FORUMS

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more

Original Moto G Receives Lollipop, OTA Captured

The original Moto G was released almost two years ago. Motorola still continues to … more

Device Review: No.1 X1 Rugged Smartphone

We are almost at the end of Q2 for 2015, and we have seen most of the flagship phones for the … more

When a Friend or Family Member Asks for a Phone Recommendation, What Do You Tell Them?

The majority of us here at XDA would consider … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Sound Quality

29th May 2011, 05:10 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Can anyone with the phone comment on the sound quality of the Sensation? Also, is the volume as low through headphones as most previous HTC phones?
 
 
29th May 2011, 12:20 PM |#2  
hassan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newcastle Upon Tyne
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I use PowerAmp with pair of senhiser, sound loud and quality is awesome.
29th May 2011, 03:50 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
using a good set of headphones, the sound is really good!, like Hassan said, sound quality is very good and you can change the settings to how you like it.

Without headphones in its acceptable... not great, not terrible, but acceptable :P
30th May 2011, 04:30 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassan

I use PowerAmp with pair of senhiser, sound loud and quality is awesome.

Nice to know that I won't be wasting a pair of Westone 4s by playing my media on the Sensation.
30th May 2011, 08:47 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
But if you replace the original headphones of HTC, you then cant use it as a hands free speaker right? so would a person have to carry 2 sets of headphones? one for music and one if he wants to talk to someone using the hands free speaker?
30th May 2011, 11:21 AM |#6  
hassan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newcastle Upon Tyne
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Yes i think thats a downside of using own headset.
30th May 2011, 03:40 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Wien/Vienna
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazinya

But if you replace the original headphones of HTC, you then cant use it as a hands free speaker right? so would a person have to carry 2 sets of headphones? one for music and one if he wants to talk to someone using the hands free speaker?

While I am still waiting for my Sensation, if this handset works the same as previous HTC phones (and there is all indication that it does), any iPhone compatible headset should work just fine.

I've been using the Creative EP-630i (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Creative-EP-...6766090&sr=8-1) with my HTC Nexus One and Samsung Galaxy S2. The clicker as well as the microphone work as expected. The clicker accepts or ends (long press) calls and performs special functions (like play/pause) in applications that support headset buttons (like the music player, BeyondPod, doubleTwist, ...). The in-line microphone on these earbuds is perfect for calling.

As I wrote previously, any other iPhone-headsets should perform well with this phone (and, as a matter of fact, most other Android phones). The Galaxy S (not 2!) is a popular exception as Samsung used a proprietary connector they have now deprecated with the S2.
Last edited by PartyMango; 30th May 2011 at 03:44 PM.
30th May 2011, 04:49 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazinya

But if you replace the original headphones of HTC, you then cant use it as a hands free speaker right? so would a person have to carry 2 sets of headphones? one for music and one if he wants to talk to someone using the hands free speaker?

You can also buy adapters that add a mic and button control to regular headphones.

Example:

http://www.amazon.com/Headset-Headph...ref=pd_sim_e_2
Last edited by samnada; 30th May 2011 at 04:52 PM.
31st May 2011, 05:57 AM |#9  
Trekest's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 204
 
More
Here's a thought - I've never had any Android phone before so I'm not sure whether this is possible, but on my N96 I can use regular phones as hands free while using the device's mic. That's also how I plug it into my car - I have an auxiliary 3.5 input that I simply connect my phone to and it works seamlessly.

Would this work on the Sensation as well?
31st May 2011, 06:13 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekest

Here's a thought - I've never had any Android phone before so I'm not sure whether this is possible, but on my N96 I can use regular phones as hands free while using the device's mic. That's also how I plug it into my car - I have an auxiliary 3.5 input that I simply connect my phone to and it works seamlessly.

Would this work on the Sensation as well?

this has worked for me on my hd2... so i assume it will work on sensation too
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes