Post Reply

[FIX] AT&T SGS2 Data Speed Issue's (Correct APN Settings)

OP locust43

4th June 2011, 12:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Hey all, hope this is the correct forum to post.

This is a Fix it guide I wrote for AT&T user's. These are the correct settings for your AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II

I hope this helps everyone who has been possibly experiencing slower speed's on AT&T Mobility.

1'st, make sure you are on the CORRECT data plan.

1. HSPA+ 4G 2GB plan OR for Unlimited Customer's

2. Smartphone Personal Data plan with 4G SOC code : HSDPPB

Then under your APN settings, I have found personally that WAP.CINGULAR is not the right APN. When your tethering you can tell what the correct gateway you should be connected to by visiting speedtest.net tethered to a PC and seeing when you run the test by your IP, it should show SERVICE PROVIDER and NOT AT&T GLOBAL NETWORK SERVICES.

Wap.Cingular connects you to the older gateway made for 7.2 phone's. I found in real world AT&T testing it caps/throttles you at around 7.5Mbit/s or slower.

FIX:


Under you Access Point Settings click on each APN you already have then in the menu, delete them.

Next create a new APN:

Menu Key, New APN.

Name : AT&T HSPA+

Important step: tap APN and enter exactly : phone

That's it! It's literally just "phone", not kidding. Leave everything else blank including Username and Password!

Scroll down to APN Type, Select Internet only

Hit the Menu Key, and hit SAVE
Your will return to APN settings, go to the APN you just created called AT&T HSPA+, tap the dot next to the APN and make sure it turns green!

Now for the MMS settings

Step 2 : MMS Settings

At the APN settings hit the menu key again and create a new APN, call it MMS

Under APN again just type : phone


go down to MMSC and fill the fields as follows

MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS Port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410

APN type: MMS only

Now again hit the menu key and save. This will be your default MMS setting and you will not need to select it.

Once your back at the APN menu with the fields you just created, make sure AT&T HSPA+ still has a green got by it.

Now hit the home key, then turn your phone off and back on.

You should have full internet access if you have the correct data plan. While you may not experience faster data speed's in every area. This APN will allow you to have more consistent and through speed's, especially in an AT&T "4G" HSPA+ enhanced backhaul area.


Here show's the difference in the two APN's. The first SpeedTest is the Wap.cingular, the second is the one we just created.

Old APN:



New APN: Better ping and better speed, Notice Service Provider vs. AT&T Gobal





If you guys have any questions feel free to ask me in the forum or PM me.

I really hope this help all of you Galaxy S 2 users on AT&T!!

UPDATE 07/17/2011 - Possible slow data speed explanation theory..

Ok. So I think I may have found a reason why the SGSII is slower than phone's like the Infuse and has so many radio problems.

You guys remember with the Apple iFail 3G through the iPhone 4 on AT&T and other GSM providers, with the severe signal issues and dropped calls??

It was later tied to the Infineon modem in the handset powering the devices..
http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-10015301-37.html

Well unfortunately, stupid Samsung put an Infineon baseband modem chipset in the Samsung Galaxy S II's.

To me I have the SAME issue's I was having with the iPhone 4.... Coincidence or not?? You decide. But the SGSII has the chip, it is HSPA+ capable but of course since Infineon makes it, it likely cant hit H+ speeds.

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2011/...n-art-samsung/


Quote:

The chip, the Infineon PMB5703, provides radio-frequency transmission and reception functions relating to the devices’ baseband and 3G features.

Last edited by locust43; 17th July 2011 at 01:16 PM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to locust43 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2011, 01:10 PM   |  #2  
marvinhemstock's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag nottingham
Thanks Meter: 35
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
i had to do this when i went from o2 to three lol but does need doing to make everything work ok
The Following User Says Thank You to marvinhemstock For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2011, 02:51 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Duluth, GA
Thanks Meter: 36
 
747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Just tried it; my download speed has roughly 50% (4 Mbps to 6), but upload hasn't changed much. I'm in Duluth, GA, just outside downtown, and I don't think we've gotten HSPA+ yet. The Speedtest app results say it's a UMTS connection. However, the H+ icon on the phone stays on.

I've gotten HSPA connections at my office a few miles down the road in Norcross; I'll try it from there on Monday. The HSPA in Norcross isn't too fast -- I've never gotten more than 2.1 Mbps out of it.

FWIW, I'm on the old $30/month smartphone personal plan.
4th June 2011, 03:25 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
WoW! Thanks - I just got a SGSII and spent 1+ hours on the phone with AT&T yesterday trying to get this info and I got nowhere with them - had me put in the same old wap.cingular. This is great
4th June 2011, 04:22 PM   |  #5  
frewys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami beach
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
More
Didn't experience any difference from the default and this here on the beach Miami, FL. Will try at a different place later.
4th June 2011, 05:28 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 80
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
hmm does this mean i need think about dumping the medianet plan
4th June 2011, 05:50 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 23
 
1,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph00ny

hmm does this mean i need think about dumping the medianet plan

For which application would you require10Mbps?
4th June 2011, 05:54 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 80
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by g2tl

For which application would you require10Mbps?

tethering and video streaming?
4th June 2011, 06:07 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 23
 
1,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph00ny

tethering and video streaming?

Ironically, those applications would almost require unlimited plan, not the 2GB (or 4GB tethering) plan.
Now you need to ask yourself, "Do I want to pay $25-$30 more per month for less allowance and slight bump in speed?"
4th June 2011, 06:14 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 80
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by g2tl

Ironically, those applications would almost require unlimited plan, not the 2GB (or 4GB tethering) plan.
Now you need to ask yourself, "Do I want to pay $25-$30 more per month for less allowance and slight bump in speed?"

pretty much

even with some of the enterprise plans available in premier site, it still can't match it

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
samsung galaxy s ii data
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes