Post Reply

[MOD][BETA][DEPRECATED] - HC 3.0 DEODEXED ROMS ONLY | Power Options

OP Roach2010

6th June 2011, 07:21 AM   |  #1  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
I'm looking for Beta testers running a deodexed 3.0 ROM to try out my latest mod, this is NOT for 3.1 users!

What is it? It's an experiment to see if I could add an option to reboot into recovery in the power off screen that appears when you long press the power button.
I don't like having to do the Power & Vol -, Vol + thing so I created this instead.

It comprises of nothing more than a modified framework-res.apk from PRIME! 1.3r2

I have successfully tested on both PRIME! v1.3r2 and MoDaCo's Hr5 but have a ROM ready on your sdcard just in case you experience any issues.

I'm looking for feedback as to whether this works ok and whether it is a useful feature. Currently it is only available for 3.0 ROMS but may be ported to 3.1 at a later date.

Once it's ready I'll be doing a guide detailing how the mod was achieved.

MD5: b89c45854acca54caad197d508a71670

Alt Link - http://db.tt/E7cDGfi

Update - 3.1 versions now available from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1052380
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	1305
Size:	18.9 KB
ID:	617050  
Attached Files
File Type: zip beta_menu.zip - [Click for QR Code] (7.65 MB, 181 views)
Last edited by Roach2010; 3rd July 2011 at 05:11 PM. Reason: Added MD5
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Roach2010 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2011, 08:05 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 53
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
This needs to be ported to 3.1

I guess its because Prime 3.1 is only partially deodexed?

Wish I could help with your testing but I won't be going back to 3.0.x
6th June 2011, 03:29 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Between Roach, Netarchy, Clemsyn and Blade (and all the other developers), I think we're in very good hands here. I almost feel back at home on the EVO threads

I would love to get this on HC 3.1 as well, I'm running your Primeordial 3.1 rom and like you think that that single option in the shutdown menu Asus "offered" is a PITA. Crap, it doesn't even offer a reboot option...
6th June 2011, 11:04 PM   |  #4  
fisha21's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 4,036
 
2,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Nice work on this. Will try it out and leave feedback as soon as I can download it. The first time I tried, the file was corrupt. Now been trying to d/l for last hour, but the file just won't download..

Ok, has anyone else managed to download this file yet? When I finally do manage to get it to download, the resulting file is only 1.2MB, not 7.65MB, and when I open it in WinRAR, I get the "Unexpected end of archive" message. Needless to say, attempted flashing of this file in CWM gives a "(bad)" error message
Last edited by fisha21; 6th June 2011 at 11:22 PM.
6th June 2011, 11:37 PM   |  #5  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fisha21

Nice work on this. Will try it out and leave feedback as soon as I can download it. The first time I tried, the file was corrupt. Now been trying to d/l for last hour, but the file just won't download..

Ok, has anyone else managed to download this file yet? When I finally do manage to get it to download, the resulting file is only 1.2MB, not 7.65MB, and when I open it in WinRAR, I get the "Unexpected end of archive" message. Needless to say, attempted flashing of this file in CWM gives a "(bad)" error message

New link added to OP
Last edited by Roach2010; 6th June 2011 at 11:43 PM.
6th June 2011, 11:38 PM   |  #6  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Wink Be careful what you wish for...
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-motion

I would love to get this on HC 3.1 as well, I'm running your Primeordial 3.1 rom and like you think that that single option in the shutdown menu Asus "offered" is a PITA. Crap, it doesn't even offer a reboot option...

Watch this space...
7th June 2011, 01:24 AM   |  #7  
cky2000's Avatar
Senior Member
West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 102
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I just went back to 3.0.1 to try this and it works great. This is a very nice feature you are giving us. Thank you for your work
7th June 2011, 01:44 AM   |  #8  
Chandelure's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I'll help when I get my Transformer tomorrow.
7th June 2011, 04:44 AM   |  #9  
Ultraman666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas
Thanks Meter: 646
 
1,130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Man would love to try this but dont want to go back to 3.0 hope to see this running on 3.1 soon, keep up the awesome work

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
8th June 2011, 02:55 PM   |  #10  
seeingwhite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thumbs up
Finally! This works great on prime. You should incorporate it into all of your ROMs.

Thanks.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes