Post Reply

best AT&T set up for download speed

22nd June 2011, 05:07 PM   |  #1  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hartford, Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 453
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
any ideas guys? I had an xperia x10 loaner, running custom ROM+build.prop was seeing 3-4.5Mbps download on AT&T. Ive never been able to get more than 2.5 on my streak, Ive used stock; 1.6, 2.1, 2.2, 2.2.2, DJSteve builds 1.46-1.9, and now im using Simple Streak 1.2.

Any ideas? Would engineering baseband be better? I have the build.prop ro.ril tweaks, etc.

im on simplestreak 1.2 w/baseband 35411-US
22nd June 2011, 07:04 PM   |  #2  
ubsamrc's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Consider yourself lucky, all I'm getting is 1.9, 1.2 and 1 mostly. My gf's captivate gets 3-5 constantly. If any one has any ideas to fix this, please let us know.

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
22nd June 2011, 08:18 PM   |  #3  
nickshertzer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 597
 
1,125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
How to Increase AT&T 3G Speed on Android
  • Includes step by step to editing build.prop via ADB or Root Explorer.

After some testing, this is the best I could come up with:

SimpleStreak 1.2 with 353 AMS flashed

Code:
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=12
ro.ril.hep=1
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=14
ro.ril.hsupa.category=6
ro.ril.hsxpa=5
Place that at the end of your build.prop and make sure there is a blank line at the very end. Reboot twice and test.

I went from 439kbps - 900kbps down / 1079kbps up without these settings to 2978kbps down / 1104kbps up

Your mileage may vary.

My original post in this thread:
Quote:

I flashed the 354 AMS for SimpleStreak 1.2 and found that I am getting around 500kbps d/l speeds on AT&T

I saw your post and was hoping to find some answers. I didn't know what the ro.ril tweaks were, so I googled. I assume you mean adding this to build.prop:

Code:
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=12
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=28
ro.ril.hsupa.category=9
ro.ril.hsxpa=3
I am going to flash the 353 baseband plus add the ro.ril tweaks and see if that helps.

::update:: Actual speed test result on 354 bb was 439kbps (man that is slow). After flashing 353 bb update, I'm getting 1033kbps down. Going to try some ro.ril tweaks and see if anything changes.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CAP201106231730.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	635096  
Last edited by nickshertzer; 28th June 2011 at 04:17 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nickshertzer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2011, 09:38 PM   |  #4  
nickshertzer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 597
 
1,125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
I seem to have posted ro.ril settings for a 4G Galaxy SII (really AT&T... just call HSPDA 4G... who'll know) from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1087729

Settings previously mentioned for Streak are here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=924440

Code:
ro.ril.hsxpa=2
ro.ril.gprsclass=12
ro.ril.hep=1
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=8
ro.ril.hsupa.category = 5
The fastest d/l speed I've seen so far is 1197kbps (using the ro.ril from the SII post). This is really disappointing. The iPhone 4 hits 2.5MB consistently sitting right next to my Streak.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisrotolo

Ive never been able to get more than 2.5 on my streak,

I guess my question becomes, how in the world are you getting 2.5 mb down on your streak?
Last edited by nickshertzer; 22nd June 2011 at 09:42 PM.
23rd June 2011, 12:31 AM   |  #5  
chrisrotolo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hartford, Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 453
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
idk, I'm using same tweaks you posted on simple streak 1.2 with perfmod, but have always seen ~2.5 down, on any ROM.
23rd June 2011, 12:46 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 28
 
457 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Running Simple 1.2 with perfmod flashed, flashed 354 completely stock before, then 353 amss.mbn.

After build.prop edits, with about -95 to -99db signal strength:

1:
Download: 2483kbps
Upload: 735kbps
Ping: 240ms

2:
Download: 2557kbps
Upload: 751kbps
Ping: 256ms
23rd June 2011, 02:36 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
How are you guys testing download speed? How do you monitor it? Never did that on a phone.
23rd June 2011, 04:52 PM   |  #8  
nickshertzer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 597
 
1,125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Speedtest.net I assume.
http://market.android.com/details?id...roid.speedtest

You can access through the browser also if you set uastring to desktop.
23rd June 2011, 05:06 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickshertzer

Speedtest.net I assume.
http://market.android.com/details?id...roid.speedtest

You can access through the browser also if you set uastring to desktop.

You type that like everyone else just knows what you're talking about.
I'm going to show my age, but right now I'm hearing the Skipper after listening to the Professor explain something, "easy for you, difficult for me."

Where does one set this string and what does it do?
Last edited by mid_life_crisis; 23rd June 2011 at 06:29 PM.
23rd June 2011, 06:26 PM   |  #10  
marvin02's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indiana
Thanks Meter: 415
 
1,607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Speakeasy works in the stock browser without changing anything.

Apps:


Info from braodband.gov

The Following User Says Thank You to marvin02 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes