5,594,518 Members 32,502 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC Sensation 3G 850/1900!

Tip us?
 
milestonedude
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 59
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default HTC Sensation 3G 850/1900!

Vodafone has a HTC Sensation for sale and lists the 3G MHz has 850/1900/2100

I would like to purchase the HTC Sensation but want to know if this is a typo.

If I purchase this phone from vodafone do you think it will be possible to unlock it? I've been looking for a new phone with 3G that will work on ATT.

http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/shop/mobi.../htc-sensation
 
west2cool
Old
#2  
west2cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 208
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Catterick
its unlock already
 
bongd
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 1,479
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by west2cool View Post
its unlock already
Yep! They're SIM free.
 
Paten
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 625
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
I think their website is wrong. If you watch some of the unboxing videos for the Vodafone Sensation, the box lists AWS and not 1900. I have only the videos to go by though. Wait for the T–mobile US version to come out though. It may have the right frequencies for AT&T, or so I've heard.
 
samnada
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paten View Post
I think their website is wrong. If you watch some of the unboxing videos for the Vodafone Sensation, the box lists AWS and not 1900. I have only the videos to go by though. Wait for the T–mobile US version to come out though. It may have the right frequencies for AT&T, or so I've heard.
Where have you heard the TMO US Sensation will have 850 3G?
 
Walkamo
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 37
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by samnada View Post
Where have you heard the TMO US Sensation will have 850 3G?
I have a t-mobile (US) version, however it came in a generic box. Is there a way to tell what frequencies it supports?
 
Paten
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 625
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Looking at the Gallery for an article at TmoNews, a picture of the box showed the frequencies available on the Sensation 4G.

http://www.tmonews.com/2011/05/t-mob...g-in-the-wild/

The box shows UMTS frequencies are 1700, 2100 and 1900. Isn't 1900 AT&T?

 
samnada
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
AT&T uses 850 and 1900 3G. Unless the TMO US Sensation has 850 it won't fly 3G on AT&t.
 
samnada
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post
I have a t-mobile (US) version, however it came in a generic box. Is there a way to tell what frequencies it supports?
There are some special codes you can dial to display service menus that include the frequencies in use. Don't know them for HTC. Some Googling might turn up the answer.
 
Paten
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 625
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
It was my understanding that you can use 850 or 1900 for 3G on AT&T but didn't necessarily have to have both. But this is just something I vaguely remember hearing somewhere and don't have any personal experience to back it up.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more

HTC Releases Dual Lens SDK for the HTC One M8 (2014)

One of the highlights of the HTC One M8is its new dual lens camera system. Termed … more