Post Reply

3g network

OP alon2

20th June 2011, 07:58 AM   |  #1  
alon2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Hi everybody,
I guess its kinda silly question but what the heck:
I'm using our great phone outside of the US(Israel to be specific) and just got a new sim card yesterday that suppose to support 3g networks(my old one didn't).
The question is:How could I know if I'm on 3g network or 2g network...
I don't see ant notification for that on the stautus bar and didn't find a setting to enable that(beside the wcdma which is enabled)
Thanks
Alon
P.S - I forgot to mention that my provider(Orange) supports and provide 3g network
20th June 2011, 02:49 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 147
 
1,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
We don't have a 3g icon.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA App
20th June 2011, 02:59 PM   |  #3  
Success100's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 207
 
1,856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
theres one there, it just RARELY shows itself. Mine has came on a few times on elevators. There was just a thread about this about a week ago. But most times unless your in a edge area it will show 4G. if you really want to know what your connected to go into settings>about phone>status, and it will tell you what your connected to
20th June 2011, 06:27 PM   |  #4  
alon2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
ok
thank you both

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA App
20th June 2011, 06:32 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Yea, it is there, but rarely shows its face. I still haven't seen one, but have seen screen shots of it.

Sent from the pits of hell (from an sgs4g)
20th June 2011, 06:45 PM   |  #6  
alon2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad_fitter

Yea, it is there, but rarely shows its face. I still haven't seen one, but have seen screen shots of it.

Sent from the pits of hell (from an sgs4g)

so I'm confused - is there or isn't there an icon or something?
20th June 2011, 06:57 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alon2

so I'm confused - is there or isn't there an icon or something?

Yes, there is, but it also depends on your rom. Some may not have a 3g icon in it

Sent from the pits of hell (from an sgs4g)
The Following User Says Thank You to mad_fitter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2011, 07:26 PM   |  #8  
alon2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad_fitter

Yes, there is, but it also depends on your rom. Some may not have a 3g icon in it

Sent from the pits of hell (from an sgs4g)

currently I'm on trigger so I guess there isn't...
Do you know which ones does have?
20th June 2011, 07:51 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Stock that I know of. Like I said, im in a good coverage area, so I've never had it show up.

Sent from the pits of hell (from an sgs4g)
29th June 2011, 08:39 PM   |  #10  
Success100's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 207
 
1,856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008


Finally got an image of it

Sent from my DAMN FO-GEE!!!

The Following User Says Thank You to Success100 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes