Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO] Disabe those annoying volume sounds [root only]...

OP Dr.Romca

23rd May 2011, 03:40 PM   |  #1  
Dr.Romca's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 209
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
It has been pointed out here that some of you don't like the annoying volume-up and volume-down sounds...

As you might know, those files are just 7 mp3 files in /system/media/audio/ui (in STOCK based ROMs)

You can replace them by silence...

Download THESE and put them in your ui folder...

Go to recovery and execute these commands:

Code:
adb shell mount /system
adb push volume-1.mp3 system/media/audio/ui/volume-1.mp3
adb push volume-2.mp3 system/media/audio/ui/volume-2.mp3
...etc...
adb reboot (to reboot your phone)

EDIT: Removing those sounds works just as fine, so instead remove them via RootExplorer

(I've found out that some ROMs play strange sound instead of silence )

But it si possible that other ROMs has these sounds elsewhere, so try searching for .wav/.mp3/.ogg file in the ROM...

It is also possible these are packed in some .apk file as a resource...in that case you need to find what .apk file it is, decompile it, replace those sounds, recompile it and push back....

I hope this helps someone

And of course hit that THANKS button if you like it
Last edited by Dr.Romca; 28th May 2011 at 08:49 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Dr.Romca For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd May 2011, 10:40 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Frankfurt am Main
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
i assume you forgot to mention, that modifiying the system requires root? to me the thread-title kinda looks like it could work for everybody, since usually root-modifications have a [root] within the title...
24th May 2011, 08:06 AM   |  #3  
Dr.Romca's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 209
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Sorry about confusion, but modifying anything in the system does require root...
Nevertheless I'v updated the thread headline
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes