Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO] Root for stock HC3.1

OP sc2k

24th June 2011, 03:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
This tool installs su and superuser.apk for stock HC 3.1 and HC 3.01

As the old root method does not work anymore I created this new tool.

How to root
1. Goto Settings->Applications and enable "Unkown sources"
2. Download the attached APK file
3. Copy the file to your Iconia
4. Install the APK & start the tool
5. Click "root"
6. Enjoy :)


How to unroot
1. Start the tool & click "unroot"

NOTE
- By clicking root, you agree that you do this at your own risk. The tool will uninstall any previous installed superuser.apk.

Thanks
@ChainsDD for superuser.apk and su
@Acer for this buggy tool

Changelog

1.3.0:
- Also remove any "su" folder from /system/bin and /system/xbin .

1.2.0:
- Remove su from /system/bin and /system/xbin before rooting. This should fix the issues when someone installed the 3.1 OTA without unrooting the device before.

1.1.0:
- Add support for HC3.0

1.0.0:
- Initial version


!!! Use at your own risk !!!
Attached Files
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.0.apk - [Click for QR Code] (151.5 KB, 21761 views)
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (202.0 KB, 6282 views)
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (151.6 KB, 11487 views)
File Type: apk iconiaroot-1.3.apk - [Click for QR Code] (151.6 KB, 145133 views)
Last edited by sc2k; 10th August 2011 at 10:22 PM.
The Following 94 Users Say Thank You to sc2k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2011, 03:18 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
newport beach
Thanks Meter: 64
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc2k

This tool installs su and superuser.apk for stock HC 3.1

As the old root method does not work anymore I created this new tool.

How to root
1. Goto Settings->Applications and enable "Unkown sources"
2. Download the attached APK file
3. Copy the file to your Iconia
4. Install the APK & start the tool
5. Click "root"
6. Enjoy :)


How to unroot
1. Start the tool & click "unroot"

NOTE
- This was tested only with Acer_A500_3.019.04_COM_GEN1 but will probably work with any other version.
- By clicking root, you agree that you do this at your own risk. The tool will uninstall any previous installed superuser.apk.

Thanks
@ChainsDD for superuser.apk and su
@Acer for this buggy tools

you guys are fast... kinda funny that most people didnt wait til a rooted rom came out with 3.1 tho hehe guess they will learn
24th June 2011, 03:38 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Bali
Thanks Meter: 17
 
542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
great...

s2ck ,its like you are the maker of this tablet...u can do everything to it

btw, in the rooted stock 3.1, is itsmagic still works ? and we can install clockworkmod ? thx b4
Last edited by interqd; 24th June 2011 at 03:42 AM.
24th June 2011, 03:52 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by interqd

great...

btw, in the rooted stock 3.1, is itsmagic still works ? and we can install clockworkmod ? thx b4

Yes, itsmagic still works. I installed thor's recovery and it is working fine.

Just remove this install-recovery.sh and call itsmagic before flashing the recovery..



Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to sc2k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2011, 07:01 AM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 5
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Antivirus is finding a threat in the file .....
24th June 2011, 07:16 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by John8472

Antivirus is finding a threat in the file .....

And quite rightly, if gaining root isn't a security threat I don't know what is. But as you WANT this particular security breach and you trust the author - I assume - then don't worry about it and run it anyway. This is a good security breach, not a bad one!
The Following User Says Thank You to themono For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2011, 08:06 AM   |  #7  
Lord_Phoenix's Avatar
Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 3
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Works like a charm! Thank you guys!
24th June 2011, 08:53 AM   |  #8  
WereCatf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ilmajoki
Thanks Meter: 206
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
This. Is. AWESOME.

No, seriously, it sure didn't take long! I'm a happy bunny now, thanks to the OP!
24th June 2011, 09:04 AM   |  #9  
gogoduck's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
it works! my salute to ya
24th June 2011, 11:10 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Well done mate! I expected you wizards to be fast, but not that fast! It has barely been a day since release! Kudos to you!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes