5,606,201 Members 33,324 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HowTo] use 3G Dongle on TF101 *UPDATED 04/13/2012*

Tip us?
 
Kasimodo
Old
(Last edited by Kasimodo; 21st May 2012 at 07:58 AM.)
#1  
Kasimodo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 332
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris
Thumbs up [HowTo] use 3G Dongle on TF101 *UPDATED 04/13/2012*

Hello,

(First sorry for my very bad english. It's not my natural language but I do my best for sharing with you!)

04/13 - UPDATE: Now 3G works for ICS with some ROMs like Megatron.
Revolver will be based on TF101G ICS ROM soon.


09/17 - UPDATE:Roach2010 and gnufabio have developped an apk that enable Mobile Network settings (for 3G dongle).
Their APK change the bootloader. (Read more and download)

So maybe this thread has no purpose except for issues and for the list of compatible dongles. If you have a dongle which work and which is not in the list.....

11/08 - UPDATE: 3G dongle works too with Extension-Kit/TFUSB1 Asus P/N 90-XB2UOKEX00020
You can find it here: http://shop.asus.fr/shop/fr/fr-FR/Ho...S-Eee-Pad.aspx (Thanks to ValenteL for information)

************************************************** **********

Bellow you can find the first post

Thank you,
Regards.


FIRST POST:

There is probably other ways to make the 3G Dongle working on TF101 but here you can find how we have done.


The follow lines work to have Prime v1.5 installed on your Transformer (works with any version!)
Then you could upgrade to Revolver 2.1.

Otherwise you can directly nvflash your TF101 with the Revolver 2.5 NVFlashed version of cuckoopt.
You just have to follow instructions on this post.
Don't forget to thank him if it works for you
Note: SetCpu doesn't seem to work. I don't know if the issue is coming from Revolver or HC. By re-installing SetCpu, it works one time then crashes.


A. Prime V1.5 Installation:

1. You have to backup all your data/apk from your Internal SD Card because we will make a clean install. So use your backup software.
Becareful. if you project to use Titanium Backup, his backup files are on the internal SD Card so afterwards, you have to move it to your MicroSD (from /mnt/sdcard/Titatium Backup to /data/Removable/MicroSD)

2. Download NVFlash: http://www.filefactory.com/file/ccda97c/n/nvflash.zip then the NVFlash version of Prime v1.5: http://www.sdx-downloads.com/devs/ro...vflash.tar.bz2
Updated note: I am not able to activate the Mobile Network option with version 1.6 (even Zip version for ClockWorkMod nor NVFlash version).
But some people have succesfully activated it by flashing NetFinder 1.5 just after the fresh Install of Prime v1.6 and before rebooting the system ; it means in the same CWM


3. unpack NVFlash and Prime v1.5 in the same directory. The image files of Prime v1.5 should be unpacked into the NVFLashTF folder.

4. Connect your TF101 to your PC via USB. Then hold the volume UP and Power button until a NEW device named "APX" appears in the Device Manager. Note that the screen of the Transformer stays black.

5. Click on the APX to install drivers from directory USBPCDriver (included in NVFlash.zip)
info: I used Windows XP 32 bits.

6. Then run Download.bat if you are on Windows, download.sh for Linux users

7. When NVFlash is ended, reboot your TF101.
During boot, there is a setup wizard. Choose connection with "3G and Wifi", not "only Wifi"!!
At this step, you must have the Mobile Network option in Parameters.

8. Download Maxh2003 Script: http://android.modaco.com/index.php?...=post&id=73836 (you need to be a register user on Modaco You could find another link some posts after!)
Download the Patch files for ACER A500 tab: http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...8&d=1309189189

9. Unzip the script and the Patch file in the same directory.

If you want to upgrade to Revolver 2.1 version (HoneyComb 3.2), you must stop here and go to step B (chapter B).
Otherwise continue chapter A.

10. Connect your TF101 and run install-TF101.bat

11. Mobile Network option is here.


B. REVOLVER 2.1 Installation

1. Do a fresh install of Prime v1.5 NVFlsh version.
If it's not the case go back to the begin of this post and execute steps A.1 to A.9. then go back to B.2
2. Download this file
3. If you read this, Prime v1.5 NVFlash version is installed and you are in CWM Recovery screen.
Install the Recovery 2.1 version (Full). DON'T WIPE DATA
4. At the end, just reboot your system and verify that Mobile Network option is still here.
5. Then we have to install drivers for your dongle (see the list below for compatible dongles).
Let your TF101 on, connect it to your PC via USB cable and run install-TF101.bat via cmd.exe from Windows (tested under Windows XP x86 and Windows 7 x64)


C. List of COMPATIBLE DONGLES


Note: if your dongle is not in this list, but works with TF101, please tell me. It will be added to the list.

Quote:
* ZTE MF 639 (might need roaming enabled to get data working)
* Alcatel X225L (thx to urko95)
* Vodafone K3765-H
* Vodafone K3715
* Vodafone K3565 / Huawei E160
* Huawei E156G (thx to sh337 for testing)
* Huawei E160G (thx to htc-hd2. His post)
* Huawei E161 (thx to zumbik. His post)
* Huawei E169
* Huawai E170
* Huawai E171
* Huawei E173 (ATTENTION: E173 EVO version NOT COMPATIBLE - thx to sronweb for his tests - Read more)
* Huawei E180 (thx to ValenteL. His post)
* Huawei E220 (thx to eyz. Connexion seems to be not stable. Read more)
* Huawei E270 (thx to eyz. His post)
* Huawei E1550
* Huawei E1552
* Huawei E1692
* Huawei E1750
* Huawei E1752
* Huawei E1762 (thx to bennyyen. His post)
* Huawei E1820
* Huawei E1823 (Thx to bswpt. His post)
* Huawei E2010 (Thx to madangryscientis. His post)
* HUAWEI K3520
* HUAWEI K3565 -Rev 2


D. About LED on HUAWEI 3G Dongle:[/B]
The LED indicator displays the current connection status of your Orange E1752 dongle, with each colour representing a different status:

Quote:
When the LED displays green and is blinking twice every three seconds, this means that the dongle is powered on.
When the LED displays green and is blinking once every three seconds, this means that the dongle is attempting to register onto a 2G network.
When the LED displays blue and is blinking once every three seconds, this means that the dongle is attempting to register onto a 3G network.
When the LED displays solid green, this means that the dongle is connected onto a 2G network.
When the LED displays solid blue, this means that the dongle is connected onto a 3G network.
When the LED displays solid cyan, this means that the dongle is connected onto a 3G+ network
When the LED displays no colour, this means that the dongle is removed.
And dont forget to turn off the composite device of the 3G dongle.

Here how to do (thanks to Matchstick from Modaco who wrote these lines):
Quote:
You can test this by plugging the stick into a PC and seeing if it detects the modem as a CD or Memory stick device as well as a modem.

If it does then the method I used to turn off the composite device (on Windows 7) was:

1) Install the software and drivers for the modem under windows and make sure that the connection software sees the modem correctly.
2) Go to Settings/Control Panel/Device Manager and if you expand the Modems section you should see your USB modem listed there
3) Double click on the entry for the modem to get the properties panel up and selected the Modem tab
4) You should see a line at the very top of the tab that says something like Port: COM11 - This is the virtual serial port that the PC uses to talk to the modem which we're going to use to send the command to turn off all the stuff we don't want.
5) Next we want to install a serial console application. PuTTY is perfect for this. If you don't have a copy you can get if from here,
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~s.../download.html
6) Run putty, select Serial under Connection Typem and enter the port we found in step 4 (eg COM11) into the box marked Serial Line and press the Open button
7) An empty window should pop up, which if things are working correctly is connected to the Modem
8) Type "ATI" into the window (without the quotes) and press return. The ATI command asks the modem for basic information and it should respond with something like
Manufacturer: huawei
Model: E1752
Revision: 11.126.03.01.314
IMEI: 123456789012345
+GCAP: +CGSM,+DS,+ES

OK
9) If you see this then you are connected correctly, if you don't see a response try physicaly unplugging and reconnecting the modem into a different USB port and start again from step 2 after windows has loaded the drivers for the modem.
10) Assuming everything is OK, the we can send the command to turn off the stuff we don't want. To do this simply type "AT^U2DIAG=0" (again without quotes) into the putty window. you should see the response OK.
11) If you do then the composite device features should now be turned off and you are ready to try the modem in your transformer.


Remerciements/Thanks to AndroidRoot.mobi for NVFlash, Paul for Prime!, Maxh2003 for his script and help, Matchstick for his help, Dexter_nlb for his A500 patch and, of course, all our developers and users who help us.
GT-I9300 - Rooted - Stock
GT-I9100P - Rooted - Stock Last for I9100 with NFC "almost" enabled (No Tags)
ASUS TF101G 16 Go - B80 - NachoRooted - Cyanogen
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you want 3G Mobile Network on your TF101 with Honeycomb? (read more)
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to Kasimodo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ewitte
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Not sure why I've flashed several roms in APX from w7 64 bit just fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to ewitte For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kasimodo
Old
#3  
Kasimodo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 332
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris
It seems that these drivers don't work for win7 64 and works for Vista 64.
Perhaps they are unsigned.... didn't know. I don't make more tests.

Regards.
GT-I9300 - Rooted - Stock
GT-I9100P - Rooted - Stock Last for I9100 with NFC "almost" enabled (No Tags)
ASUS TF101G 16 Go - B80 - NachoRooted - Cyanogen
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you want 3G Mobile Network on your TF101 with Honeycomb? (read more)
The Following User Says Thank You to Kasimodo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frosty5689
Old
#4  
frosty5689's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 609
Join Date: May 2011
Looking good. Now to get a 3G plan and dongle...
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer 32GB - EOS 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy SIII (d2can) - PAC-Man 4.2.2
 
P4k1t0
Old
#5  
P4k1t0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 613
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Funchal
Anyone get this working?
 
nsec
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2011
to kasimodo
Could you upload Maxh2003's scrift file here. I can't download it from your link.
Thanks
 
Kasimodo
Old
#7  
Kasimodo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 332
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsec View Post
to kasimodo
Could you upload Maxh2003's scrift file here. I can't download it from your link.
Thanks
Here the file.
Regards
Attached Files
File Type: zip tf101_huawei_install_scripts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (972 Bytes, 1939 views)
GT-I9300 - Rooted - Stock
GT-I9100P - Rooted - Stock Last for I9100 with NFC "almost" enabled (No Tags)
ASUS TF101G 16 Go - B80 - NachoRooted - Cyanogen
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you want 3G Mobile Network on your TF101 with Honeycomb? (read more)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kasimodo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dan-htc-touch
Old
#8  
dan-htc-touch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 569
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: calgary

 
DONATE TO ME
insmod is having no luck with these kernel modules, none are loaded, and I get nothing??? what's the deal? has anyone got this working including the OP or is this just a theoretical WIP
Devices:
Android: galaxy tab 10.1, galaxy tab 8.9
Windows phone 8: Samsung ativ s
Windows RT: Microsoft Surface
twitter: dan_htc_fan
 
Kasimodo
Old
#9  
Kasimodo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 332
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-htc-touch View Post
insmod is having no luck with these kernel modules, none are loaded, and I get nothing??? what's the deal? has anyone got this working including the OP or is this just a theoretical WIP
Hello it's not a theoretical WIP.
Look here

Can you give more details please?
Regards,
GT-I9300 - Rooted - Stock
GT-I9100P - Rooted - Stock Last for I9100 with NFC "almost" enabled (No Tags)
ASUS TF101G 16 Go - B80 - NachoRooted - Cyanogen
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you want 3G Mobile Network on your TF101 with Honeycomb? (read more)
 
dan-htc-touch
Old
#10  
dan-htc-touch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 569
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: calgary

 
DONATE TO ME
oh... I guess insmod won't work on the modules without a compatible modem plugged in then?
Devices:
Android: galaxy tab 10.1, galaxy tab 8.9
Windows phone 8: Samsung ativ s
Windows RT: Microsoft Surface
twitter: dan_htc_fan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes