Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more
Post Reply

HELP!!! Power Button Not Working!!!!

OP Futur Innovations

5th June 2011, 09:21 PM   |  #1  
Futur Innovations's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
560 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
The power button suddenly quit working today. I left it in my grandparents car while we were in church (boring) and after church, I tried to turn it on, but the power button didn't do anything! So when we got home, I plugged it in, then the screen came on as if nothing was wrong. I tried pressing the power button, but nothing happened. Is there any way to reboot it without the power button (and no I am not rooted, I'm keeping my tablet stock, unlike my DInc )? Do you think it's a hardware (button) problem or a software problem? The button clicks when you press it just as it always has, so I don't know what the problem is

Thanks in advance
5th June 2011, 09:24 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 356
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Sounds like black screen of death. Nothing serious, just hold power button for 10 seconds, then start it again and it should be fine.

Otherwise root and flash netformer 1.4r2, which may or may not fix the issue.
5th June 2011, 09:33 PM   |  #3  
Futur Innovations's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
560 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
I already tried that. Lol. The power button itself isn't responding to anything
29th October 2011, 11:29 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I had same problem yester day in school. I put my transformer on the desk and nothing else. When I wanted to turn it on nothing happens. In house i put the power cable to it and it worked, but power button isn't working...
29th October 2011, 09:51 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 162
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
You can probably find a widget or three that will allow you to reboot.
29th October 2011, 09:56 PM   |  #6  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,716
 
6,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
DO you have ADB setup? You can ADB reboot.
29th October 2011, 10:26 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
RMA time?
Mine had the same problem shortly after I purchased during the summer. I ended up having to send it in to be repaired under warrenty. According to the repair sheet they replaced a daughter board.
30th October 2011, 06:10 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 207
 
1,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur Innovations

HELP!!! Power Button Not Working!!!!

No one can help you except Asus. Sounds like you need an RMA.

I had a similar problem with my volume button exactly two weeks after getting my Transformer. I promptly returned it to Best Buy and exchanged it for a new one. Luckily I was still within my return/exchange period (by the skin of my teeth).

I now try to avoid using the hardware buttons as much as possible. I use the audio manager app to control the volume and plug the device in to turn it on (I try to use the power button as little as possible). I'm not rooted so I have to use the button to turn of my device.

Those buttons always felt a bit flimsy to me and I see it as the biggest build quality issue with the Transformer.
30th October 2011, 06:20 PM   |  #9  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
4,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RojasTKD

I'm not rooted so I have to use the button to turn of my device.

You don't need Root to have a screen button to turn off your TF.
All you need is the free app 'Screen Off and Lock'
It's an excellent App with a lot of amusing tools for switching the screen off.

I have it installed on my non-rooted Samsung Galaxy SII. The Market says it is compatible with the TF.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Beards For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2011, 06:29 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 207
 
1,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beards

You don't need Root to have a screen button to turn off your TF.
All you need is the free app 'Screen Off and Lock'
It's an excellent App with a lot of amusing tools for switching the screen off.

I have it installed on my non-rooted Samsung Galaxy SII. The Market says it is compatible with the TF.

I meant actually shutting the device off, is in powering off. But thanks, it will be a useful app anyway.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
asus eee pad transformer, tablet, tf101, transformer
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes