5,606,722 Members 37,485 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[23 Nov 12] cLK

Tip us?
 
tytung
Old
#491  
tytung's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15043
Posts: 3,573
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda_Face View Post
Alright, thanks for clarifying.

I must confess, this will be my first time testing a new kernel. I'm a bit new to this. I have everything set up, all I need is the "initrd.gz" file. I searched with rootexplorer on my phone and found "/mnt/sdcard/Animc/boot/initrd.gz". Is this the right one?
Do you use TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 v3.6.0 ?

If so, you can download its MAGLDR version and get initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
 
Panda_Face
Old
(Last edited by Panda_Face; 7th September 2011 at 08:15 PM.)
#492  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 338
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung View Post
Do you use TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 v3.6.0 ?

If so, you can download its MAGLDR version and get initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
Yes I am. But does using the MAGLDR one work with cLK?

FYI, the "initrd.gz" file I found on my phone is in the same directory as another "zImage". I'm guessing this is the right one.

I have everything all ready to go, all I need to do is run the .bat file. As long as this is the right initrd file I'll run it, but if the MAGLDR one works with cLK I'll download that one instead.

Thanks for your patience.
 
tytung
Old
(Last edited by tytung; 7th September 2011 at 08:28 PM.)
#493  
tytung's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15043
Posts: 3,573
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda_Face View Post
Yes I am. But does using the MAGLDR one work with cLK?

FYI, the "initrd.gz" file I found on my phone is in the same directory as another "zImage". I'm guessing this is the right one.

I have everything all ready to go, all I need to do is run the .bat file. As long as this is the right initrd file I'll run it, but if the MAGLDR one works with cLK I'll download that one instead.

Thanks for your patience.
boot.img (cLK) = zImage + initrd.gz (MAGLDR)
It's better to use the correct initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
If it doesn't work, you can flash TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-cLK.zip again to fix bootloop.
The Following User Says Thank You to tytung For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Panda_Face
Old
#494  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 338
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung View Post
boot.img (cLK) = zImage + initrd.gz (MAGLDR)
It's better to use the correct initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
If it doesn't work, you can flash TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-cLK.zip again to fix bootloop.
Okay yeah, the MAGLDR one didn't work with cLK. I'll reinstall cLK and try from there.
 
Panda_Face
Old
(Last edited by Panda_Face; 7th September 2011 at 09:32 PM.)
#495  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 338
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung View Post
boot.img (cLK) = zImage + initrd.gz (MAGLDR)
It's better to use the correct initrd.gz from TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-MAGLDR.zip.
If it doesn't work, you can flash TyphooN_CM7_v3.6.0-cLK.zip again to fix bootloop.
I got everything restored back to normal, then I used the initrd.gz file from my sd card. This is what happened:



And now I'm getting boot loops. It seemed to fail on everything except the boot image, that was written "okay" to the device.

Did I run the .bat file correctly?
 
g30rg10u
Old
#496  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 198
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nicosia
@dan1j31 since i have installed 1.6.5 i ve had 2 data corruptions.

I have partitioned using cLK with no last 24mb data enabled and had 2 data corruptions.
I will continue testing if it will keep happening for any consistency, then i will revert to clk 1.4 and check again.

Anyone else had it?
Apple iPhone 2G -> HTC HD2 -> HTC One X
 
kaiserlein
Old
#497  
kaiserlein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 318
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by g30rg10u View Post
@dan1j31 since i have installed 1.6.5 i ve had 2 data corruptions.

I have partitioned using cLK with no last 24mb data enabled and had 2 data corruptions.
I will continue testing if it will keep happening for any consistency, then i will revert to clk 1.4 and check again.

Anyone else had it?
No problems so far. I'm using 1.6.5 since it came out.

Sent from my HD2 using xda premium
Device 1: European HTC HD2 | Nexus HD2 JB NativeSD | CLK latest by Kokotas | Radio 2.15.50.14
Device 2: Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1N 3g | ROM CM 10 nightly
 
Panda_Face
Old
#498  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 338
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytung View Post
Ok. It's confirmed that the real WiFi MAC patch works for SD build on WM.
But it doesn't work on MAGLDR.

Can anyone using cLK test my r12 beta2 kernel?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=14

Installation:
  • Download tytung_r12beta2.zip.
  • Create a temp folder, and put zImage (from r12beta2), system folder (from r12beta2), initrd.gz (from your ROM), and cLK_kernel_installer.bat to it.
  • Then run cLK_kernel_installer.bat to install new kernel and the modules.
    Content of cLK_kernel_installer.bat is as follows.
    Code:
    adb remount
    adb shell rm /system/lib/modules/*
    adb push system /system/
    adb shell sync
    adb reboot bootloader
    
    fastboot -c "" -b 0x11800000 flash:raw boot zImage initrd.gz
    echo Press any key to reboot.
    echo Press any key to reboot.
    pause
    fastboot reboot

Caution: Remember to backup your ROM first. If it doesn't work, your phone will get bootloop.
Has anyone else tried this? I want to see if I did it correctly

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
 
Ultimaex
Old
#499  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 325
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda_Face View Post
Has anyone else tried this? I want to see if I did it correctly

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
I will try it when i'm home. if it boots, what are you looking for?
 
Panda_Face
Old
#500  
Panda_Face's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 338
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultimaex View Post
I will try it when i'm home. if it boots, what are you looking for?
If it boots great. That means I did something wrong. I'm pretty sure I tested it accurately, but I wanted to get a second opinion.

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App

Tags
1.5, bootloader, clk, hd2, little kernel
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes