Post Reply

[Q] No Custom Roms?

OP Astrowe

21st June 2011, 08:48 PM   |  #1  
Astrowe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
am i missing something or there really is no custom ROM for Flipout? no cyanogen, MIUI, cronos or anything? the only custom rom i found is (ROM) FlipDroidMod2.1_SoftMod[wip](no blur) ..is that all? i don't wanna complain or anything.. i'm just surprised as i have Milestone and there's plenty of ROMs for that one though it has locked bootloader like Flipout..
21st June 2011, 09:04 PM   |  #2  
silent_bob52637's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 41
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe

am i missing something or there really is no custom ROM for Flipout? no cyanogen, MIUI, cronos or anything? the only custom rom i found is (ROM) FlipDroidMod2.1_SoftMod[wip](no blur) ..is that all? i don't wanna complain or anything.. i'm just surprised as i have Milestone and there's plenty of ROMs for that one though it has locked bootloader like Flipout..

yes thats al there is atm
if you would like to help port cyanogen then be my guest
21st June 2011, 09:10 PM   |  #3  
Astrowe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent_bob52637

yes thats al there is atm
if you would like to help port cyanogen then be my guest

i've no porting experience.. i don't know anything about it i'd like to help bring more ROMs for Flipout of course.
21st June 2011, 09:19 PM   |  #4  
silent_bob52637's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 41
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe

i've no porting experience.. i don't know anything about it i'd like to help bring more ROMs for Flipout of course.

niether do i
does restoring backup in recovery work on your device
also we would need to find a device with as close hardware as possible and 2.2 or 2.3
Last edited by silent_bob52637; 21st June 2011 at 09:27 PM.
21st June 2011, 09:30 PM   |  #5  
Astrowe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent_bob52637

niether do i
does restoring backup in recovery work on your device
also we would need to find a device with as close hardware as possible and 2.2 or 2.3

actually i don't know yet.. i'm just checking the situation at this moment as my flipout arrives later this week
21st June 2011, 09:39 PM   |  #6  
silent_bob52637's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 41
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe

actually i don't know yet.. i'm just checking the situation at this moment as my flipout arrives later this week

fair enough where did you order it from
how much did it cost you
21st June 2011, 09:54 PM   |  #7  
Astrowe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent_bob52637

fair enough where did you order it from
how much did it cost you

it was an auction server like ebay.. some guy bought it last month, tried it and didn't like it so i bought it from him for 238$ which was pretty good since i'd have to pay 415$ if i wanted to buy it by myself from a shop.
22nd June 2011, 06:04 PM   |  #8  
suoko's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 21
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
here i can find it for 110 euros
http://www.monclick.it/schede/motoro...H1/flipout.htm

I started forgetting shops and ebay for phones:
- online stores or mobile providers for phones
- ebay for covers, repair kits, batteries and accessories

btw, I'm using it @500mhz with no prob (you can set it to max 250mhz too to save battery) so it can support gingerbread easily
Motorola is quite strange: it uses .sbf roms instead of common .zip ones

So clockwork recovery must be ported and then roms can be cooked easily I guess
With this price it can find a place in many pockets and the physical keyboard is a plus for it
Last edited by suoko; 22nd June 2011 at 06:35 PM.
22nd June 2011, 07:34 PM   |  #9  
Astrowe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by suoko

here i can find it for 110 euros
http://www.monclick.it/schede/motoro...H1/flipout.htm
.....

110EUR is a great price.. maybe even a weird price
i'd get it from online store as well but than that offer came up so i took advantage of it.

anyway, it seems to have the same processor (Cortex-A8) as my Milestone/Droid so it might be a good thing to port it from other Motorola device like this. Well that might sound pretty stupid 'cause it might be so obvious.. i really don't know anything about porting, sorry. I also have Openrecovery which seems to be a port of clockwock. Guess i'm gonna ask somebody with porting experience..
Last edited by Astrowe; 22nd June 2011 at 07:43 PM.
22nd June 2011, 08:29 PM   |  #10  
suoko's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 21
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe

110EUR is a great price.. maybe even a weird price

why weird ? that's its price !
They have a good acer E130 @108 euros too

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe

anyway, it seems to have the same processor (Cortex-A8) as my Milestone/Droid

no, they have different cpus
http://compare.setooz.com/compare/Mo...torola+FlipOut

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flipout, flipout custom rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes