Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][2.3.3] Cognition 5 v2 | {4000 lockscreens, deodexed 5 times, rooted 20 times!!}

OP designgears

17th June 2011, 06:54 PM   |  #101  
kennonk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere between silicone and silicon valley.
Thanks Meter: 130
 
440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blongs

Also in "about phone" it shows HSDPA but I only get 3G in status bar. Not too sure why, I usually get HSDPA where I am.

Same for me.

Edit:
And I confirmed it with speed testing. I normally get 3-4Mb/sec down and 1 up in my office and on this rom the best I can get is around 1.2Mb/sec down and 400K up.
Last edited by kennonk; 17th June 2011 at 07:01 PM.
17th June 2011, 07:07 PM   |  #102  
snowake's Avatar
Member
Flag Athens, GA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennonk

Been running the base KF1 with DG's insecure kernel now for about 13 hours and it is very stable for me. The only thing I haven't really tested is GPS performance but otherwise this is the smoothest stock rom by far. I had one FC with Google Voice that I restored with TiBu when trying to switch my Voice Mail Carrier to it but the second time worked fine. Otherwise no issues and I did a bulk restore of 100+ user apps from an i9000 Gb rom. I've run most of the i9000 based 2.3 roms and this stock so far has been the most stable and consistently smooth for me. I haven't bothered benchmarking anything yet and I bet Continuum with Talon 2.2 OC'd to 1.2GHz would beat this but as a daily driver rom this stock KF1 has been great so far. Way less features than all those awesome i9000 roms for sure, but that is what DG will bring to the table with Cog I am sure :)

Very good to hear, especially Tibu! Thanks. Were you able to restore mms through Tibu?

I have only had decent GPS with Jv6 modem on my 1007, but Jv6 has terrible call quality. How is reception and call quality on KF1?
17th June 2011, 07:12 PM   |  #103  
snowake's Avatar
Member
Flag Athens, GA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbong777

...I like that its a Captivate ROM. But even the i9000 Froyo ROMs were in some cases better than the native ones. Looking forward to a complete version.

Ditto, but i9000 GB roms through JVP have been awful for me. Especially call quality.
17th June 2011, 07:22 PM   |  #104  
Member
Port Townsend, WA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by harpo1

Did you check your wifi sleep policy?

Where is this located? It seems to have resolved itself.
17th June 2011, 07:27 PM   |  #105  
Senior Member
Flag Yuba City
Thanks Meter: 280
 
1,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh K.

Where is this located? It seems to have resolved itself.

Settings/wireless and network/Wi-Fi settings then press the menu button and advance
The Following User Says Thank You to harpo1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2011, 07:27 PM   |  #106  
matt_b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 36
 
420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
oops above beat me to it
Last edited by matt_b; 17th June 2011 at 07:38 PM.
17th June 2011, 07:31 PM   |  #107  
c0ldburn3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wet Side of Washington
Thanks Meter: 305
 
1,213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennonk

Same for me.

Edit:
And I confirmed it with speed testing. I normally get 3-4Mb/sec down and 1 up in my office and on this rom the best I can get is around 1.2Mb/sec down and 400K up.

You are never going to see HSUPA speeds from an ATT rom for the Captivate. No FCC clearance.

1.2meg down and 200-400k up is 3G speed.
Last edited by c0ldburn3r; 17th June 2011 at 07:36 PM.
17th June 2011, 07:32 PM   |  #108  
joeybear23's Avatar
Senior Member
Undisclosed
Thanks Meter: 441
 
1,465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by harpo1

Settings/wireless and network/Wi-Fi settings then press the menu button and advance

Yeah, it's one of those ninja settings.
17th June 2011, 07:39 PM   |  #109  
kennonk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere between silicone and silicon valley.
Thanks Meter: 130
 
440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowake

Very good to hear, especially Tibu! Thanks. Were you able to restore mms through Tibu?

I have only had decent GPS with Jv6 modem on my 1007, but Jv6 has terrible call quality. How is reception and call quality on KF1?

I have never tried restoring mms through TiBu. Months ago I was burned restoring system stuff so I have a strict user apps only restore rule now.

Call clarity and volume have both been excellent on KF1 for me so far. I made about half a dozen calls this morning and it is nice not having the screen go black because of the proximity sensor bug that I had through all i9000 GB roms so far. Also the modem seems to be switching to 850MHz correctly.
17th June 2011, 08:11 PM   |  #110  
DRShockie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cal.
Thanks Meter: 13
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by warri

im curious since it seems the bootloaders from the i9000 are different from the captivate leaked ones, if it would be possible to flash over an i9000 2.3.3 ROM (with boot-loaders)

This is a great quest for me too........

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
audience chip awesomeness, better than a rash, cog 5 + ext4 = win, cogasm, coggradulationsdg!, cognition5 beta
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes