Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] GB 2.3.3. Horizontal lines on boot after patching bootloader. Recovery mode lost

OP tupo05

20th May 2011, 02:35 PM   |  #1  
tupo05's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Casablanca
Thanks Meter: 54
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Hi,

I flashed GB 2.3.3 (CF-ROOT 3.3) when it first came up and everything worked fine. Today I decided to check my bootloader. I installed the patch and applied it because the application said: SIGNED. When I rebooted the tab, here is what happened:
A lot of horizontal lines (green, blue, white....etc) -----> then samsung logo appeared -----> then horizontal lines again ---> then the tab main screen appeared.

The tab works fine and now the patch said "YOU ARE SAFE".

I noticed that I lost the recovery mode. ie. When I go to CWM manager ---> Recovery ---> Reboot into ClockWorkMod recovery, the tab gets stuck on samsung logo with these horizontal lines. (Same thing with Power on + Volume up )

What Should I do please ? Flash again 2.3.3 ?
Thanks in advanced.
The Following User Says Thank You to tupo05 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th May 2011, 05:34 PM   |  #2  
tupo05's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Casablanca
Thanks Meter: 54
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Problem resolved. Reflashed 2.3.3 again.
Sorry to bother.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA Premium App
20th May 2011, 06:33 PM   |  #3  
DarkPal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victoria
Thanks Meter: 340
 
1,090 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT DO THAT AGAIN. Flashing bootloader is practically the only way to BRICK the tab beyond repair except by sending to samsung. What you did btw was downgrade the bootloaders of your tab which is an extremely risky business.

THE GB bootloaders are signed yes but are not secured and they are needed for GB to boot making that patch pointless since kernels and mods can be installed whether bootloaders are signed or not.
20th May 2011, 10:21 PM   |  #4  
GANJDROID's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwich
Thanks Meter: 404
 
3,330 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Try not to flash bootloader. But some kernels will distort the boot screen. CM7 an to MoDaCo kernels for example for this, but it's nothing to worry about.

| Don't Revive Me Bro! |
21st May 2011, 01:49 AM   |  #5  
tupo05's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Casablanca
Thanks Meter: 54
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkPal

DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT DO THAT AGAIN. Flashing bootloader is practically the only way to BRICK the tab beyond repair except by sending to samsung. What you did btw was downgrade the bootloaders of your tab which is an extremely risky business.

THE GB bootloaders are signed yes but are not secured and they are needed for GB to boot making that patch pointless since kernels and mods can be installed whether bootloaders are signed or not.

Darkpal,
It's working fine now. I got confused with Overcome 2 installation guide where it says to check bootloader and apply the patch.
Am I safe now?

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA Premium App
21st May 2011, 01:50 AM   |  #6  
tupo05's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Casablanca
Thanks Meter: 54
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GANJDROID

Try not to flash bootloader. But some kernels will distort the boot screen. CM7 an to MoDaCo kernels for example for this, but it's nothing to worry about.

| Don't Revive Me Bro! |

Thanks man. I think I'm fine now

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA Premium App
29th May 2011, 03:27 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hi tupo05

i did the same thing.
How did you re-flash?
My Pc (ODIN) doesn`t find the Tab so how should i be able to reflash?

Thanks
Last edited by GoloTab; 29th May 2011 at 03:41 PM.
29th May 2011, 04:21 PM   |  #8  
tupo05's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Casablanca
Thanks Meter: 54
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoloTab

Hi tupo05

i did the same thing.
How did you re-flash?
My Pc (ODIN) doesn`t find the Tab so how should i be able to reflash?

Thanks

Hi,
In my case, i was able to go to download mode and therefore the tab was recognized in Odin. So I just re-flashed 2.3.3 again following Chainfire thread in the Dev section.

SGT Running Overcome 2.0.0 RC1
The Following User Says Thank You to tupo05 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th May 2011, 06:51 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hi

Thank you so much. My Tab is running again :D.
Which Overcome How-To do you use?

Thanks again
29th May 2011, 07:42 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoloTab

Hi tupo05

i did the same thing.
How did you re-flash?
My Pc (ODIN) doesn`t find the Tab so how should i be able to reflash?

Thanks

I noticed that sometimes I had to go in the PC device manager and delete the drivers for the tab and let Win 7 find and load them again, and as soon as that's done ODIN finds the tab and I was able to reflash. I "soft bricked" my tab about 6 times trying different ROM's and Kernals, and even an app or two. I found this practice of deleting and reloading the drivers the only way to save the tab.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes