Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Will the Evo 3d has the same 30fps cap issue?

OP eduardmc

9th June 2011, 02:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
556 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
I was very disappointed with my htc evo 4g. This issue was never fixed even if thought it was. after the (suppostly fix) Most kernel and htc firmware upgrade were able to reach around 50-53fps but never did it reached 60fps like my nexus. With a few tweaks It was able to reach closer to 60fps but you would get screen tearing. so please can anyone confirm this. i don't want to run games or sense cap at 30fps again.
9th June 2011, 02:41 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,319
 
4,518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by eduardmc

I was very disappointed with my htc evo 4g. This issue was never fixed even if thought it was. after the (suppostly fix) Most kernel and htc firmware upgrade were able to reach around 50-53fps but never did it reached 60fps like my nexus. With a few tweaks It was able to reach closer to 60fps but you would get screen tearing. so please can anyone confirm this. i don't want to run games or sense cap at 30fps again.

There will obviously be no 30fps cap on the EVO 3d.
9th June 2011, 02:59 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 318
 
2,010 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
While I agree with you, it isn't so obvious....i felt it should have been obvious that the 4g wouldnt have had the cap, the nexus didn't...hell, my ****ty samsung moment didn't...

That said, I would be thoroughly shocked and horrified if it does have an fps cap...at which point I will return it, wait for the sgs2 and boycott htc for good...

...fool me once, etc etc etc

Sent from my PC36100
9th June 2011, 03:10 PM   |  #4  
phatmanxxl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,103
 
4,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
As much as HTC bends over for the community I doubt this will be an issue. This is HTC not Motorola.
9th June 2011, 03:42 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Ruston
Thanks Meter: 60
 
640 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Has to b able to push atleast 60 to even attempt 3d right? Maybe different tech

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
9th June 2011, 04:23 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktrotter11

Has to b able to push atleast 60 to even attempt 3d right? Maybe different tech

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

Different tech, youtube parallax barrier to see how it works, im too high to explain right now, I'd end up writing a novel lol.
9th June 2011, 04:59 PM   |  #7  
unCoRrUpTeD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 236
 
1,703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktrotter11

Has to b able to push atleast 60 to even attempt 3d right? Maybe different tech

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

We were discussing doing 3d in portrait, but the problem lies in how it works.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=14558982&postcount=134
9th June 2011, 05:07 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Judging by this, I would say there's no 30 fps cap.



Source: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4416/h...d-htc-evo-3d/2
9th June 2011, 05:33 PM   |  #9  
ogrenator's Avatar
Member
Flag Westerville, OH
Thanks Meter: 2
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ydoucare

Judging by this, I would say there's no 30 fps cap.

Yeah from all the recent benchmarks of the sensation it looks like it might be 60...like even the anandtech ones...in quadrant they max out at 61 and it seems like it was clearly trying to do more but was limited
9th June 2011, 05:41 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Sounds like a vsynch issue...

Also what's the point of rendering more frames then the refresh rate of the S-LCD anyway?

Except to generate heat, reduced battery life, increased tearing, and bragging rights for days...
Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes