Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,702 Members 46,097 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How do you install google apps on a custom rom?

Tip us?
 
typci
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xian, China (陕西,西安)
Question [Q] How do you install google apps on a custom rom?

I've been downloading some custom roms off of the chinese forums, but many of them don't have google apps. If I can't sync my contacts and calender to gmail, I won't use the rom.

I downloaded GAPPS, which is meant to go with Cyanogenmod. I flashed it through recovery, but it didn't work.

I'd really like to use some of these Chinese roms, like V7, but I have to have GAPPS.
 
Poulsen8r
Old
#2  
Poulsen8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 144
Join Date: Mar 2011
When installing any ROM I'm fairly sure you do it in this order:
1. Backup
2. Wipe Data/Factory reset
3. Flash ROM
4. Manually mount /system
5. Flash GAPPS
6. Wipe Dalvik and Batterystats (optional)
7. Reboot

I have done it this way with the CM6 and CM7 ROMS and GAPPS works fine for me.
All glory to the Hypnodroid!
 
simplistian
Old
#3  
simplistian's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 370
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macau
Yes need to mount /system manually before flashing, probably need to install GAPPS before first boot.

Some devs put the GAPPS for their ROM on the forum also. Like Genokolar. You can look at the ROM post for instructions.
Galaxy Nexus (i9250 maguro)
Huawei Ideos X5 (U8800H)
HTC Touch HD (T8282)
 
typci
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xian, China (陕西,西安)
Ok. How do you manually mount the system?
 
iakoboss7
Old
#5  
iakoboss7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 171
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Athens
@simplistian: where he posts the gaps? i can only find something called gms! or thats it?

http://bbs.goapk.com/thread-2280290-1-1.html
 
simplistian
Old
#6  
simplistian's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 370
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macau
Quote:
Originally Posted by iakoboss7 View Post
@simplistian: where he posts the gaps? i can only find something called gms! or thats it?

http://bbs.goapk.com/thread-2280290-1-1.html
Yes it is GMS. Flash it after you flash the ROM before the first boot. No need to mount /system.
Galaxy Nexus (i9250 maguro)
Huawei Ideos X5 (U8800H)
HTC Touch HD (T8282)
 
simplistian
Old
#7  
simplistian's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 370
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macau
Quote:
Originally Posted by typci View Post
Ok. How do you manually mount the system?
With a custom recovery. There is an option of mounting different partitions.
Galaxy Nexus (i9250 maguro)
Huawei Ideos X5 (U8800H)
HTC Touch HD (T8282)
The Following User Says Thank You to simplistian For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
typci
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xian, China (陕西,西安)
Simplistian, thanks. You've been a great help. I'm going to stick with the B136 for now, and it runs great, and handles high end games without any problems. Next time I flash, I'll probably go with genokolar's V7 like you recommended.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes