Post Reply

Question [Q] MX Video Player Codec for M2

OP evilmtv

22nd May 2012, 03:55 PM   |  #1  
evilmtv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore City
Thanks Meter: 24
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hi guys,

Want to know if our Milestone 2 requires any codec for MX Video Player (which codec type?)
Is it the ARMv7?
Last edited by evilmtv; 22nd May 2012 at 04:10 PM.
22nd May 2012, 08:54 PM   |  #2  
xenusr's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Izh
Thanks Meter: 6
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Yes CPU is ARMv7. It can see in GScript Lite>CPU information or type in same terminal app "cat /proc/cpuinfo"
23rd May 2012, 08:25 AM   |  #3  
evilmtv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore City
Thanks Meter: 24
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenusr

Yes CPU is ARMv7. It can see in GScript Lite>CPU information or type in same terminal app "cat /proc/cpuinfo"

Thanks! But is it the ARMv7 NEON or ARMv7?
It prompted me to install the ARMv7 NEON codec
23rd May 2012, 05:24 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Recife
Thanks Meter: 20
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmtv

Hi guys,

Want to know if our Milestone 2 requires any codec for MX Video Player (which codec type?)
Is it the ARMv7?

I don't use any codec in my MS2. All videos can be played perfectly without any external MX Player codec.
24th May 2012, 07:14 AM   |  #5  
DolphinWing's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Taipei
Thanks Meter: 5
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagomtl

I don't use any codec in my MS2. All videos can be played perfectly without any external MX Player codec.

I don't use any codec, either.
The videos currently I have can play well.

I'm using tezet's CM7 on my ms2.
24th May 2012, 12:05 PM   |  #6  
evilmtv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore City
Thanks Meter: 24
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagomtl

I don't use any codec in my MS2. All videos can be played perfectly without any external MX Player codec.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DolphinWing

I don't use any codec, either.
The videos currently I have can play well.

I'm using tezet's CM7 on my ms2.

Previously I didn't have to install any codec either.
However hardware decoding had problems with lots of the videos i download and had to use software decoding, which also had problems at times.
Anyway, on the 2nd latest update 1.6e it prompted me to install ARMv7 NEON codec before I could use it.
Today it was updated to 1.6f, shall try to fresh install it again and then see if it prompts me for the codec again.

Could it be a problem with the ROM I'm using?
24th May 2012, 05:49 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Recife
Thanks Meter: 20
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
NEON is a instruction set that CAN be present on ARM v7 but i don't know if MS2 processor supports... Have you tried to install both and see which one works better?
25th May 2012, 08:16 AM   |  #8  
evilmtv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore City
Thanks Meter: 24
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagomtl

NEON is a instruction set that CAN be present on ARM v7 but i don't know if MS2 processor supports... Have you tried to install both and see which one works better?

Oh I see, thanks for that info.
Um currently I've the codec pack for ARMv7 NEON installed but so far I've only viewed low-res videos and .mp4 formats only which probably wouldn't have a difference at all even without the codec packs.
I could test but any suggestions which format and res should I test with to see any difference (if any)?
28th May 2012, 02:24 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Recife
Thanks Meter: 46
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
When you open MX player, if the codecs are missing, it'll offer to download them, and will point to the right one.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes