Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mount Transformer to Linux Mint - automated.

OP rootblock

27th June 2011, 06:09 AM   |  #1  
rootblock's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hey TF owners,

For anyone looking for a way to mount their Transformer to Linux Mint, I wrote a script to automate the process of configuring your machine to allow you to browse/modify files on the tablet's SSD. This will probably also work on Ubuntu, but I have only so far tested it on Linux Mint.

Download the attached file, and run it.

Edit: Connect your Transformer to your PC before running.
Edit 2: You only need to run this script once - not every time you connect the tablet to your PC.

Hit the thanks button/comment if this worked for you. If not, also comment and I/someone will probably help you out. Also, if anyone tests it on Ubuntu successfully, be sure to comment and let people know.

Note: All configuration files are backed up in the script before changes are made. You can always revert safely.

I'll throw in the ever so popular "use at your own risk" for safe measure.

Cheers.

June 29: Updated script uploaded.
-Cleaner
-Removes an unnecessary comment pushed into fstab in the previous script
-Already executable. Just run it. [Thanks MagnusRagnarok for the idea]
-Packed in 7z from Linux Mint this time as opposed to in zip format from the TF, for [hopefully] universal accessibility.
-md5sum 615f2bfa820ee9ac8ea2c967149a2f03 TransformerMount2.7z
Attached Files
File Type: 7z TransformerMount2.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.0 KB, 3602 views)
Last edited by rootblock; 30th June 2011 at 07:26 AM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to rootblock For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2011, 07:27 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
ok so maybe a stupid question, but does my tf need to be rooted to try this? also if you can create an automated script to install a linux distro you think it would be possible for you to create a script to root?? btw any idea on what actually works? can the tegra 2 run with compiz??
27th June 2011, 10:06 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0lddirtypaki

ok so maybe a stupid question, but does my tf need to be rooted to try this? also if you can create an automated script to install a linux distro you think it would be possible for you to create a script to root?? btw any idea on what actually works? can the tegra 2 run with compiz??

I thin you've misunderstood the intention of the OP.

It was to be able to mount your Transformer under Linux and be able to read/write the files stored on the Transformer's internal storage. Not to actually install a full blown Linux Distro on your Transformer.
The Following User Says Thank You to Budadank For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2011, 05:42 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Wow, talk about reading before posting.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA Premium App
28th June 2011, 01:59 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 4
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
only on linux mint--
does it work on ubuntu?
28th June 2011, 02:17 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Yes, this works perfectly on ubuntu
28th June 2011, 03:17 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 341
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I have a problem extracting the zip file with Ubuntu 10.10
Do I need an alternate unzip program? If so please specify. I do not run MS products.

Error:
7-Zip 9.04 beta Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Igor Pavlov 2009-05-30
p7zip Version 9.04 (locale=en_CA.UTF-8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,4 CPUs)

Processing archive: /tmp/TransformerMount.zip

Extracting TransformerMount.bash Unsupported Method

Sub items Errors: 1
28th June 2011, 03:46 PM   |  #8  
rootblock's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I can extract it with 7zip on Windows on the work computer, and with both Explorer and AndroZip on the TF without issue.

Sent from my Milestone using XDA App
28th June 2011, 03:51 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Acer Mod of the script
I'm trying to edit the file for use with an Acer Iconia. So far everything works but the modifying of the android.rules file. You see, it doesn't exist on my laptop (mint 11) in the directory the script looks at nor is there an android.rules file in lib/udev/rules.d. While I could probably write a rules file and make it work, I'd like to know where it comes from and maybe discover why it does not exist on my system. Anyone have any ideas? Also - rootblock - if I can get this to work would you object to my posting it in the Iconia forum? Thanks!

UPDATE:
Creating the file worked fine. Any reason to edit the script to check if the file exists and create it if it doe not or am I the exception to the rule? i.e. Would most users have it there in the first place?
Last edited by ku4tp; 29th June 2011 at 12:27 AM. Reason: new info
28th June 2011, 03:51 PM   |  #10  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 296
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DSammy

I have a problem extracting the zip file with Ubuntu 10.10
Do I need an alternate unzip program? If so please specify. I do not run MS products.

Error:
7-Zip 9.04 beta Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Igor Pavlov 2009-05-30
p7zip Version 9.04 (locale=en_CA.UTF-8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,4 CPUs)

Processing archive: /tmp/TransformerMount.zip

Extracting TransformerMount.bash Unsupported Method

Sub items Errors: 1

Probably a bad download. And you could also try file-roller to open it (I think its installed by default, it is on Debian/Gentoo)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes