Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,018 Members 44,068 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Force USB Debugging

Tip us?
 
triran
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default [Q] Force USB Debugging

Hello all,

First of all I appreciate there are loads of threads of possible not genuine reasons i.e. stolen phones and so forth. However I do have a good reason and would be happy to discuss the reasons via PM only.

I need to bypass a "pattern too many times" issue - I was looking to talk to the handset via ADB but USB Debugging is not active. Can this be forced?

I am yet to try the bug with "username email" with password "null".
 
triran
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2005
Equally if you know the answer but want to keep it off the boards - again PM me.
 
solar666
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 408
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by triran View Post
Hello all,

First of all I appreciate there are loads of threads of possible not genuine reasons i.e. stolen phones and so forth. However I do have a good reason and would be happy to discuss the reasons via PM only.

I need to bypass a "pattern too many times" issue - I was looking to talk to the handset via ADB but USB Debugging is not active. Can this be forced?

I am yet to try the bug with "username email" with password "null".
I do not fully understand your explanation, anyhow what I get is that you want to have USB Debugging enabled by default after a reboot.

If my assumption is correct, you just need to edit your build.prop in the /system directory by changing the the specific parameter "persist.service.usb.setting=1" instead of "0".

Anyhow such thing need to be rather posted into the Questions and answer part of the forum.
 
triran
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2005
The handset is locked out due to a pattern being used too many times incorrectly.

I need to remove the pattern and google access without losing data. I understand the best way is to talk to the handset over ADB but USB Debugging is not active so I wanted to know if there was a way of forcing the handset.

The reason I said to PM is that I know some people wont help as they thing that the poster does not have the correct intensions. I however have.
 
triran
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2005
Re-reading your post - to edit the build.prop I assume can only be done if the handset is rooted?
 
solar666
Old
(Last edited by solar666; 30th June 2011 at 05:10 PM.) Reason: .
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 408
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by triran View Post
Re-reading your post - to edit the build.prop I assume can only be done if the handset is rooted?
yes, you're right. This only possible at rooted devices since the /system is r/o by default and it needs to be mount r/w for this change. Anyhow you need the access to /system either by terminal or by root explorer.
 
Ibanez33
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 341
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by solar666 View Post
yes, you're right. This only possible at rooted devices since the /system is r/o by default and it needs to be mount r/w for this change. Anyhow you need the access to /system either by terminal or by root explorer.
Wouldn't flashing a custom kernel in odin get round that?
 
mauro235
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 28
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibanez33 View Post
Wouldn't flashing a custom kernel in odin get round that?
With a custom Kernel you can enter in CWM (clockwork mod). CWM has ADB access. Simple.
 
solar666
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 408
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibanez33 View Post
Wouldn't flashing a custom kernel in odin get round that?
As I said, I have not catched completely the aim of his question.
Anyhow, there is no more feedback and either it is enough or otherwise will start again questioning ...
 
triran
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2005
I have a SGS which has been blocked with "Pattern been entered too many times" and therefore its asking for GMail details which are not known. So I was going down the route of trying to activate ADB so I can extract the data stored on the device first - I can not wipe the user data. I am trying to do this in a forensic manner guys. Sorry I kept that detail to myself - I must stress this phone is not stolen.

I am a forensic analyst and this is a wee bit beyond our usual remit.

Tags
usb debugging
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more