Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,079 Members 51,133 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sound Quality

Tip us?
 
greengoldmello
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 507
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston
Default Sound Quality

Can anyone with the phone comment on the sound quality of the Sensation? Also, is the volume as low through headphones as most previous HTC phones?
 
hassan
Old
#2  
hassan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 278
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
I use PowerAmp with pair of senhiser, sound loud and quality is awesome.
NEXUS S
GALAXY S II
HTC Sensation
Galaxy Nexus
HTC One X
GALAXY S III
 
Jas_932
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: May 2011
using a good set of headphones, the sound is really good!, like Hassan said, sound quality is very good and you can change the settings to how you like it.

Without headphones in its acceptable... not great, not terrible, but acceptable :P
 
Virtue94
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 146
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassan View Post
I use PowerAmp with pair of senhiser, sound loud and quality is awesome.
Nice to know that I won't be wasting a pair of Westone 4s by playing my media on the Sensation.
 
mazinya
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 339
Join Date: Jul 2010
But if you replace the original headphones of HTC, you then cant use it as a hands free speaker right? so would a person have to carry 2 sets of headphones? one for music and one if he wants to talk to someone using the hands free speaker?
 
hassan
Old
#6  
hassan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 278
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Yes i think thats a downside of using own headset.
NEXUS S
GALAXY S II
HTC Sensation
Galaxy Nexus
HTC One X
GALAXY S III
 
PartyMango
Old
(Last edited by PartyMango; 30th May 2011 at 03:44 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 111
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wien/Vienna
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazinya View Post
But if you replace the original headphones of HTC, you then cant use it as a hands free speaker right? so would a person have to carry 2 sets of headphones? one for music and one if he wants to talk to someone using the hands free speaker?
While I am still waiting for my Sensation, if this handset works the same as previous HTC phones (and there is all indication that it does), any iPhone compatible headset should work just fine.

I've been using the Creative EP-630i (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Creative-EP-...6766090&sr=8-1) with my HTC Nexus One and Samsung Galaxy S2. The clicker as well as the microphone work as expected. The clicker accepts or ends (long press) calls and performs special functions (like play/pause) in applications that support headset buttons (like the music player, BeyondPod, doubleTwist, ...). The in-line microphone on these earbuds is perfect for calling.

As I wrote previously, any other iPhone-headsets should perform well with this phone (and, as a matter of fact, most other Android phones). The Galaxy S (not 2!) is a popular exception as Samsung used a proprietary connector they have now deprecated with the S2.
 
samnada
Old
(Last edited by samnada; 30th May 2011 at 04:52 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazinya View Post
But if you replace the original headphones of HTC, you then cant use it as a hands free speaker right? so would a person have to carry 2 sets of headphones? one for music and one if he wants to talk to someone using the hands free speaker?
You can also buy adapters that add a mic and button control to regular headphones.

Example:

http://www.amazon.com/Headset-Headph...ref=pd_sim_e_2
 
Trekest
Old
#9  
Trekest's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 381
Join Date: Sep 2009
Here's a thought - I've never had any Android phone before so I'm not sure whether this is possible, but on my N96 I can use regular phones as hands free while using the device's mic. That's also how I plug it into my car - I have an auxiliary 3.5 input that I simply connect my phone to and it works seamlessly.

Would this work on the Sensation as well?
HTC One M7, Rom: Stock v5.11.401.10
Asus Transformer Prime TF201, Rom: CROMBi-kk 4.4.2 F2FS
Alumni: Nokia 51102 SK Crap SlidersSamsung SCH-A630Samsung SCH-R500Nokia N96 (my first dual core phone, it is!)HTC Sensation
My nickname is uniquely idiotic, and fits the person using it.
 
boostedb16b
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 190
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekest View Post
Here's a thought - I've never had any Android phone before so I'm not sure whether this is possible, but on my N96 I can use regular phones as hands free while using the device's mic. That's also how I plug it into my car - I have an auxiliary 3.5 input that I simply connect my phone to and it works seamlessly.

Would this work on the Sensation as well?
this has worked for me on my hd2... so i assume it will work on sensation too

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more