Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,289 Members 46,486 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] EVO 3D Recovery Mode

Tip us?
 
wildcatswr5
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default [Q] EVO 3D Recovery Mode

How do you boot the EVO 3D into recovery? I tried the method used for the EVO 4G with no luck. I also can't find the answer anywhere.

Does fast boot have to be turned off to do this?
 
clavoie26
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 224
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Clarksville TN
[QUOTE=wildcatswr5;15042044]How do you boot the EVO 3D into recovery? I tried the method used for the EVO 4G with no luck. I also can't find the answer anywhere.

Does fast boot have to be turned off to do this?[/QUOT
Setings/power/fastboot. Uncheck fastboot then it will work.
Sent from my PC36100 using XDA Premium App
Im Not much help but thank me any HO
HTC EVO 4G LTE (JEWEL)
Rooted S/off Lazy Panda
SV/3.15.651.16
Runing HTC stock sense V4+
Recovery {TeamWin-twrp
Baseband 1.12.11.1119
Kernel HTC Stock
PRI 2.87-003
PRL 25010
Hboot 1.12.2222 THATS ALL FOLKS.
 
flipzmode
Old
#3  
flipzmode's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 692
Posts: 1,325
Join Date: Jan 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
You can also simply pick Reboot off of the power menu and as soon as the bottom leds turn off, hold the volume down rocker.

If your phone starts vibrating like crazy then you held volume down too soon, but it will still go.

But yea, this is an side effect of fast boot, because the phone is doing a warm boot not a cold boot. Or of course you can pull the battery, but that can be a pain.
Xylon - Nexus 4: 2.1.1b2 (Android 4.2.2)
Fresh Evo LTE: 5.3.1 (Android 4.0.4) || Fresh Evo 3d: 4.2.0 (Android 2.3.4) || Fresh Evo: 4.3.3
Fresh Shift: 4.1.1 (Android 2.3.3) || Fresh Hero: 2.4.0 (Android 2.1)

CDMA Android development and Fresh rom home: http://GeekFor.Me || Twitter

 
wildcatswr5
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
I got it booted into recovery and now it's stuck on a screen with a phone and a red triangle exclamation!
 
wildcatswr5
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Crap, still stuck on this screen.... HELP
 
wildcatswr5
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatswr5 View Post
I got it booted into recovery and now it's stuck on a screen with a phone and a red triangle exclamation!
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command

I'm not getting a recovery menu.... I haven't done anything to my file system. How can this be?!!?
 
Vinchenzop
Old
#7  
Vinchenzop's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 9664
Posts: 5,239
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hermitage, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Because you don't have a custom recovery, because the phone is not rooted

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA Premium App
Carrier: Verizon
Phone:HTC One Max (Current)/HTC Droid DNA/HTC EVO 4G LTE


If I've Helped You In Any Way, Please Help Someone Else


 
wildcatswr5
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinchenzop View Post
Because you don't have a custom recovery, because the phone is not rooted

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA Premium App
OK, now I feel like a noob. I rooted my HTC EVO 4G the first day I got it, so I guess I was spoiled and I assumed backup/restore was built into the phone already.

So the red triangle upon recovery boot is normal?
 
Vinchenzop
Old
#9  
Vinchenzop's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 9664
Posts: 5,239
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hermitage, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatswr5 View Post
OK, now I feel like a noob. I rooted my HTC EVO 4G the first day I got it, so I guess I was spoiled and I assumed backup/restore was built into the phone already.

So the red triangle upon recovery boot is normal?
Yes, its normal. If you were to return your evo 4g to complete stock, and tried to boot into recovery, you'd end up with the same result

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA Premium App
Carrier: Verizon
Phone:HTC One Max (Current)/HTC Droid DNA/HTC EVO 4G LTE


If I've Helped You In Any Way, Please Help Someone Else


 
wildcatswr5
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinchenzop View Post
Yes, its normal. If you were to return your evo 4g to complete stock, and tried to boot into recovery, you'd end up with the same result

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA Premium App
Thanks for the responses. Sorry to be a xda-develonoob.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more

Motorola Droid X Receives Almost Fully Functional KitKat Port

While we are all wondering when Google will decide to officially release … more