Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,543 Members 37,236 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Backup/Restore N2E

Tip us?
 
jocala
Old
(Last edited by jocala; 30th March 2012 at 10:11 AM.)
#1  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2011
Posts: 2,196
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Backup/Restore N2E

Backup/Restore N2E OS X/LINUX

Rule one: Make a backup of your factory fresh Nook ROM.

Linux/Mac: Become root

Boot nook with noogie.img and connect to your computer via USB.

New link here

Linux:
use df -h to get your nook's /dev/sd? address.
typically something like: /dev/sdb

OS X:
use diskutil list to get your nook's memory address.
typically something like: /dev/disk3

Once you know the address, unmount the Nook.

Code:
Linux: umount /dev/sdb*
OS X: diskutil unmountdisk /dev/disk1
Make the backup

Code:
Linux: dd if=/dev/sdb  of=my_backup.img bs=1M
OS X: dd if=/dev/disk3  of=my_backup.img bs=1M
After it is finished, double check and make sure the backup img file is exactly 1958739968 bytes long.

dd can wipe your computer's hard drive, so be careful! Make sure your're plugging the correct drives into the command above.

Restoring your N2E to factory-fresh is a simple reversal of the commands above:

(boot with the noogie sd card first!)

Code:
Linux: dd if=my_backup.img  of=/dev/sdb  bs=1M
OS X: dd if=my_backup.img of=/dev/disk3 bs=1M
Substitute sdb or disk3 above with your Nook's actual address.

This wipes your N2E, restoring the specified image file.

Windows users, see the next post.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to jocala For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jocala
Old
(Last edited by jocala; 9th December 2011 at 02:44 PM.)
#2  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2011
Posts: 2,196
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
BACKUP/RESTORE N2E Win7

Grab a copy of Roadkil's free DiskImager for backup and restore. http://www.roadkil.net/program.php?ProgramID=12

and a copy of free MiniTool Partition Wizard at:
http://www.partitionwizard.com/

Boot nook with noogie.img : http://nookdevs.com/NookTouch_Rooting (the "Rooted Forever" screen) and connect to your computer via USB.

Use DiskImager to copy your Nook partition to a file, being sure to select "Physical Disk" in the drop down list.


Click image for larger version

Name:	read1.png
Views:	6113
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	638711

Click image for larger version

Name:	read2.png
Views:	3748
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	638712

Click image for larger version

Name:	read3.png
Views:	3297
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	638713

If the process completes, you now have a backup.

To restore your backup:

(Boot Nook with the noogie sd)

Run Partition Wizard and delete all partitions on your Nook. Careful in disk selection here, wiping the wrong drive could be catastrophic! This is required, because DiskImager won't write to a partitioned drive.
Click image for larger version

Name:	partwiz.jpg
Views:	3304
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	638722

Now run DiskImager and restore your backup to the Nook drive. When done, pull the noogie sd card from the Nook and reboot.

Click image for larger version

Name:	write1.png
Views:	2342
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	638714

Click image for larger version

Name:	write2.png
Views:	1454
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	638716

Click image for larger version

Name:	write3.png
Views:	1346
Size:	20.7 KB
ID:	638717

You should be fully restored now.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to jocala For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Loccy
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 756
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocala View Post
Rule one: Make a backup of your factory fresh Nook ROM.
Well that's probably quite a lot of us early adopter hackers stuffed, then.
The Following User Says Thank You to Loccy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jocala
Old
#4  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2011
Posts: 2,196
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loccy View Post
Well that's probably quite a lot of us early adopter hackers stuffed, then.
Then make a backup now. For most of the stuff that's being done, a factory restore will put you back to pure stock.
 
Loccy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 756
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocala View Post
Then make a backup now. For most of the stuff that's being done, a factory restore will put you back to pure stock.
Already doing so - my current state is quite solid at the moment so it'll do as a known good restore point, if not as a "get me back to being a virgin" state.

Factory restore only seems to wipe /data, though - so anything you've done in system is not restored to stock.
 
cymoze
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 77
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loccy View Post
Well that's probably quite a lot of us early adopter hackers stuffed, then.
I'm stuffed too. Is there any hope of a full factory install method that doesn't include making an image of the original ROM?
 
jocala
Old
#7  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2011
Posts: 2,196
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cymoze View Post
I'm stuffed too. Is there any hope of a full factory install method that doesn't include making an image of the original ROM?
I don't see one on the horizon because the /rom/devconf data is individual to each N2E. Hopefully, I'm wrong.

As long as you're not currently in a horrible broken state, can't you force a factory refresh then backup?
 
rev0l
Old
#8  
rev0l's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 67
Join Date: Sep 2008
may you can add the link for the nookie.img ?!
thank you
History: Nokia 5200 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 6600 - SE P900 - HTC TyTN - Nokia 6210 - HTC Touch Pro - HTC Desire Z - B&N nook touch
[N2E] Knowledge Base
The Following User Says Thank You to rev0l For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jocala
Old
#9  
jocala's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2011
Posts: 2,196
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ocala

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rev0l View Post
may you can add the link for the nookie.img ?!
thank you
Done, thank you for reminding me.
The Following User Says Thank You to jocala For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cymoze
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 77
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocala View Post
I don't see one on the horizon because the /rom/devconf data is individual to each N2E. Hopefully, I'm wrong.

As long as you're not currently in a horrible broken state, can't you force a factory refresh then backup?
I did that and was able to backup. I noticed my 1.82GB image was actually on Physical Disk 7, but other than that it went by the book.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes