Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,901 Members 52,852 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] mount: Operation not permitted

Tip us?
 
android_murphy
Old
#1  
android_murphy's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 91
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Unhappy [Q] mount: Operation not permitted

Whenever i type:

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system"

i get the error: mount: Operation not permitted

adb shell "su mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/stl6 /system"

i get Permission Denied

can anyone tell me what to do??????
"Murphy's Law is the only universal law"
 
LarryMetal
Old
#2  
LarryMetal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 168
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Thessaloniki
Try to get "shell root" with Superoneclick. Then try again.
 
Humpie
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 704
Join Date: Dec 2010
Happens the same with me. I was adviced to flash the last fugumod (Which also speeds up your phone) but haven't had time to try.
 
LarryMetal
Old
#4  
LarryMetal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 168
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Thessaloniki
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humpie View Post
Happens the same with me. I was adviced to flash the last fugumod (Which also speeds up your phone) but haven't had time to try.
Because fugumod has allready rooted shell. You can use superoneclick to gain temporal shell root. After a restart will be lost.
 
marcellusbe
Old
(Last edited by marcellusbe; 29th May 2011 at 02:26 PM.)
#5  
marcellusbe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,637
Posts: 746
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Québec City
Quote:
Originally Posted by android_murphy View Post
Whenever i type:

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system"

i get the error: mount: Operation not permitted

adb shell "su mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/stl6 /system"

i get Permission Denied

can anyone tell me what to do??????
For the 1st, you are not root.

For the second, you should not put 2 commands in 1. Enter 1 command by 1.
Code:
adb shell
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl6 /system
or if you want to put 2 or more commands, add a ";" between each command :
Code:
adb shell "su; mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl6 /system"
but you will have to send CTRL+C as qtadb doesnt seem to like 2 commands in 1.
The Following User Says Thank You to marcellusbe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes