5,598,779 Members 36,246 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HELP!!! Power Button Not Working!!!!

Tip us?
 
Futur Innovations
Old
#1  
Futur Innovations's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 558
Join Date: Nov 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation HELP!!! Power Button Not Working!!!!

The power button suddenly quit working today. I left it in my grandparents car while we were in church (boring) and after church, I tried to turn it on, but the power button didn't do anything! So when we got home, I plugged it in, then the screen came on as if nothing was wrong. I tried pressing the power button, but nothing happened. Is there any way to reboot it without the power button (and no I am not rooted, I'm keeping my tablet stock, unlike my DInc )? Do you think it's a hardware (button) problem or a software problem? The button clicks when you press it just as it always has, so I don't know what the problem is

Thanks in advance

^---Link

<Wisdom of the Crowd/>
________________________________________
Devices:
CDMA Galaxy Nexus (current)
HTC Droid Incredible
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer

|Apps in Market|
Legacy Weather Market Link
Theme Tester Market Link
Legacy Wallpapers Market Link
 
seshmaru
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 344
Posts: 1,251
Join Date: Aug 2009
Sounds like black screen of death. Nothing serious, just hold power button for 10 seconds, then start it again and it should be fine.

Otherwise root and flash netformer 1.4r2, which may or may not fix the issue.
 
Futur Innovations
Old
#3  
Futur Innovations's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 558
Join Date: Nov 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I already tried that. Lol. The power button itself isn't responding to anything

^---Link

<Wisdom of the Crowd/>
________________________________________
Devices:
CDMA Galaxy Nexus (current)
HTC Droid Incredible
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer

|Apps in Market|
Legacy Weather Market Link
Theme Tester Market Link
Legacy Wallpapers Market Link
 
TheFirlen
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 73
Join Date: Apr 2011
I had same problem yester day in school. I put my transformer on the desk and nothing else. When I wanted to turn it on nothing happens. In house i put the power cable to it and it worked, but power button isn't working...
 
brando56894
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 1,404
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
You can probably find a widget or three that will allow you to reboot.
 
baseballfanz
Old
#6  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1708
Posts: 6,684
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sugar Land TX
DO you have ADB setup? You can ADB reboot.
**************
 
fonze73
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 24
Join Date: May 2011
Default RMA time?

Mine had the same problem shortly after I purchased during the summer. I ended up having to send it in to be repaired under warrenty. According to the repair sheet they replaced a daughter board.
 
RojasTKD
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 1,393
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: S. Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur Innovations View Post
HELP!!! Power Button Not Working!!!!
No one can help you except Asus. Sounds like you need an RMA.

I had a similar problem with my volume button exactly two weeks after getting my Transformer. I promptly returned it to Best Buy and exchanged it for a new one. Luckily I was still within my return/exchange period (by the skin of my teeth).

I now try to avoid using the hardware buttons as much as possible. I use the audio manager app to control the volume and plug the device in to turn it on (I try to use the power button as little as possible). I'm not rooted so I have to use the button to turn of my device.

Those buttons always felt a bit flimsy to me and I see it as the biggest build quality issue with the Transformer.
 
Beards
Old
#9  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 762
Posts: 4,086
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RojasTKD View Post
I'm not rooted so I have to use the button to turn of my device.
You don't need Root to have a screen button to turn off your TF.
All you need is the free app 'Screen Off and Lock'
It's an excellent App with a lot of amusing tools for switching the screen off.

I have it installed on my non-rooted Samsung Galaxy SII. The Market says it is compatible with the TF.
.........I don't always get your questions right.... but you'll certainly know I've tried.

P.S. Many thanks for the Thanks votes. Thanks received are converted into a charitable donation.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Beards For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RojasTKD
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 1,393
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: S. Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beards View Post
You don't need Root to have a screen button to turn off your TF.
All you need is the free app 'Screen Off and Lock'
It's an excellent App with a lot of amusing tools for switching the screen off.

I have it installed on my non-rooted Samsung Galaxy SII. The Market says it is compatible with the TF.
I meant actually shutting the device off, is in powering off. But thanks, it will be a useful app anyway.

Tags
asus eee pad transformer, tablet, tf101, transformer
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more