FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Infuse APN Settings help

18th May 2011, 07:15 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Hi guys, just got the new Infuse. I can't get data/3G. Voice works. I went into the APN settings, and there are two apns. One is called ATT Phone and one ATT WAP. I cannot choose between the two, I cannot delete them, I cannot edit them, I cannot add a new APN. Looking at the ATT WAP apn is missing the username and password, and I guess that's why it doesn't work.

I've never encountered an android device where I couldn't modify the apns, so I don't know what to do. Any ideas? Thanks!
 
 
18th May 2011, 10:47 PM |#2  
shadow65781's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag willard
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
What provider are you using?
Look in the market for apn. I forget the name of it, but there are several apn managers in the market that will let you backup and edit your apn some Android phones require two to work it seems. And if memory serves one of them is mostly blank.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App
The Following User Says Thank You to shadow65781 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th May 2011, 12:34 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
I'm using ATT. I played around it some more, and finally it let me save a new APN and I'm able to select it, so now everything works fine...
19th May 2011, 01:15 AM |#4  
DarkH2O's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
That was the normal setting for the phone as you described.

It should not have been a need for you to edit anything. My phone had the same settings and worked fine.
30th May 2011, 11:17 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I have the same problem. Can you give me an instruction of how to fix it?
The Following User Says Thank You to wawalker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th May 2011, 11:30 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I just went to setting>Mobile Networks>Access Point Names

Then i added the new APN that my service provider her in the Dominican Republic gave me.

Have not reset the phone or tried anything yet.

Is this the correct process? WHere have you guys been trying to change it that it will not let you?
29th September 2011, 09:43 PM |#7  
rocksteady's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag No-Mans-land Michigan
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Here are the exact setting that work for me..
AT&T Settings.


Name: ATT WAP
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
Port: 80
Username: Not Set
Password: Not Set
Server: Not Set
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS Port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication type: None
APN type: internet + mms

I hope this helps like it helped me.
Rocky.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rocksteady For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th September 2011, 06:34 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Rocky is correct. I was having a similer issue and I have to add a new wntry by going to the Apn and adding a 3rd one like this. The name did not matter as I called mine test and used the same setting that Rocky posted (I got them from youtube shwing how to add it).

Now I have 3 APN and it works correctly.
16th October 2011, 11:57 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
THANK YOU!!! I am on infused 2.2.3 and everything was working peachy until a few days ago when I could no longer connect to data. I could get phone calls, but no data. I tried flashing a new modem, tried a new kernel, and was fixin to restore to stock because I didn't know what else to do until I say Rocky's post with the APN settings. This worked like a charm. Thanks again!!!
17th October 2011, 04:34 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Lightbulb
I was going to post this the other day but wanted to make sure it worked first. I stumbled onto this post in the SGS2 forums which gives the simplest solution that have given me the best result. The other suggested APN settings I've seen in various threads never worked for me. I wouldn't expect as monumental a jump in bandwidth as he shows, but it seems to be doing well otherwise.

[FIX] AT&T SGS2 Data Speed Issue's (Correct APN Settings)
Last edited by tgriffttu; 17th October 2011 at 04:39 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes