5,595,760 Members 37,295 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Navigation Volume too low

Tip us?
 
fubofo
Old
#1  
fubofo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 393
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belfast
Default Navigation Volume too low

Hi guys, I have an issue with Sat Nav volume. I will try to break it down simply:

Sat Nav [CoPilot and Navigator tested]
Music app [PowerAMP and HTC Music tested]
Audio cable [3.5mm audio jack - plugged into car stereo]
Sound settings all full [set in Quick Settings and also manually set Navigation Volume when Google Navigator is running]

Audio is fine when any music app playing [with or without cable]
Audio is fine when any Sat Nav voice playing [with or without cable]

Audio is fine when any Sat Nav + any Music app both playing (music cuts out and voice becomes audible) [WITHOUT CABLE]
--- Sat Nav voices becomes too low to hear when both Sat Nav and Music playing with cable plugged in ---

This was working perfectly fine on stock HTC (both Froyo and GB) with kernel Buzz OCUV 1.0.6.

I have only seen this issue since flashing Android Revolution HD 5.1.9 > 5.1.10 > 5.1.11 . I have tried different kernels ( Stock ARHD > UnityV2 > UnityV3 ) and also retried Buzz OCUV 1.0.6 but the issue still remains.

Does anybody have any ideas as to what could be the problem?
Desire HD

(CM7 Nightly + hboot + LordModUE 8.5@1.152Ghz)
Kernels & DaemonSets , HBoot , ENG S-Off , CWM

HTC Artemis > HTC Polaris > HTC Nike > HTC Desire HD
 
fubofo
Old
#2  
fubofo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 393
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belfast
Anybody have any ideas at all?

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
Desire HD

(CM7 Nightly + hboot + LordModUE 8.5@1.152Ghz)
Kernels & DaemonSets , HBoot , ENG S-Off , CWM

HTC Artemis > HTC Polaris > HTC Nike > HTC Desire HD
 
Pleske
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 4
Join Date: Sep 2010
I've always had this issue too, All I have been doing is lower the music volume to half, set Navigation Volume to Full and then increase the car volume instead :P

According to google support forum, It looks like the issue is caused by GB 2.3.3, 2.3.2 does not have this problem so it seems downgrading is the only fix.
 
jonnyjett
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So. Cal.
I have the same exact problem unfortunately.
Phone Carrier: Tmo

Phone: Sony Xperia Z - not rooted

Phone: Tmo US HTC HD2
Android: NexusHD2-JellyBean-4.1.2-CM10 V1.3a
HSPL: 2.08.HSPL
Radio: Leo_RADIO_2.15.50.14
Bootloader: MAGLDR 1.13
Recovery: ClockworkMod Recovery 3.0.2.5

Car Head Unit: Parrot Asteroid Smart - rooted
 
ViousAD
Old
#5  
ViousAD's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mumbai
I'm guessing you're using Google Navigation instead of HTC's Locations Premium Navigation?
I'm currently on 2.3.3, and I don't really have a problem with any bad navigation volumes. If you're not okay with paying to try out Locations Navigation, don't worry, you have a 1 month worldwide navigation license which you can activate and use for free without any restrictions.
 
fubofo
Old
#6  
fubofo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 393
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belfast
Thanks for your 'input' Vious, but the issue remains no matter what satnav is used, premium or not.

It is a confirmed 2.3.3 issue with multiple threads on the google code forums

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
Desire HD

(CM7 Nightly + hboot + LordModUE 8.5@1.152Ghz)
Kernels & DaemonSets , HBoot , ENG S-Off , CWM

HTC Artemis > HTC Polaris > HTC Nike > HTC Desire HD
 
MarkGbe
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 367
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
I hope they fix this soon. Such a GIGANTIC issue... i can't believe this isn't at all critical for them.
 
claptnei
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 73
Join Date: Apr 2010
Same problem for me, Copilot support could not fix it for me also, claiming it was a problem with android not them. Used to work on Version 8.x.x.606
Neil.

Device: Samsung Galaxy Note GT-N7000
Android Version: 4.1.2
ROM: 4.1.2 stock rooted
Baseband: N7000XXLT3
Build: ICS IMM76D.XXLT9
Kernel: 3.0.31-1103517 PhilZ-cwm6-XEU-3.99
Mods: Removed some stock Samsung apk's and Bloatware.

Device: Nexus 7 32Gb
Android Version: 4.4.2 Stock
Build: KOT49H
Kernel: 3.1.10-g4776c68
Mods: None yet
 
rgrover
Old
#9  
rgrover's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 133
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hertfordshire
If this affects all versions of Android above 2.3.2 then it looks as if I have little choice but to buy an iphone or wp7 phone next, Google are unbelievable sometimes!

6 months and still no fix, I love Android and would hate to switch but this is a complete joke!!!

http://code.google.com/p/cyanogenmod...detail?id=3165

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...09f5ad2d&hl=en

http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=15690
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play R800i




HTC Desire HD A9191
 
hexion
Old
(Last edited by hexion; 2nd November 2011 at 03:51 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2009
I know this is an old thread, but I wanted to share my solution for this same problem that I've been having since upgrading to the new gingerbread. Note though that this is no longer an issue if you're using the latest google navigation app, but if you're like me and you like to use an offline nav app like CoPilot, then this solution should work for you.

Since this problem was introduced in gingerbread 2.3.3, I thought I would try replacing the libaudiopolicy.so library with one from a gingerbread 2.3.2 rom I had laying around and voila, that seemed to have solved the problem! I haven't tested this thoroughly, but it seems to be working so far. I hope this helps anyone else out there that is still suffering from this issue.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hexion For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes