Post Reply

[23 Nov 12] cLK

OP Rick_1995

7th September 2011, 08:08 PM   |  #491  
tytung's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15,069
 
3,574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda_Face

Alright, thanks for clarifying.

I must confess, this will be my first time testing a new kernel. I'm a bit new to this. I have everything set up, all I need is the "initrd.gz" file. I searched with rootexplorer on my phone and found "/mnt/sdcard/Animc/boot/initrd.gz". Is this the right one?

Do you use TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 v3.6.0 ?

If so, you can download its MAGLDR version and get initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
7th September 2011, 08:12 PM   |  #492  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung

Do you use TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 v3.6.0 ?

If so, you can download its MAGLDR version and get initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.

Yes I am. But does using the MAGLDR one work with cLK?

FYI, the "initrd.gz" file I found on my phone is in the same directory as another "zImage". I'm guessing this is the right one.

I have everything all ready to go, all I need to do is run the .bat file. As long as this is the right initrd file I'll run it, but if the MAGLDR one works with cLK I'll download that one instead.

Thanks for your patience.
Last edited by Panda_Face; 7th September 2011 at 08:15 PM.
7th September 2011, 08:24 PM   |  #493  
tytung's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15,069
 
3,574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda_Face

Yes I am. But does using the MAGLDR one work with cLK?

FYI, the "initrd.gz" file I found on my phone is in the same directory as another "zImage". I'm guessing this is the right one.

I have everything all ready to go, all I need to do is run the .bat file. As long as this is the right initrd file I'll run it, but if the MAGLDR one works with cLK I'll download that one instead.

Thanks for your patience.

boot.img (cLK) = zImage + initrd.gz (MAGLDR)
It's better to use the correct initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
If it doesn't work, you can flash TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-cLK.zip again to fix bootloop.
Last edited by tytung; 7th September 2011 at 08:28 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to tytung For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th September 2011, 08:30 PM   |  #494  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung

boot.img (cLK) = zImage + initrd.gz (MAGLDR)
It's better to use the correct initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
If it doesn't work, you can flash TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-cLK.zip again to fix bootloop.

Okay yeah, the MAGLDR one didn't work with cLK. I'll reinstall cLK and try from there.
7th September 2011, 08:53 PM   |  #495  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung

boot.img (cLK) = zImage + initrd.gz (MAGLDR)
It's better to use the correct initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
If it doesn't work, you can flash TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-cLK.zip again to fix bootloop.

I got everything restored back to normal, then I used the initrd.gz file from my sd card. This is what happened:



And now I'm getting boot loops. It seemed to fail on everything except the boot image, that was written "okay" to the device.

Did I run the .bat file correctly?
Last edited by Panda_Face; 7th September 2011 at 09:32 PM.
7th September 2011, 09:35 PM   |  #496  
Senior Member
Flag Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 12
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
@dan1j31 since i have installed 1.6.5 i ve had 2 data corruptions.

I have partitioned using cLK with no last 24mb data enabled and had 2 data corruptions.
I will continue testing if it will keep happening for any consistency, then i will revert to clk 1.4 and check again.

Anyone else had it?
7th September 2011, 09:59 PM   |  #497  
kaiserlein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by g30rg10u

@dan1j31 since i have installed 1.6.5 i ve had 2 data corruptions.

I have partitioned using cLK with no last 24mb data enabled and had 2 data corruptions.
I will continue testing if it will keep happening for any consistency, then i will revert to clk 1.4 and check again.

Anyone else had it?

No problems so far. I'm using 1.6.5 since it came out.

Sent from my HD2 using xda premium
8th September 2011, 12:31 AM   |  #498  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung

Ok. It's confirmed that the real WiFi MAC patch works for SD build on WM.
But it doesn't work on MAGLDR.

Can anyone using cLK test my r12 beta2 kernel?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=14

Installation:

  • Download tytung_r12beta2.zip.
  • Create a temp folder, and put zImage (from r12beta2), system folder (from r12beta2), initrd.gz (from your ROM), and cLK_kernel_installer.bat to it.
  • Then run cLK_kernel_installer.bat to install new kernel and the modules.
    Content of cLK_kernel_installer.bat is as follows.
    Code:
    adb remount
    adb shell rm /system/lib/modules/*
    adb push system /system/
    adb shell sync
    adb reboot bootloader
    
    fastboot -c "" -b 0x11800000 flash:raw boot zImage initrd.gz
    echo Press any key to reboot.
    echo Press any key to reboot.
    pause
    fastboot reboot

Caution: Remember to backup your ROM first. If it doesn't work, your phone will get bootloop.

Has anyone else tried this? I want to see if I did it correctly

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
8th September 2011, 05:57 AM   |  #499  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda_Face

Has anyone else tried this? I want to see if I did it correctly

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App

I will try it when i'm home. if it boots, what are you looking for?
8th September 2011, 06:07 AM   |  #500  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultimaex

I will try it when i'm home. if it boots, what are you looking for?

If it boots great. That means I did something wrong. I'm pretty sure I tested it accurately, but I wanted to get a second opinion.

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
1.5, bootloader, clk, hd2, little kernel
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in HD2 Android NAND Development by ThreadRank