Post Reply

Tablet on, screen backlight on, no display, HDMI out working

OP Good2BCh13f

29th June 2011, 10:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
LTL, but I have an issue now and search isn't helping.

So, I have had my AT for about 3 weeks. No problems. Forgot to charge it overnight, no big deal. Charged it for several hours and then turned it on. Nothing. The screen lights up, but there is nothing on it. Ok, says I, I restart it. Nada. I did the hard restart (10 seconds holding the power button, 2 seconds off, 10 seconds holding it again) and still nothing. Then I noticed it made noise if I touched something that makes noise. I plug in an HDMI, and low and behold, the tablet is working fine, the screen just isn't. Now, keep in mind that the backlight is on, the screen just doesn't display anything. Any ideas?
29th June 2011, 10:51 PM   |  #2  
frosty5689's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Good2BCh13f

LTL, but I have an issue now and search isn't helping.

So, I have had my AT for about 3 weeks. No problems. Forgot to charge it overnight, no big deal. Charged it for several hours and then turned it on. Nothing. The screen lights up, but there is nothing on it. Ok, says I, I restart it. Nada. I did the hard restart (10 seconds holding the power button, 2 seconds off, 10 seconds holding it again) and still nothing. Then I noticed it made noise if I touched something that makes noise. I plug in an HDMI, and low and behold, the tablet is working fine, the screen just isn't. Now, keep in mind that the backlight is on, the screen just doesn't display anything. Any ideas?

If you never dropped it, then the ribbon cable connecting the screen to the motherboard probably got loose and isn't making a proper connection. Your choice is to RMA or try taking it apart yourself and re-connecting the ribbon cable.
Last edited by frosty5689; 29th June 2011 at 10:55 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to frosty5689 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2011, 10:53 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I have exactly the same issue. I wish i can tear apart my transformer, but i don't know how.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
29th June 2011, 10:57 PM   |  #4  
frosty5689's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martabakeju

I have exactly the same issue. I wish i can tear apart my transformer, but i don't know how.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

There have been posts with pictures detailing the tear down steps people did to take it apart, but it can't be said for certain that the ribbon got loosen. The screen could've very well just died. I know for a fact that some LED powered screens draws power for the LED backlight from the same ribbon cable, if the Transformer's IPS screen does the same then the screen must've died cause the back light is still on indicating the ribbon cable is still in place.
29th June 2011, 10:57 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty5689

If you never dropped it, then the ribbon cable connecting the screen to the motherboard probably got loose and isn't making a proper connection. You choice is to RMA or try taking it apart yourself and re-connecting the ribbon cable.

Thanks I might just do that. It is case-kept and it was inside a computer bag, so even if it was dropped (I didn't, but I have a dog/cat/wife who might have bumped it ) it should have been fairly protected. I am still within my return/replacement window with Amazon, but they can only refund me due to lack of stock
29th June 2011, 11:03 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I was also thinking that maybe it thinks an HDMI cable is still attached and won't put the tablet display on? I have never hooked up an HDMI cable up until this issue arose so I am unsure what my AT's screen would do when I plug an HDMI in. Does the screen turn off? Does the backlight stay on?
29th June 2011, 11:07 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I don't think thats the issue...before my screen totally died, it discolored for some time...then i kinda shook my AT quite strongly, then the screen totally died. I think it is the ribbon issue.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
29th June 2011, 11:11 PM   |  #8  
frosty5689's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martabakeju

I don't think thats the issue...before my screen totally died, it discolored for some time...then i kinda shook my AT quite strongly, then the screen totally died. I think it is the ribbon issue.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

I think a tear-down thread has pics of the display connections, if there's a separate backlight power cable then yah, ribbon is loose.
1st July 2011, 02:00 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
So, after a minor teardown, I ensured all wires were re-seated, not just what I think was the power and display cables. Still nothing So, since I was still in the window of return/replacement with Amazon, I did that. But, as it is abundantly clear, the Transformer is sporadically in stock at best, I couldn't get a replacement, only a refund. Also, since I need a tablet by Tuesday at the latest, I am now the reluctant owner of a Samsung Tab. I am going to miss my microsd slot, my IPS screen, and my extra $100 bucks

Thanks everyone for the suggestions!
19th July 2011, 04:47 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
FYI I had a similar issue after accidentally bumping and dropping my transformer about 1 foot onto my mattress. Turned it on and backlight was on but no visual. Heard email notifications etc suggesting it was working. I haven't been able to get hdmi out working yet so didn't get to confirm that.

Amazon bought, but returned it to Asus service centre in Sydney. Got it back today with repair report stating "Reconnected LVDS cable". Presumably if the repairers knew you had disassembled it yourself and attempted to fix it they would say your warranty is void, would that be correct?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes