Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,807 Members 52,775 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Root for stock HC3.1

Tip us?
 
sc2k
Old
(Last edited by sc2k; 10th August 2011 at 09:22 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 106
Join Date: Dec 2010
Lightbulb [HOWTO] Root for stock HC3.1

This tool installs su and superuser.apk for stock HC 3.1 and HC 3.01

As the old root method does not work anymore I created this new tool.

How to root
1. Goto Settings->Applications and enable "Unkown sources"
2. Download the attached APK file
3. Copy the file to your Iconia
4. Install the APK & start the tool
5. Click "root"
6. Enjoy :)


How to unroot
1. Start the tool & click "unroot"

NOTE
- By clicking root, you agree that you do this at your own risk. The tool will uninstall any previous installed superuser.apk.

Thanks
@ChainsDD for superuser.apk and su
@Acer for this buggy tool

Changelog

1.3.0:
- Also remove any "su" folder from /system/bin and /system/xbin .

1.2.0:
- Remove su from /system/bin and /system/xbin before rooting. This should fix the issues when someone installed the 3.1 OTA without unrooting the device before.

1.1.0:
- Add support for HC3.0

1.0.0:
- Initial version


!!! Use at your own risk !!!
Attached Files
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.0.apk - [Click for QR Code] (151.5 KB, 21074 views)
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (202.0 KB, 6027 views)
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (151.6 KB, 11155 views)
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.3.apk - [Click for QR Code] (151.6 KB, 134900 views)
The Following 94 Users Say Thank You to sc2k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thejondude
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 493
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: newport beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc2k View Post
This tool installs su and superuser.apk for stock HC 3.1

As the old root method does not work anymore I created this new tool.

How to root
1. Goto Settings->Applications and enable "Unkown sources"
2. Download the attached APK file
3. Copy the file to your Iconia
4. Install the APK & start the tool
5. Click "root"
6. Enjoy :)


How to unroot
1. Start the tool & click "unroot"

NOTE
- This was tested only with Acer_A500_3.019.04_COM_GEN1 but will probably work with any other version.
- By clicking root, you agree that you do this at your own risk. The tool will uninstall any previous installed superuser.apk.

Thanks
@ChainsDD for superuser.apk and su
@Acer for this buggy tools
you guys are fast... kinda funny that most people didnt wait til a rooted rom came out with 3.1 tho hehe guess they will learn
 
interqd
Old
(Last edited by interqd; 24th June 2011 at 02:42 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 542
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bali
great...

s2ck ,its like you are the maker of this tablet...u can do everything to it

btw, in the rooted stock 3.1, is itsmagic still works ? and we can install clockworkmod ? thx b4
 
sc2k
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 106
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by interqd View Post
great...

btw, in the rooted stock 3.1, is itsmagic still works ? and we can install clockworkmod ? thx b4
Yes, itsmagic still works. I installed thor's recovery and it is working fine.

Just remove this install-recovery.sh and call itsmagic before flashing the recovery..



Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to sc2k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
John8472
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Amsterdam
Antivirus is finding a threat in the file .....
 
themono
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 277
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by John8472 View Post
Antivirus is finding a threat in the file .....
And quite rightly, if gaining root isn't a security threat I don't know what is. But as you WANT this particular security breach and you trust the author - I assume - then don't worry about it and run it anyway. This is a good security breach, not a bad one!
The Following User Says Thank You to themono For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lord_Phoenix
Old
#7  
Lord_Phoenix's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Moscow
Works like a charm! Thank you guys!
Phone: Galaxy Nexus, 16 Gb - Android 4.1.1 (Official yakju)
Tablet: ASUS Transformer Pad 300 TF300TG, 32 Gb + 3G - Android 4.0.3 (Official)
 
WereCatf
Old
#8  
WereCatf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 713
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ilmajoki
This. Is. AWESOME.

No, seriously, it sure didn't take long! I'm a happy bunny now, thanks to the OP!
 
gogoduck
Old
#9  
gogoduck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hong Kong
it works! my salute to ya
 
Biologos
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2010
Well done mate! I expected you wizards to be fast, but not that fast! It has barely been a day since release! Kudos to you!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes