5,597,871 Members 38,664 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Free memory (ram) inconsistancy

Tip us?
 
sw99
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 230
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Free memory (ram) inconsistancy

It's been really weird, but in the pull down "quick settings" the free memory will show something like

Total memory: 803mb
Used: 695 Free: 108

Which seems very low.

But if I look at running processes in settings/applications, I get 284 used, 432 available.

So, the questions are:
1. Are these two "memory" values refering to the same thing? They do not add up to the same total.
2. Which one really indicates system resources - I get Sense restarts whenever the quick settings value goes below about 125 - and I don't even know why this should be happening.
3. isn't this phone supposed to have 1gb of ram?

One thing i'm sure about...it is not the app space remaining.

Anyone have any insight?

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
 
sw99
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 230
Join Date: Jun 2010
I should point out that tapping on the memory in quick settings takes you to the running process screen.

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
 
chubaan
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 137
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston
i have the same question..
in notifications, it says:
total: 803
Used: 538
free: 265

is this normal? or what is it that is using all that memory?
 
joehunni
Old
#4  
joehunni's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,317
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington
Quote:
Originally Posted by sw99 View Post
I should point out that tapping on the memory in quick settings takes you to the running process screen.

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
No... It takes you to the new built in "task manager" app, which is very different for some reason.
 
mike21pr
Old
#5  
mike21pr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 1,319
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Juan
I wanna know this as well.... Im kinda paranoid about RAM and thought that 1gb was more than enough, but the htc task manager really dissapoints me when i see what i have free (160-180 average) but i have over 400 free in the stock android process manager.

Which one is more accurate? And why are they so different?

s3nT Fr0m aN0tH3r dIm3nSi0n (EVO 3D)
Carrier: AT&T USA
Current OS: Android 4.4.2 KitKat (Stock)
Current Device: Moto G Google Play Edition
 
joehunni
Old
#6  
joehunni's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,317
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike21pr View Post
I wanna know this as well.... Im kinda paranoid about RAM and thought that 1gb was more than enough, but the htc task manager really dissapoints me when i see what i have free (160-180 average) but i have over 400 free in the stock android process manager.

Which one is more accurate? And why are they so different?

s3nT Fr0m aN0tH3r dIm3nSi0n (EVO 3D)
Not sure why these are so inconsistent, but I'm much more leaning towards the built-in Android version through the setting menu.
 
jgalan14
Old
(Last edited by jgalan14; 14th July 2011 at 01:33 AM.)
#7  
jgalan14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 367
Posts: 3,713
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Las Vegas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubaan View Post
i have the same question..
in notifications, it says:
total: 803
Used: 538
free: 265

is this normal? or what is it that is using all that memory?
HTC sense UI , really tho that's why the Samsung galaxy s 2 kick ass on benchmarks , because sense takes a lot RAM , you didn't think this nice looking animations weren't doing anything to your device right ? Is been like that since the EVO days will need to get used to it now

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
 
chubaan
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 137
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston
Ahaa.. that makes sense, that sense is using it of course.. you have a point ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgalan14 View Post
HTC sense UI , really tho that's why the Samsung galaxy s 2 kick add on benchmarks , because sense takes a lot RAM , you didn't think this nice looking animations weren't doing anything to your device right ? Is been like that since the EVO days will need to get used to it now

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk


Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more