Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[WIP] ClockworkMod Recovery - FreeXperia

OP Bin4ry

19th June 2011, 03:15 PM   |  #1  
Bin4ry's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Schwelm (NRW)
Thanks Meter: 5,754
 
1,833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

here comes Recovery for Play of Team FreeXperia.

Download here: (Beta1 - Update 20.06.2011 - 18:28h GMT+1)
http://www.multiupload.com/VC3JRZ74H0

Broken:
Cannot backup&restore boot partition (kernel related)

To test use this command:
fastboot boot recoveryPLAY.img

Button mapping: (thanks Logseman)
Back- Back
Home/Vol UP - Up
Menu/Vol DOWN - Down
Search - OK

Please DO NOT FLASH! This recovery is designed to work just as recovery, if you flash it to your device it will NOT boot system anymore!

Please test and report functions. If there are errors please include EXACT outpot of errormessage.

Thanks to Blagus for his Xperia Play Kernel!

To gain root on every ROM (Stock ones too) just flash the attached RootXperia.zip via Recovery
Regards
Bin4ry & Team FreeXperia
Attached Files
File Type: zip RootXperia.zip - [Click for QR Code] (469.4 KB, 60943 views)
Last edited by Bin4ry; 24th June 2011 at 08:01 PM.
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to Bin4ry For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 03:22 PM   |  #2  
Logseman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tenerife
Thanks Meter: 639
 
2,459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
I assume we need to install the custom kernel first?
19th June 2011, 03:25 PM   |  #3  
Bin4ry's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Schwelm (NRW)
Thanks Meter: 5,754
 
1,833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
No! You have NOT to install custom kernel to use this.
Just issue the command i wrote on your windows console. Then phone boots into recovery!

Regards
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Bin4ry For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 03:29 PM   |  #4  
Blagus's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
1,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Logseman

I assume we need to install the custom kernel first?

The recovery image is structured exatcly as boot.img, with the difference in executable files - regular boot.img boots Android system from /system partition, while recovery boots into... well, recovery
So, since it's structured just as boot.img, you have to pack kernel inside as well. That's where, in this case mine, zImage comes in handy instead of unpacking SE's special boot.img structure, it was easier to take zImage from standard boot.img.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Blagus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 03:31 PM   |  #5  
AndroHero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 907
 
6,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
ive just tried it now, boots into CWM fine, im going to try a nandroid and report back
The Following User Says Thank You to AndroHero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 03:34 PM   |  #6  
Logseman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tenerife
Thanks Meter: 639
 
2,459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
It looks weird in this DDMS capture, but in the phone it looks all right (black background, orange text). I've had no error messages of any kind.

Button mapping:
Back- Back
Home/Vol UP - Up
Menu/Vol DOWN - Down
Search/Power - OK

Last edited by Logseman; 19th June 2011 at 03:39 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Logseman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 03:42 PM   |  #7  
Bin4ry's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Schwelm (NRW)
Thanks Meter: 5,754
 
1,833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
This capture looks funny :P
But important is how it looks on device. I doubt that ddms cannot capture 32bit framebuffers

Regards
Bin4ry
The Following User Says Thank You to Bin4ry For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 04:01 PM   |  #8  
AndroHero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 907
 
6,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Ok, i did a nandroid, rebooted, booted back into bootloader and fastboot erased /system/, pushed the recovery back and tried to restore /system/ but i get the error " Error formatting system " i also get the same error in the mounts & storage menu can i flash the nandroid image from fastboot?


*edit* no it wont let me flash it from fastboot, it tells me the image is too large lol probably because i moved some widgets and lwp's to /system/, no worries i'll flash the image in the development section.
Last edited by AndroHero; 19th June 2011 at 04:10 PM.
19th June 2011, 04:17 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Recovery booted fine, did a nandroid backup worked fine, not sure i want to follow suit and delete a load of stuff and try restore. will wait to see what androhero and bin4ry can figure out first with andro's issue
19th June 2011, 04:22 PM   |  #10  
AndroHero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 907
 
6,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mehmehmen

Recovery booted fine, did a nandroid backup worked fine, not sure i want to follow suit and delete a load of stuff and try restore. will wait to see what androhero and bin4ry can figure out first with andro's issue

try and clear cache, see if you get the same error? if the action works it wont matter if cache gets formatted

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes