FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

SMS Error - Cause Code: 34, Error Class: 2

165 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
By totalanonymity, Senior Member on 17th June 2011, 08:16 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Called tech support. They've no idea what it is.
Went into Sprint and had techs assess it. No idea. Manager has never seen code.
Switched ROMs from CM 7.0.2.1 to MikG to see if ROM was affecting it. Nope.

Unable to send/receive SMS and make/receive calls. Data fully functional in all aspects (1x, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi).

Intermittent issues yesterday. Can't do any SMS or calling period today.

Any idea?
 
 
DDiaz007
17th June 2011, 08:31 AM |#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalanonymity

Called tech support. They've no idea what it is.
Went into Sprint and had techs assess it. No idea. Manager has never seen code.
Switched ROMs from CM 7.0.2.1 to MikG to see if ROM was affecting it. Nope.

Unable to send/receive SMS and make/receive calls. Data fully functional in all aspects (1x, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi).

Intermittent issues yesterday. Can't do any SMS or calling period today.

Any idea?

What were you doing prior to this happening?

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
17th June 2011, 08:47 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
I was doing nothing prior to it. Business as usual. Same locations I'm always at, same amount of text messaging, same people I contact as usual. It came out of nowhere and came to stay, sadly.
DDiaz007
17th June 2011, 08:56 AM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalanonymity

I was doing nothing prior to it. Business as usual. Same locations I'm always at, same amount of text messaging, same people I contact as usual. It came out of nowhere and came to stay, sadly.

You say you switched ROMs? So I would assume you wiped everything.

Which would be

System/Data
Dalvik
Cache
Boot
Android Secure
And everything else besides ext partition and your SD right?

Now let's trouble shoot this problem. Have you tried installing an OTA ROM? If not, wipe your phone completely and install an OTA rooted Rom.

As you are doing this, I will research on this problem.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
DDiaz007
17th June 2011, 09:03 AM |#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Also have you attempted reprogramming your phone? I remember someone having this problem a long time ago and someone suggested dialing *228

Found the article. The number is indeed *228, but this was for the Droid Eris, so a different carrier. But dialing *228 fixed the problem.

Ignore the previously mentioned. It seems it may be for Verizon only.


EDIT#2
Good god I just read you can't make phone calls. So before we start messing with these codes, have you updated radios at all? If not, try to do so after doing the first step I requested you to do.

EDIT#3

This seems to have to do with your phones provisioning. Try provisioning your phone, it seems that has worked for others whom have had the problem.
To do this you will need to call sprint to do the provisioning process. So if wiping your phone does not work along with reinstalling a rooted OTA, try this.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
Last edited by DDiaz007; 17th June 2011 at 09:43 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2011, 10:15 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
@DDiaz007:

I had not installed an OTA ROM and I had read elsewhere about the *228 code and was quite sad when it was for Verizon only, considering those people were having the precise errors I was having.

I ended up calling into Advanced Tech at Sprint as per someone's advice in the IRC for Evo. Forgot the guy's name, wish I could give him credit here.

Solution was:

##231465#
Edit Mode
MDN: Should be current phone number. If not, correct it.
MSID: Should be number AT will tell you you should have. If not, correct it to such. If it already is, change number to some other 10-digit number, commit modifications. Reenter this edit mode by same means and change back to number AT said it should be, commit modifications. It required a reboot for me to acquire service again after changing that number and changing it back, but both SMS and voice now work flawlessly for me. Hell, maybe faster than before!

Thank you for your continued persistence in helping me solve my problem, though. I really appreciate it.
DDiaz007
17th June 2011, 10:18 PM |#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalanonymity

@DDiaz007:

I had not installed an OTA ROM and I had read elsewhere about the *228 code and was quite sad when it was for Verizon only, considering those people were having the precise errors I was having.

I ended up calling into Advanced Tech at Sprint as per someone's advice in the IRC for Evo. Forgot the guy's name, wish I could give him credit here.

Solution was:

##231465#
Edit Mode
MDN: Should be current phone number. If not, correct it.
MSID: Should be number AT will tell you you should have. If not, correct it to such. If it already is, change number to some other 10-digit number, commit modifications. Reenter this edit mode by same means and change back to number AT said it should be, commit modifications. It required a reboot for me to acquire service again after changing that number and changing it back, but both SMS and voice now work flawlessly for me. Hell, maybe faster than before!

Thank you for your continued persistence in helping me solve my problem, though. I really appreciate it.

Man that is good to know. I was going to get ready and post a bunch of programming codes for the Evo, but you solved your problem. Very good!

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
11th September 2011, 03:40 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
i am still having this issue and the mdn and msid are fine. anybody find anything else about this? this only start happening to me when i flashed bliss. other roms are fine.
26th September 2011, 09:23 PM |#9  
LuvThyMetal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simi Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalanonymity

@DDiaz007:

I had not installed an OTA ROM and I had read elsewhere about the *228 code and was quite sad when it was for Verizon only, considering those people were having the precise errors I was having.

I ended up calling into Advanced Tech at Sprint as per someone's advice in the IRC for Evo. Forgot the guy's name, wish I could give him credit here.

Solution was:

##231465#
Edit Mode
MDN: Should be current phone number. If not, correct it.
MSID: Should be number AT will tell you you should have. If not, correct it to such. If it already is, change number to some other 10-digit number, commit modifications. Reenter this edit mode by same means and change back to number AT said it should be, commit modifications. It required a reboot for me to acquire service again after changing that number and changing it back, but both SMS and voice now work flawlessly for me. Hell, maybe faster than before!

Thank you for your continued persistence in helping me solve my problem, though. I really appreciate it.

I been having this same issue for a few days already. What do you mean by Edit mode?
2nd October 2011, 11:03 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello I am that same problem on my EVO 4G but all things work and data work Its just keep saying SMS ERROR something 34 and code 2 and this occured after i downloaded the blaze beta 4 rom. I am new to this phone tech stuff and do not want to make things worst on phone. I will be waiting for someones help and thanks...
18th December 2011, 10:43 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I got the same problem about 2 weeks ago. Short sms sends good, but then sms length not suited in one message, this cause error. Solution i still has not found.

I tried to get into service mode by code? wrote upper, but no menu appeared.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes