Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,981 Members 39,390 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SHIP HBOOT or ENG HBOOT

Tip us?
 
monswag
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 86
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default [Q] SHIP HBOOT or ENG HBOOT

i have made my phone s-off(ship s-off) with XTC clip.do i need to make it to ENG S-OFF?And which is more better.
 
Blezz
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 367
Join Date: Oct 2008
u don't have to make eng s-off but it's recommended to use it cause it will allow u to use fastboot to flash new radio & recovery
The Following User Says Thank You to Blezz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
monswag
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 86
Join Date: Mar 2011
thx,which is more stable? i flashed clockworkmod recovery. is there some advantages of eng s-off
 
Blezz
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 367
Join Date: Oct 2008
i already wrote u the advantages 1 post above... read please
and well... read the names ok? clockwordmod RECOVERY, engineering s-off BOOTLOADER
that are 2 completly different things and u can have them both at the same time
 
monswag
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 86
Join Date: Mar 2011
thank u very much!i am sorry about that i am not very claer about these.this
is my first time use htc.i use lg optimus one before
 
Blezz
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 367
Join Date: Oct 2008
well every android has a bootloader, recovery, system, radio... so it isn't htc specific but the next time u'll know it
 
monswag
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 86
Join Date: Mar 2011
ok,and another question.if i want to flash RUU after i make the phone to eng s-off that i must make a goldcard?
 
Blezz
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 367
Join Date: Oct 2008
if the ruu is from any other provider than u got (eg. o2 with htc ruu) u need a goldcard, but flashing a ruu will kill your eng s-off cause it flashes a new bootloader also
so if u have eng s-off, stay with custom roms or remove boot.img from the ruu before flashing it
 
monswag
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 86
Join Date: Mar 2011
ok,i know.so the offical ruu do not need goldcard?
 
Blezz
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 367
Join Date: Oct 2008
it does, like i said, a ruu needs a goldcard if u change from one provider to another
if u want to debrand liek isaid before o2 -> htc u will need a goldcard
if u want to reflash your o2 rom or update your o2 rom wit hanother o2 rom, then u don't need a goldcard

The Following User Says Thank You to Blezz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more