Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[READ] Found ad-hoc teather method?

OP devilpera64

16th May 2011, 02:32 PM   |  #1  
devilpera64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monfumo (NGI Service)
Thanks Meter: 243
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
hi all! I've found a topic where all people was talking about the wifi tethering with ad-hoc connection using Motorola Xoom..with the help of some XDA's guys, they were able to connect a phone to xoom using ad-hoc spot. So this method can be applied also to the Transformer? i think that - if the OS is the same for each android tablet - is possible to mod the same file to the same mode, or not?

this is the topic:
http://www.xoomforums.com/forum/moto...onnection.html
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to devilpera64 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2011, 03:17 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilpera64

hi all! I've found a topic where all people was talking about the wifi tethering with ad-hoc connection using Motorola Xoom..with the help of some XDA's guys, they were able to connect a phone to xoom using ad-hoc spot. So this method can be applied also to the Transformer? i think that - if the OS is the same for each android tablet - is possible to mod the same file to the same mode, or not?

this is the topic:
http://www.xoomforums.com/forum/moto...onnection.html

The same method certainly worked on Acer Iconia A500 tabs. I did it to mine before swapping it out for a Transformer. AFAIK it was the same wpa_supplicant file from the Xoom forums here on XDA that I pushed to my Iconia and it worked well. Might give it a bash in a bit.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
16th May 2011, 03:38 PM   |  #3  
devilpera64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monfumo (NGI Service)
Thanks Meter: 243
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budadank

The same method certainly worked on Acer Iconia A500 tabs. I did it to mine before swapping it out for a Transformer. AFAIK it was the same wpa_supplicant file from the Xoom forums here on XDA that I pushed to my Iconia and it worked well. Might give it a bash in a bit.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App

So if this is possibile all ppl that are still using Wm6.5 will be able to tethter them 3G connection without any problems on the TF? do you remember if you encountered some trouble on iconia after this mod? I don't believe that Android doesn't still have the possibility to connect with other devices without the use of infrastucture mode. (big handicap )
16th May 2011, 04:03 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilpera64

So if this is possibile all ppl that are still using Wm6.5 will be able to tethter them 3G connection without any problems on the TF? do you remember if you encountered some trouble on iconia after this mod? I don't believe that Android doesn't still have the possibility to connect with other devices without the use of infrastucture mode. (big handicap )

No, it didn't cause any problems. Just make sure you follow the instructions. Set the permissions on wpa_supplicant properly otherwise you will break your wifi. Ofc, you will need to have root. Good luck.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
16th May 2011, 07:40 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
We did this same trick to allow ad-hoc on the elocity a7... worked like a charm. Not rooted yet to try this though myself.
16th May 2011, 08:10 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Well idk if this is helpful, but ive been tethering my Droid X to my TF via bluetooth and works flawlessly, must admit it makes my DX slow and crappy but while im tethering im not really gonna be using my phone. I like to think it saves battery too, correct me if im wrong on the wifi vs bluetooth battery consumption.
16th May 2011, 10:19 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Wifi tether 3.0 experimental works on epic 4g with transformer

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Last edited by rafal2006; 17th May 2011 at 01:17 AM.
16th May 2011, 11:44 PM   |  #8  
bisto321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 101
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Confirmed working with my Hero that only generates ad hoc

Will reboot to make sure it persists, but looks good.

Was going to look for a modded wpa_supplicant. Thanks for the post.

UPDATE: works after reboot. Posting via tether now
Last edited by bisto321; 16th May 2011 at 11:51 PM. Reason: update
17th May 2011, 12:58 PM   |  #9  
devilpera64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monfumo (NGI Service)
Thanks Meter: 243
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Anyone with WM6.5? (ex HTC HD2) it finally seems going well for all devices.!
17th May 2011, 01:10 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilpera64

Anyone with WM6.5? (ex HTC HD2) it finally seems going well for all devices.!

Yeah, I've tethered my Transformer to my HTC HD Mini while my Desire is off for repair for the 4th time.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App

The Following User Says Thank You to Budadank For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes