Post Reply

[ROM][2.1] Eclair Strikes Back v2 [2011.06.23]

16th June 2011, 09:12 PM   |  #21  
syrenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mioze7Ae

I replaced /system/app/Vending.apk with the 2.2.7 com.android.vending.apk found here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=875067

After doing this and rebuilding dalvik-cache I have the new market and I am able to install paid apps! I'll make an update for it tomorrow, I have to crash.

When you doing that update? Having too many market issues right now lol
16th June 2011, 11:50 PM   |  #22  
reverendkjr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati, OH
Thanks Meter: 849
 
891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I decided to jump on the 2.1 bandwagon out of simple boredom...

Anyway, I loaded Eclair Strikes Back (great name BTW) and then put adw launcher on top to smooth out the ui. I downloaded Milestone Overclock from the market and jumped up to 1ghz. Booyah! I replaced my market with the one Mioze suggested, and got that working great. I also cleared out crap apps using root explorer and ran Quadrant. I got 768. Not too bad at 1ghz. I also downloaded a free app called SD Speed Increase to get the buffer back up to 2048. Worked great. So far, this seems to be a decent build. I just keep wondering what I will miss by not having froyo...

Really, why do I need froyo if this juiced up eclair works so well?

I think I am just going to stick with this until the Cincinnati Bell official update comes out.
The Following User Says Thank You to reverendkjr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2011, 11:53 PM   |  #23  
syrenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendkjr


Really, why do I need froyo if this juiced up eclair works so well?

I think I am just going to stick with this until the Cincinnati Bell official update comes out.

lol, yup. Exactly how I felt.

I liked the 2.2 youtube, gmail apps and some other minor things from 2.2, but this just seems to run so much smoother then our 2.2. Task switching on 2.2 simply does not compare imo.
The Following User Says Thank You to syrenz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2011, 02:51 AM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 31
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
One word
Quote:
Originally Posted by syrenz

lol, yup. Exactly how I felt.

I liked the 2.2 youtube, gmail apps and some other minor things from 2.2, but this just seems to run so much smoother then our 2.2. Task switching on 2.2 simply does not compare imo.


One word for you MIUI.... much more stable....
17th June 2011, 02:51 AM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 31
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
a second word
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_urbanek

One word for you MIUI.... much more stable....

A second word...... Netflix...
17th June 2011, 02:55 AM   |  #26  
syrenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_urbanek

One word for you MIUI.... much more stable....


I've used both. This feels as fast as MIUI I think. It does freeze up pretty often though, but it has things that MIUI is missing such as Haptic Feedback, Media Button, stock look etc...

MIUI is definitely really great, but imo so is this.
17th June 2011, 02:56 AM   |  #27  
reverendkjr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati, OH
Thanks Meter: 849
 
891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I appreciate the fact that a lot of you like the MIUI set up, but I personally do not want my phone to look, act, or feel like an iphone. I prefer my Android phone to... well, be an android phone!

As far as Netflix goes, I will probably miss that during that one time a month that I would find a need for it.
17th June 2011, 04:21 AM   |  #28  
Mioze7Ae's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Queen City of the West
Thanks Meter: 2,096
 
2,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by syrenz

When you doing that update? Having too many market issues right now lol

Here's the market fix update:
  1. Copy to OpenRecovery/updates/market-227-fix-for-eclair.zip on the SD card
  2. Reboot into OpenRecovery
  3. "Wipe Dalvik Cache"
  4. "Wipe Cache Partition"
  5. "Apply Update" > "market-227-fix-for-eclair.zip"
  6. Reboot
After you boot into Android, you may have to delete the Market cache (Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Market, "Force stop", "Clear cache"). I'm not sure if that's needed or not.
Attached Files
File Type: zip market-227-fix-for-eclair-v2.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.34 MB, 165 views)
Last edited by Mioze7Ae; 17th June 2011 at 06:50 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mioze7Ae For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2011, 04:29 AM   |  #29  
Mioze7Ae's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Queen City of the West
Thanks Meter: 2,096
 
2,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sohrab.naushad

MD5 Check failed. Does this have something to do with the fact that I bought my phone in the middle east?

No, that probably means an *.img file was corrupted after you copied it to your SD card. Redownload/recopy and try again.
17th June 2011, 04:35 AM   |  #30  
syrenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mioze7Ae

Here's the market fix update:

  1. Copy to OpenRecovery/updates/market-227-fix-for-eclair.zip on the SD card
  2. Reboot into OpenRecovery
  3. "Apply Update" > "market-227-fix-for-eclair.zip"
  4. Reboot
After you boot into Android, you may have to delete the Market cache (Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Market, "Force stop", "Clear cache"). I'm not sure if that's needed or not.

Did all that including the extras but still old market... hmm. I'll try again and see what happens.

EDIT: Still no go. Do I have to do a complete data wipe? I wiped dalvik cache.
Last edited by syrenz; 17th June 2011 at 04:41 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes