Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[webtop] webtop2sd discussion (currently version 2.0.1)

OP Sogarth

11th June 2011, 11:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 362
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Note: Please keep this thread restricted to Atrix-specific and general issues. Threads for other devices are referenced at the top of the main webtop2sd thread.

Discuss webtop2sd here (the other thread will be kept clean for announcements, FAQs, etc.).

Before you report an issue:

Make sure it's not on the Known Issues list first!.

Basic debugging, since these are going to be questions I ask anyways:
  • If you hit problems with the Android webtop2sd application, you'll need to tell me the error, and give me the last few lines of adb logcat. Run this adb command, which will filter out most of the unimportant lines:
    • adb logcat ActivityManager:i AndroidRuntime:i webtop2sd:i *:s
  • Are you actually booting from your SD card? You can find this out by checking the Diagnostics tab in webtop2sd, under "Currently mounted webtops". If mmcblk1p12 isn't listed, you're not booted from your SD card. If this is the case, report what ROM you're running from.
  • Is the webtop configurator application showing, but not running successfully? If so, plug your device into your dock and run a terminal (either locally or adbWireless + adb shell) and run the following:
    • su
    • /usr/bin/sudo -H -u adas bash
    • export DISPLAY=:0
    • python /usr/local/bin/webtop-configurator.pyc
    I'll need whatever output shows up.
Last edited by Sogarth; 10th October 2011 at 05:02 AM. Reason: Changes for 2.0.1.
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to Sogarth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2011, 11:39 AM   |  #2  
racca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
great! thanks for making it so much easier.

haven't actually tested it b/c i sort of figured out how to do that a few days back, but still need to manually install it.
maybe i'll test your app next time i decide to reinstall my ubuntu.

btw, which script are you using to mount /osh? for me only /data/logging.sh works (it's safer anyway).
Last edited by racca; 11th June 2011 at 11:46 AM.
11th June 2011, 11:44 AM   |  #3  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 362
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
I suspect that what I'm doing isn't rocket science by any means. But, what I do seem to be pretty good at is packaging semi-complex things up for people into a manageable form with a fairly solid level of reliability. You couldn't imagine the things I'm happy that I managed to accomplish with this app, because they're so... quirky.

Anyways, I've been using /system/bin/mountosh since the beginning. I need to tweak the copy I'm using right now, since my goals have expanded beyond what I initially wrote it for. On the other hand, it'll mean that I can separate out my "personal" Ubuntu versus my "debugging" one, and that should be quite helpful.
11th June 2011, 03:29 PM   |  #4  
OSNPA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
These advances with linux customization in webtop have turned me on to Ubuntu in general. I just dumped windows xp on my desktop server and now run ubuntu super OS and studio. This takes a phone to a new level. Thanks OP!
11th June 2011, 04:46 PM   |  #5  
n1ckr0th's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 89
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
i would love to try this out but i'm on a mac.. can you partition through disk utility?
11th June 2011, 06:00 PM   |  #6  
krkeegan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 67
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I would complain that you beat me to it, my initial post here, except it looks like what you created is way more advanced and polished than anything I could do.

I will check it out right now. Oops, i see it is only a shell at the moment. Well I am very eager to try it.

A few questions then:
1. I assume this is similar to your last mod, in that you have just moved the Motorola environment onto the SD card, no chroot or other tricks?
2. Is the dependency problem better? Are we able to replace the motorola packages?
3. Are we still stuck with jaunty or is there a possibility to upgrade to a supported version of ubuntu?
Last edited by krkeegan; 11th June 2011 at 06:07 PM.
11th June 2011, 06:51 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I know this might seem like a useless question (installing regardless), but your previous work was based off the 1.5.7 firmware, would this app be supported/functional on the current 1.8.3 firmware?

Oh, and...
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XD

-djazin
11th June 2011, 07:47 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 47
 
529 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Yes I believe the most important questions here are:

1 - which version will it work for? .83? .57? or just up to .52?
2 - If the Ubuntu version could be upgraded to, say, 11? Probably not, but hey...

Regardless, your work is the only reason why I'm buying myself a lapdock and replacing my netbook, so thank you very much for this hobby of yours =)
11th June 2011, 09:00 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
Looks great, thanks for the hard work
11th June 2011, 09:10 PM   |  #10  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,466
 
2,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Sweet!! I just bought a 32 GB card the other day. Happy Fathers day to me.

Looks like no sleep week.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes