Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,477 Members 41,193 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No Custom Roms?

Tip us?
 
Astrowe
Old
#1  
Astrowe's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Prague
Question [Q] No Custom Roms?

am i missing something or there really is no custom ROM for Flipout? no cyanogen, MIUI, cronos or anything? the only custom rom i found is (ROM) FlipDroidMod2.1_SoftMod[wip](no blur) ..is that all? i don't wanna complain or anything.. i'm just surprised as i have Milestone and there's plenty of ROMs for that one though it has locked bootloader like Flipout..
 
silent_bob52637
Old
#2  
silent_bob52637's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: edinburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe View Post
am i missing something or there really is no custom ROM for Flipout? no cyanogen, MIUI, cronos or anything? the only custom rom i found is (ROM) FlipDroidMod2.1_SoftMod[wip](no blur) ..is that all? i don't wanna complain or anything.. i'm just surprised as i have Milestone and there's plenty of ROMs for that one though it has locked bootloader like Flipout..
yes thats al there is atm
if you would like to help port cyanogen then be my guest
sent from my 12.9 litre biturbo muffin that runs on the tears of iphone user's
 
Astrowe
Old
#3  
Astrowe's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent_bob52637 View Post
yes thats al there is atm
if you would like to help port cyanogen then be my guest
i've no porting experience.. i don't know anything about it i'd like to help bring more ROMs for Flipout of course.
 
silent_bob52637
Old
(Last edited by silent_bob52637; 21st June 2011 at 09:27 PM.)
#4  
silent_bob52637's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: edinburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe View Post
i've no porting experience.. i don't know anything about it i'd like to help bring more ROMs for Flipout of course.
niether do i
does restoring backup in recovery work on your device
also we would need to find a device with as close hardware as possible and 2.2 or 2.3
sent from my 12.9 litre biturbo muffin that runs on the tears of iphone user's
 
Astrowe
Old
#5  
Astrowe's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent_bob52637 View Post
niether do i
does restoring backup in recovery work on your device
also we would need to find a device with as close hardware as possible and 2.2 or 2.3
actually i don't know yet.. i'm just checking the situation at this moment as my flipout arrives later this week
 
silent_bob52637
Old
#6  
silent_bob52637's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: edinburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe View Post
actually i don't know yet.. i'm just checking the situation at this moment as my flipout arrives later this week
fair enough where did you order it from
how much did it cost you
sent from my 12.9 litre biturbo muffin that runs on the tears of iphone user's
 
Astrowe
Old
#7  
Astrowe's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent_bob52637 View Post
fair enough where did you order it from
how much did it cost you
it was an auction server like ebay.. some guy bought it last month, tried it and didn't like it so i bought it from him for 238$ which was pretty good since i'd have to pay 415$ if i wanted to buy it by myself from a shop.
 
suoko
Old
(Last edited by suoko; 22nd June 2011 at 06:35 PM.)
#8  
suoko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tokyo

 
DONATE TO ME
here i can find it for 110 euros
http://www.monclick.it/schede/motoro...H1/flipout.htm

I started forgetting shops and ebay for phones:
- online stores or mobile providers for phones
- ebay for covers, repair kits, batteries and accessories

btw, I'm using it @500mhz with no prob (you can set it to max 250mhz too to save battery) so it can support gingerbread easily
Motorola is quite strange: it uses .sbf roms instead of common .zip ones

So clockwork recovery must be ported and then roms can be cooked easily I guess
With this price it can find a place in many pockets and the physical keyboard is a plus for it
ZTE v967s
 
Astrowe
Old
(Last edited by Astrowe; 22nd June 2011 at 07:43 PM.)
#9  
Astrowe's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by suoko View Post
here i can find it for 110 euros
http://www.monclick.it/schede/motoro...H1/flipout.htm
.....
110EUR is a great price.. maybe even a weird price
i'd get it from online store as well but than that offer came up so i took advantage of it.

anyway, it seems to have the same processor (Cortex-A8) as my Milestone/Droid so it might be a good thing to port it from other Motorola device like this. Well that might sound pretty stupid 'cause it might be so obvious.. i really don't know anything about porting, sorry. I also have Openrecovery which seems to be a port of clockwock. Guess i'm gonna ask somebody with porting experience..
 
suoko
Old
#10  
suoko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tokyo

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe View Post
110EUR is a great price.. maybe even a weird price
why weird ? that's its price !
They have a good acer E130 @108 euros too

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrowe View Post
anyway, it seems to have the same processor (Cortex-A8) as my Milestone/Droid
no, they have different cpus
http://compare.setooz.com/compare/Mo...torola+FlipOut
ZTE v967s

Tags
flipout, flipout custom rom
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes