Post Reply

HTC Sensation 3G 850/1900!

OP milestonedude

29th May 2011, 05:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Vodafone has a HTC Sensation for sale and lists the 3G MHz has 850/1900/2100

I would like to purchase the HTC Sensation but want to know if this is a typo.

If I purchase this phone from vodafone do you think it will be possible to unlock it? I've been looking for a new phone with 3G that will work on ATT.

http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/shop/mobi.../htc-sensation
29th May 2011, 05:33 PM   |  #2  
west2cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Catterick
Thanks Meter: 66
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
its unlock already
29th May 2011, 06:22 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
1,485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by west2cool

its unlock already

Yep! They're SIM free.
29th May 2011, 07:37 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 38
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I think their website is wrong. If you watch some of the unboxing videos for the Vodafone Sensation, the box lists AWS and not 1900. I have only the videos to go by though. Wait for the T–mobile US version to come out though. It may have the right frequencies for AT&T, or so I've heard.
29th May 2011, 08:02 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paten

I think their website is wrong. If you watch some of the unboxing videos for the Vodafone Sensation, the box lists AWS and not 1900. I have only the videos to go by though. Wait for the T–mobile US version to come out though. It may have the right frequencies for AT&T, or so I've heard.

Where have you heard the TMO US Sensation will have 850 3G?
29th May 2011, 08:16 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by samnada

Where have you heard the TMO US Sensation will have 850 3G?

I have a t-mobile (US) version, however it came in a generic box. Is there a way to tell what frequencies it supports?
29th May 2011, 08:19 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 38
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Looking at the Gallery for an article at TmoNews, a picture of the box showed the frequencies available on the Sensation 4G.

http://www.tmonews.com/2011/05/t-mob...g-in-the-wild/

The box shows UMTS frequencies are 1700, 2100 and 1900. Isn't 1900 AT&T?

29th May 2011, 08:32 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
AT&T uses 850 and 1900 3G. Unless the TMO US Sensation has 850 it won't fly 3G on AT&t.
29th May 2011, 08:35 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo

I have a t-mobile (US) version, however it came in a generic box. Is there a way to tell what frequencies it supports?

There are some special codes you can dial to display service menus that include the frequencies in use. Don't know them for HTC. Some Googling might turn up the answer.
29th May 2011, 08:40 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 38
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
It was my understanding that you can use 850 or 1900 for 3G on AT&T but didn't necessarily have to have both. But this is just something I vaguely remember hearing somewhere and don't have any personal experience to back it up.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes