Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,194 Members 52,666 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

General Issues & Bugs

Tip us?
 
phi11ip
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: May 2011
Default General Issues & Bugs

I haven't seen any threads like this so decided it would probably be a good idea to get one going of all the minor gripes we have or bugs that we've encountered as I've already seen a few. I'm not sure if HTC do have a researcher scouring the net for threads like these to try and find out what the general masses think, but one can only hope...

+ LED notification is absolutely rubbish.
My phone is next to my Hero today as the numbers are being ported and I just received an email to my Gmail. With the phone lying vertically under my screen I could barely see the flash from the Sensation (to the extent that I'd already missed one mail) whereas the Hero was flashing away in all it's beauty to let me know.

+ Phone rebooted when taking a photo.
I've only taken a few pics on here, but after taking one of the dog last night with the flash on, the phone instantly turned off and completely rebooted. Maybe it's a one off, but it definitely wasn't good! Will have to keep an eye out for this happening again.

+ Trace seems a bit hit and miss.
I used Swype on my Hero so am assuming I just need to learn how to use the new one. I'll have to work on that one myself although it may be a case of training the phone not to pick out the most obscure word possible when all I want is to spell "hello".

I haven't really used it enough to spot any others, but I'm intrigued as to what other issues people seem to be finding.

...and on a side note I'm really, really missing the trackball that's on my Hero. Selecting text is so sensitive and I keep catching the wrong bit. I feel quite sad letting the little guy go. He's served me so well!! It does feel like a toy now when I go back to it. Lo-res and chunky!
 
sjgore
Old
#2  
sjgore's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 257
Posts: 816
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Good call, I was thinking of such a thread myself.

Quote:
+ LED notification is absolutely rubbish
Completely agree.

Quote:
+ Phone rebooted when taking a photo.
+ Trace seems a bit hit and miss.
Can't say I've had either of these. Have taken a lot of photos and about half a dozen 1080p videos, everything seems very stable.

Allow me to add a bug to the list:

+ No shutter button or menu options on camera.
If you have a lock pattern set up, dragging the camera icon into the ring on the lockscreen results in the camera app loading, but there is no user interface. You can see the camera's view, but there is no shutter button or options or anything else to interact with. However, the camera app is fine if accessed as normal from the home screen or app drawer.
 
Omicron90
Old
#3  
Omicron90's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 139
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Surrey
Is trace supposed to learn from your usage to better predict words in the future?

I agree on the trackball, I used to have a HTC Magic and selecting text is a lot harder now!
 
Omicron90
Old
#4  
Omicron90's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 139
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Surrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjgore View Post
+ No shutter button or menu options on camera.
If you have a lock pattern set up, dragging the camera icon into the ring on the lockscreen results in the camera app loading, but there is no user interface. You can see the camera's view, but there is no shutter button or options or anything else to interact with. However, the camera app is fine if accessed as normal from the home screen or app drawer.
I had noticed this; I guess it will be fixed in future updates.
 
everyday48
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 199
Join Date: May 2011
Calendar is not sync with Google calendar. Sync setting is on, mail, contact, Picasa, calendar are selected. Only calendar is not working. Is this a bug or Google's problem?

Anyone also this problem? How to fix it? Thanks.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App
 
Stan3k
Old
#6  
Stan3k's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjgore View Post
+ No shutter button or menu options on camera.
If you have a lock pattern set up, dragging the camera icon into the ring on the lockscreen results in the camera app loading, but there is no user interface. You can see the camera's view, but there is no shutter button or options or anything else to interact with. However, the camera app is fine if accessed as normal from the home screen or app drawer.
This is quite annoying. I really like the idea of quick access to the camera, if it actually worked.
Current devices-

HTC One (ROM: Stock), Nexus 7 (ROM: Stock)

Old devices-

Samsung Galaxy SIII (ROM: Stock Vodafone), HTC Sensation (ROM: Android Revolution HD), HTC HD2 (ROM: TyphooN CyanogenMod 7), HTC Touch Diamond
 
Lazzzara
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cardiff/Bristol
I don't have this issue with the camera. I did change some of the shortcuts though and may have re-added the camera one myself. Try that, see if it fixes it.
Edit: oh wait, I see what you mean. Only happens when you have a pattern lock...

Trace is useless. I used Shapewriter on my Nexus and it was amazing, but keyboards don't scale well to higher res. Plus it's been off the market for a year, so I'm not holding out much hope for a qHD version.
 
m1r4j91
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vodafone ROM - Has no rosie launcher (like stock rom), I dont actually use the pattern lock, but i have seen the error with the camera launcher, this is a problem too, possibly we may see a fix for this and others with a minor update.
 
phi11ip
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: May 2011
The LED is rubbish, actually borderline pointless. I've not seen it flash once today despite receiving about 5-6 emails. Maybe if the phone is actually facing you in a holder then it would show, but otherwise it may as well not exist.
 
PygoShlee
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Aug 2010
For some reason my signal seems pretty sketchy on the Sensation. I usually have full at home, but if i'm holding it sometimes I get nothing
HTC Sensation

My YouTube channel:
http://youtube.com/user/pygoreviews

Thread Tools
Display Modes