Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Fail to mount/unmount device storage card...

OP seatown1two

20th June 2011, 09:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Edmonds, WA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
When I try to use HTC sync to sync files, it displays this message after I press the sync now button. Is my sensation defective??
20th June 2011, 09:52 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Edmonds, WA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
PS... I've tried messing around with USB debugging unfortunately it does nothing..
20th June 2011, 10:02 AM   |  #3  
FrameworkTraining's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I get this too, I think it's because the phone has to place the storage under control of the windows app for it to be able to sync files etc (yet it doesn't become available as a windows drive). It's one of the very few things I preferred about winmo on my HD2).
20th June 2011, 10:39 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Edmonds, WA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
I don't understand why HTC would create this piece of crap software that we can't even use... I just tested on both of my computers (one running windows vista 32bit the other windows 7 64bit). On my windows 7 comp it displays the error after u press sync now. Vista comp it syncs nothing after pressing sync now.
20th June 2011, 06:55 PM   |  #5  
xnifex's Avatar
Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 167
 
1,648 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
What are you trying to sync? If it's files, just mount as a disk drive. If it's contacts/calendars I suggest using MyPhoneExplorer. Free app that can sync over USB/wifi/bluetooth. It syncs much better than HTC Sync does. Only think I've found wrong is it doesn't support the syncing of anniversaries.
https://market.android.com/details?i...xplorer.client
http://www.fjsoft.at/en/
The Following User Says Thank You to xnifex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2011, 08:53 PM   |  #6  
bduerr's Avatar
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
I found this problem too but when i switched off Blue Tooth it started to work correctly . . . .
13th August 2011, 03:21 AM   |  #7  
jerbarton's Avatar
Member
Flag Albuquerque, NM
Thanks Meter: 2
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I was having this same issue and here's what I did to fix it.

When you get the error:

Look in the system tray for the eject safely icon. Mine always showed it had mounted the sdcard from some reason. Safely eject the sdcard.

On the phone where it says change connection type make sure it's HTC Sync and click the "Don't ask again" box. This is important because if yours defaults to Disk Drive, Windows will mount your sdcard and HTC Sync will continue to fail.

Press "DISCONNECT" on HTC Sync

unplug usb cable.

Right click on the HTC Sync icon in the system tray and choose "Exit."
I always wait 30 sec just in case to let a program shut down completely.

Start HTC Sync from the Start Menu.

Plug in the phone.

Now it should work.

It did it again after I added bookmarks to be synchronized and repeating this worked.

Hope that helps

(Mine is an HTC Evo 3D but it should be the same for any HTC device.)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jerbarton For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th August 2011, 04:43 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 96
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I use SwitchPro Widget to unmount/mount my SD card. Maybe it will help you as a workaround?
3rd September 2011, 09:55 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Fairfax
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Thumbs up Thank It Worked
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerbarton

I was having this same issue and here's what I did to fix it.

When you get the error:

Look in the system tray for the eject safely icon. Mine always showed it had mounted the sdcard from some reason. Safely eject the sdcard.

On the phone where it says change connection type make sure it's HTC Sync and click the "Don't ask again" box. This is important because if yours defaults to Disk Drive, Windows will mount your sdcard and HTC Sync will continue to fail.

Press "DISCONNECT" on HTC Sync

unplug usb cable.

Right click on the HTC Sync icon in the system tray and choose "Exit."
I always wait 30 sec just in case to let a program shut down completely.

Start HTC Sync from the Start Menu.

Plug in the phone.

Now it should work.

It did it again after I added bookmarks to be synchronized and repeating this worked.

Hope that helps

(Mine is an HTC Evo 3D but it should be the same for any HTC device.)

Thanks a lot. I was just about to call T-mobile and complain about getting a defective phone. Its been a couple days of sitting in front of my computer and wondering wtf is going on. I have a Samsung Sensation and after doing what you said it started working. Thanks.
3rd September 2011, 11:48 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Are you using a kernal that is known to have PC connection issues?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes