Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,018 Members 44,272 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BOOTANIMATION] DukeOS Bootanimation (Duke Nukem Forever)

Tip us?
 
Flokey
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 116
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ebensee

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinsane View Post
On mine....In system/media...mine is showing "bootani.qmg??

Im running roto-jmi-v1

What do I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated



Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
uff, never heard of that? :-/ you should probably ask rotohammer how it works there.. I use overcome
Proud owner of:
Samsung Galaxy Nexus - JB 4.1.1
Samsung Galaxy S2 - ICS
Asus Transformer TF101 - ICS
Asus Transformer TF700t - ICS
Pandaboard ES - ICS 4.0.4

Retired: Samsung Galaxy Tab - Overcome 2.0.0 Beta 2 Gingerbread, Motorola Milestone - CM7 by kabladan, HTC Magic 32A - GingerYoshi RC6.1, Mini2440 Dev board with custom Android... Kind of. o.O

----------
Show your manners and watch your tone, it is a sign of respect.
 
rainbow ng
Old
#12  
rainbow ng's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 330
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinsane View Post
On mine....In system/media...mine is showing "bootani.qmg??

Im running roto-jmi-v1

What do I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated



Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
You are using stock rom, have u root your Tab? If not, you will never have the chance to use this wonderful boot animation.
If u want to root, use Chainfire CF root which support the bootimation inside the /data/local/ this saveu more space in /system.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA Premium App
 
Vinsane
Old
#13  
Vinsane's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 1,283
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas
I'm on a euro rom to enable calls, and Yes I'm rooted.

On a t-mobile tab

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
 
ultramag69
Old
#14  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 577
Posts: 4,458
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
I suppose you could try changing the boot animation.zip to bootani.qmg, but I'd either change the old bootani.qmg file name to oldbootani.qmg or backup elsewhere in case it doesn't work.

Use root explorer to copy it to the place you need (it allows you to change permissions from R/O to R/W).

Easy...
 
Vinsane
Old
#15  
Vinsane's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 1,283
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas
Hmmm... I'm afraid to try it and get into a boot loop. CWM isn't playing nice and for some reason doesn't want to backup my current rom.

I also dont have a working comp to odin fix it if it does screw things up.

Dang it. I really want this bootup too!

Any other ideas guys? I this is my phone and tab all in one
Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
 
02xda1
Old
#16  
02xda1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 115
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinsane View Post
Hmmm... I'm afraid to try it and get into a boot loop. CWM isn't playing nice and for some reason doesn't want to backup my current rom.

I also dont have a working comp to odin fix it if it does screw things up.

Dang it. I really want this bootup too!

Any other ideas guys? I this is my phone and tab all in one
Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
Play it safe and wait till you have a computer to fix just in case.
Because if you do it and it fails, you will be kicking yourself.
Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
Current Device:

HTC HD7 - yet to alter

Ramos w28- stock

Samsung Galaxy Note - I broke it flashing miui just got it back from samsung.

Samsung Galaxy Tab - the last overcome rom

Samsung Galaxy S - rooted eclair

Samsung Galaxy Ace - rooted ics

Samsung Galaxy S3 - Omega v35

 
nobleskill
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 496
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinsane View Post
On mine....In system/media...mine is showing "bootani.qmg??

Im running roto-jmi-v1

What do I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated



Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
Just drop the zip file into the media folder. Make sure the permissions match and I'm 90% sure the rom will just use it instead. At worst you be no better off if you follow but I'm sure it will work. Absolute system tools has a feature that does it all for you and has 100s of animations.

Sent from my GT-P1000


"Better to die on your feet than live on your knees"

*Old jungle saying
 
Vinsane
Old
#18  
Vinsane's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 1,283
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas
Just tried the absolute app. It's very cool but doesn't even see where the bootani is either.

Anyone know what the qmg file format is?

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
 
POWerSUrgeSW3
Old
#19  
POWerSUrgeSW3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 209
Posts: 501
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix

 
DONATE TO ME
The high res seems to work on and off on my CM7 nightlies Evo4G. But the low res works without a problem. Both seemed to load about the same speed without any hesitations (when the high res would load). Nice work though, thanks for the work! I even like the fact it loads in landscape instead of portrait!

-+- ShockNET Dojo Beta Tester-+-

+ Primary Device + Samsung Galaxy S III (D2SPR)
[Recovery] TWRP
[ROM] Wicked X
[Baseband] ND8
[Android] v4.4.2

+ Primary Device + Samsung Galaxy Gear (SMV700)
[ROM] TizenMOD 3.0
[Baseband] NF1
[Tizen] v3.0

+ Tablet Device + ASUS Transformer Eee Pad (TF101)
[Recovery] TWRP
[ROM] KatKiss
[Android] v4.4.4

+ Toy Device + HTC Evo4G (SuperSonic)
[Recovery] TWRP
[ROM] CyanogenMOD
[Android] v2.3

+ SuperUser of Choice + Chainfire's SuperSU


 
naijaguy
Old
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 149
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinsane View Post
On mine....In system/media...mine is showing "bootani.qmg??

Im running roto-jmi-v1

What do I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated



Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
Same thing here, using stock Gingerbread.
place bootanimation.zip in /data/local/
set permissions and you're good...:)

Tags
bootanimation, duke nukem
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more