the wifi tethering with ad-hoc connection using Motorola Xoom..with the help of some XDA's guys, they were able to connect a phone to xoom using ad-hoc spot. So this method can be applied also to the Transformer? i think that - if the OS is the same for each android tablet - is possible to mod the same file to the same mode, or not?

this is the topic:
http://www.xoomforums.com/forum/moto...onnection.html
..::Impossible is nothing::..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to devilpera64 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Budadank
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 171
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilpera64 View Post
hi all! I've found a topic where all people was talking about the wifi tethering with ad-hoc connection using Motorola Xoom..with the help of some XDA's guys, they were able to connect a phone to xoom using ad-hoc spot. So this method can be applied also to the Transformer? i think that - if the OS is the same for each android tablet - is possible to mod the same file to the same mode, or not?

this is the topic:
http://www.xoomforums.com/forum/moto...onnection.html
The same method certainly worked on Acer Iconia A500 tabs. I did it to mine before swapping it out for a Transformer. AFAIK it was the same wpa_supplicant file from the Xoom forums here on XDA that I pushed to my Iconia and it worked well. Might give it a bash in a bit.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
 
devilpera64
Old
#3  
devilpera64's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 232
Posts: 839
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monfumo (NGI Service)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budadank View Post
The same method certainly worked on Acer Iconia A500 tabs. I did it to mine before swapping it out for a Transformer. AFAIK it was the same wpa_supplicant file from the Xoom forums here on XDA that I pushed to my Iconia and it worked well. Might give it a bash in a bit.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
So if this is possibile all ppl that are still using Wm6.5 will be able to tethter them 3G connection without any problems on the TF? do you remember if you encountered some trouble on iconia after this mod? I don't believe that Android doesn't still have the possibility to connect with other devices without the use of infrastucture mode. (big handicap )
..::Impossible is nothing::..
 
Budadank
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 171
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilpera64 View Post
So if this is possibile all ppl that are still using Wm6.5 will be able to tethter them 3G connection without any problems on the TF? do you remember if you encountered some trouble on iconia after this mod? I don't believe that Android doesn't still have the possibility to connect with other devices without the use of infrastucture mode. (big handicap )
No, it didn't cause any problems. Just make sure you follow the instructions. Set the permissions on wpa_supplicant properly otherwise you will break your wifi. Ofc, you will need to have root. Good luck.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
 
DroidxRage
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 265
Join Date: Feb 2010
We did this same trick to allow ad-hoc on the elocity a7... worked like a charm. Not rooted yet to try this though myself.
 
havoc479
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: May 2008
Well idk if this is helpful, but ive been tethering my Droid X to my TF via bluetooth and works flawlessly, must admit it makes my DX slow and crappy but while im tethering im not really gonna be using my phone. I like to think it saves battery too, correct me if im wrong on the wifi vs bluetooth battery consumption.
 
rafal2006
Old
(Last edited by rafal2006; 17th May 2011 at 12:17 AM.)
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Oct 2010
Wifi tether 3.0 experimental works on epic 4g with transformer

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
bisto321
Old
(Last edited by bisto321; 16th May 2011 at 10:51 PM.) Reason: update
#8  
bisto321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 257
Join Date: Aug 2009
Confirmed working with my Hero that only generates ad hoc

Will reboot to make sure it persists, but looks good.

Was going to look for a modded wpa_supplicant. Thanks for the post.

UPDATE: works after reboot. Posting via tether now
 
devilpera64
Old
#9  
devilpera64's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 232
Posts: 839
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monfumo (NGI Service)
Anyone with WM6.5? (ex HTC HD2) it finally seems going well for all devices.!
 
Budadank
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 171
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilpera64 View Post
Anyone with WM6.5? (ex HTC HD2) it finally seems going well for all devices.!
Yeah, I've tethered my Transformer to my HTC HD Mini while my Desire is off for repair for the 4th time.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App

The Following User Says Thank You to Budadank For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes