Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,543 Members 37,493 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC Sensation 3G 850/1900!

Tip us?
 
milestonedude
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 59
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default HTC Sensation 3G 850/1900!

Vodafone has a HTC Sensation for sale and lists the 3G MHz has 850/1900/2100

I would like to purchase the HTC Sensation but want to know if this is a typo.

If I purchase this phone from vodafone do you think it will be possible to unlock it? I've been looking for a new phone with 3G that will work on ATT.

http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/shop/mobi.../htc-sensation
 
west2cool
Old
#2  
west2cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 214
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Catterick
its unlock already
 
bongd
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 1,485
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by west2cool View Post
its unlock already
Yep! They're SIM free.
 
Paten
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 628
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
I think their website is wrong. If you watch some of the unboxing videos for the Vodafone Sensation, the box lists AWS and not 1900. I have only the videos to go by though. Wait for the T–mobile US version to come out though. It may have the right frequencies for AT&T, or so I've heard.
 
samnada
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paten View Post
I think their website is wrong. If you watch some of the unboxing videos for the Vodafone Sensation, the box lists AWS and not 1900. I have only the videos to go by though. Wait for the T–mobile US version to come out though. It may have the right frequencies for AT&T, or so I've heard.
Where have you heard the TMO US Sensation will have 850 3G?
 
Walkamo
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 37
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by samnada View Post
Where have you heard the TMO US Sensation will have 850 3G?
I have a t-mobile (US) version, however it came in a generic box. Is there a way to tell what frequencies it supports?
 
Paten
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 628
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Looking at the Gallery for an article at TmoNews, a picture of the box showed the frequencies available on the Sensation 4G.

http://www.tmonews.com/2011/05/t-mob...g-in-the-wild/

The box shows UMTS frequencies are 1700, 2100 and 1900. Isn't 1900 AT&T?

 
samnada
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
AT&T uses 850 and 1900 3G. Unless the TMO US Sensation has 850 it won't fly 3G on AT&t.
 
samnada
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 798
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post
I have a t-mobile (US) version, however it came in a generic box. Is there a way to tell what frequencies it supports?
There are some special codes you can dial to display service menus that include the frequencies in use. Don't know them for HTC. Some Googling might turn up the answer.
 
Paten
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 628
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
It was my understanding that you can use 850 or 1900 for 3G on AT&T but didn't necessarily have to have both. But this is just something I vaguely remember hearing somewhere and don't have any personal experience to back it up.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more