Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] mount: Operation not permitted

OP android_murphy

27th May 2011, 12:54 PM   |  #1  
android_murphy's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 16
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Whenever i type:

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system"

i get the error: mount: Operation not permitted

adb shell "su mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/stl6 /system"

i get Permission Denied

can anyone tell me what to do??????
27th May 2011, 02:40 PM   |  #2  
LarryMetal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thessaloniki
Thanks Meter: 18
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Try to get "shell root" with Superoneclick. Then try again.
27th May 2011, 10:58 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
735 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Happens the same with me. I was adviced to flash the last fugumod (Which also speeds up your phone) but haven't had time to try.
28th May 2011, 10:20 AM   |  #4  
LarryMetal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thessaloniki
Thanks Meter: 18
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humpie

Happens the same with me. I was adviced to flash the last fugumod (Which also speeds up your phone) but haven't had time to try.

Because fugumod has allready rooted shell. You can use superoneclick to gain temporal shell root. After a restart will be lost.
29th May 2011, 03:23 PM   |  #5  
marcellusbe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Québec City
Thanks Meter: 4,638
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by android_murphy

Whenever i type:

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system"

i get the error: mount: Operation not permitted

adb shell "su mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/stl6 /system"

i get Permission Denied

can anyone tell me what to do??????

For the 1st, you are not root.

For the second, you should not put 2 commands in 1. Enter 1 command by 1.
Code:
adb shell
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl6 /system
or if you want to put 2 or more commands, add a ";" between each command :
Code:
adb shell "su; mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl6 /system"
but you will have to send CTRL+C as qtadb doesnt seem to like 2 commands in 1.
Last edited by marcellusbe; 29th May 2011 at 03:26 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to marcellusbe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes