FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[NOTICE] Gingerbread Related Bricking - May 27th 2011 update

25th May 2011, 07:42 PM |#1  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 10,694
 
Donate to Me
More
There is no way to rule out GB as the cause of this failure right now. All we have is theories and the best fitting one is an emmc chip failure. Until we can find a user with a brick, who is still s-off, we can not learn more.

DO NOT FLASH OVER BRICKS, We need you to have s-off for trouble shooting.

UPDATE
We need info from brickers and non brickers please see

Please see here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1098363

--old post--

It has came to our attention, over the last few days that the recently leaked Gingerbread radios maybe causing a oddly large number of bricked phones.

This can affect any Thunderbolts running Gingerbread (except CM7 users), even after running fine for several days.

The cause at this point is not completely understood, and AndIRC as a whole recommends you revert back to Froyo until we understand it, or have a new leak.

When bricked, the phone is sent into an endless bootloop, no matter if you are booting into Android itself, or into the recovery. Trying to revert after the bootloop does not fix this issue.




Theories:

GB Radio causing corruption on the emmc:

Undisclosed chipset issue (Sorry no details will be coming unless verified)

GB miss reporting battery stats, aka just dead battery (Debunked by ryan2600 and I)
"Not sure if its the radio, i got a bootloop experience this morning after tethering my tablet on a freshly charged tbolt, few minutes later the phone died and stuck in a bootloop, there are times i can go to bootanimation sometimes it goes up to HTC screen and dies, I can go to HBOOT but before i can do anything the phone dies.
Good thing i have a 2 extra battery and an external charger from ebay, I swapped the battery and my phone is back to life, it seems like the GB roms are not charging the battery properly and reporting that the battery is around 80-90%" http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...read_build_or/
Last edited by jcase; 29th May 2011 at 01:51 AM.
The Following 38 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
25th May 2011, 07:45 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Does this affect current users or just new flashers of the gb stuff?

Sent from my ADR6400L using XDA App
25th May 2011, 07:46 PM |#3  
swimminsurfer256's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
Donate to Me
More
I was under the impression that a bricked phone was a phone that doesn't turn on at all... Wouldn't you be able to put the PG05IMG file on your SD card through your computer if this ever happens and then do a battery pull and boot into bootloader and revert then?

*edit* I've also had an endless bootloop on GB and flashing a new ROM after wiping data/cache/dalvik fixed it... No more reboots yet at least.. maybe it wasn't the same thing that you're talking about!
Last edited by swimminsurfer256; 25th May 2011 at 07:48 PM.
25th May 2011, 07:46 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Schnecksville, PA
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Awww fiddlesticks! Well at least I get my baby back. Landscape Rosie is the girl for me.
Last edited by Cubs2008; 25th May 2011 at 07:54 PM.
25th May 2011, 07:49 PM |#5  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 10,694
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimminsurfer256

I was under the impression that a bricked phone was a phone that doesn't turn on at all... Wouldn't you be able to put the PG05IMG file on your SD card through your computer if this ever happens and then do a battery pull and boot into bootloader and revert then?

*edit* I've also had an endless bootloop on GB and flashing a new ROM after wiping data/cache/dalvik fixed it... No more reboots yet at least.. maybe it wasn't the same thing that you're talking about!

The instructions are for reverting for those who are not bricked.

These bricked phones will turn on, but we can not find a way to prevent them from bootlooping nor repair them.

You cant wipe data/cache/dalvik when you are in this type of reboot loop, as recovery reboots as well.
25th May 2011, 07:50 PM |#6  
BurnOne77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
Wow this sucks, I don't really wanna go back to froyo
25th May 2011, 07:50 PM |#7  
ZuneNinja!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Prior Lake, MN
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks jcase and Team AndIRC! I nearly flashed the latest BAMF GB update. I'm glad that I stuck with 1.6.3
25th May 2011, 07:50 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Wow, mine just started 2 mins before this thread went up. I was sitting at my desk and saw it reboot and now it won't stop. It actually loads up Android entirely, gets to Lockscreen and then restarts.
25th May 2011, 07:51 PM |#9  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 10,694
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zskate311

Does this affect current users or just new flashers of the gb stuff?

Sent from my ADR6400L using XDA App

Anyone using the GB Radios (ie everyone on GB but CM7 users)
25th May 2011, 07:51 PM |#10  
swimminsurfer256's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase

The instructions are for reverting for those who are not bricked.

These bricked phones will turn on, but we can not find a way to prevent them from bootlooping nor repair them.

You cant wipe data/cache/dalvik when you are in this type of reboot loop, as recovery reboots as well.

Ah didn't see that. Does bootloader not work?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes