Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Inspire on straight talk

OP churro7

28th May 2011, 10:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
2,023 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Anyone know if simply placing an st sim will enable everything?

sent from planet snarf
28th May 2011, 03:42 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
ST is said to use AT&T/T-Mobile towers for their GSM (Verizon for CDMA), however ST sims are locked to work only for ST devices.
28th May 2011, 03:55 PM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by reck32

ST is said to use AT&T/T-Mobile towers for their GSM (Verizon for CDMA), however ST sims are locked to work only for ST devices.

A few people here have done it. It requires an unlocked phone maybe? And changing of apns

Sent from my Inspire 4G using XDA App
28th May 2011, 04:12 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Some people have done it with unlocked phones, but could never pick up the signal even though the sim was accepted.

As far as I know, just placing an ST sim in other phones wont work. You'll have to take extra steps like what akira mentioned
28th May 2011, 08:50 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Linden, NJ
Thanks Meter: 91
 
1,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Here's how I did it:

- Purchase a ST Nokia e71 or Nokia 6790 for $200 and a $45 prepaid month
- Unlock your Inspire
- Activate your ST phone
- Put your ST SIM in your Inspire, put the Nokia in your desk drawer and keep it safe
- Calling will now work on the Inspire, but data won't, so connect to wifi.
- Download APN Backup & Restore from the market.
- Unzip the attached file and put it on your SD card. Instructions for APN Backup & Restore is below
- Any time you change the APNs, reboot your phone TWICE. I don't know why it needs to rebooted twice, but it does. Not a huge deal, so just do it.

APN Backup & Restore instructions, taken from Howardforums' member Kalinrs:

Here is how to insert the file in your phone:

1. Download and install the APN Backup and restore app.

2. Go to it and backup whatever APNs you have (it doesn't matter how many or how they are wrong). You do this, so that the app can create a folder on your internal memory for backups. This way you can put my file there. Once you back up, the following folder will be created. The folder is: /sdcard/APNBackupRestore

3. Now you can go to APN B&R again and Delete APNs.

4. Unzip the file I attached and then use a file manager or your computer to copy the "apns-MMSand3Gwork.xml" file and paste it into that "APNBackupRestore" folder. Once there you can go back to the program and hit restore and you should be able to see the file you inserted. Select file and hit ok.

5. Reboot the phone twice after that.

6. Once the phone is back up, go to your settings -> wireless -> mobile networks -> APNs and make sure you see both APNs - HOME and MMS. HOME should be the one that is selected although it probably shouldn't matter.


After this, your data and MMS should work perfectly. I'm currently getting between 2-5mb/s down, and about 2mb/s up, which is the usual AT&T speeds in my area.

Edit - Don't **** this up for everyone else. Your service will be cut off around 2GB of data, so don't abuse this to the point where they shut it off for everyone else
Attached Files
File Type: zip apns-MMSand3Gwork.zip - [Click for QR Code] (383 Bytes, 668 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to entropism For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2011, 09:38 PM   |  #6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
But I thought straight talk was unlimited data?

Sent from my Inspire 4G using XDA App
28th May 2011, 09:53 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
2,023 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
It is

sent from planet snarf
28th May 2011, 10:06 PM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by churro7

It is

sent from planet snarf

Not according to the post above

Sent from my Inspire 4G using XDA App
28th May 2011, 10:23 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
sounds like a lot of money to fork out for just a st card
28th May 2011, 10:45 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Linden, NJ
Thanks Meter: 91
 
1,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
It's unlimited data the same way T-Mobile has unlimited data, or Boost, or Virgin, etc are... There's a "don't abuse the service" limit that's not a set limit. Be smart and don't abuse it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes