Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[solved]updating ENG-HBOOT, gets I/O error, caz eMMC was dead

OP opumps

2nd July 2011, 10:06 PM   |  #1  
opumps's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
hi guys, this problem was solved, unexpectedly.

my DS was bricked by an accidentally freeze and the immediately battery pulled-out.
so, the eMMC-chip(marked as SAMSUNG104, KLM4G2DEJE A001, FDAE15PC) was completely dead, and i made a replacement with a new one(made by Sandisk serial:SEM04G), and then everything goes on good.

for more detail, you could click
[solved]BRICKed: inside eMMC's dead, with E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log



im updating the ENG-HBOOT to get the full permissions on "fastboot mod".

1. when i type: dd if=/sdcard/hboot.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p18
Code:
dd: writing '/dev/block/mmcblk0p18': I/O error
1+0 records in
0+0 records out
0 bytes (0B) copied, 4.004939 seconds, 0B/s
2. PG88IMG.zip, and it stuck at updating screen.

3.can fastboot do a same job to upgrade the HBOOT?
Last edited by opumps; 3rd July 2011 at 08:08 PM.
3rd July 2011, 12:41 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Bratislava
Thanks Meter: 17
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
I was unable to update via fastboot, but you can try it.

The command was "fastboot flash hboot filename" if I remember it correctly.


Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to pastynko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2011, 05:30 AM   |  #3  
opumps's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastynko

I was unable to update via fastboot, but you can try it.The command was "fastboot flash hboot filename" if I remember it correctly.

thanx man.

here's the prompts

Code:
fastboot flash hboot hboot.img
sending 'hboot' (1024 KB)... OKAY
writing 'hboot'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
the remote: not allowed is caused by the current HBOOT, and the updating is about to get the "allowed" permission.

anything else i can do? heeeeeelp
Last edited by opumps; 3rd July 2011 at 05:38 AM.
3rd July 2011, 10:21 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Bratislava
Thanks Meter: 17
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Which version do you have atm? Are you S-OFFed by XTC clip?


Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA App
3rd July 2011, 02:54 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Fredericksburg
Thanks Meter: 177
 
254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Hey opumps... I'm not sure I can be much help. With the methods I use, being for the G2, is mostly run from hboot bootloader. In order for it to work I had to fool the phone into thinking the PC10IMG.zip I use is newer than the version of everything on the phone. I do this via misc_version or the dd command to swap in the misc.img onto the misc partition. Not sure how the Desire S is. But if I were to lead you in a direction I would say find a stock PCxxIMG.zip and in linux unzip it... trust me it works but must be in linux for the files not to be messed up. Then swap out the hboot.img for the eng-hboot... just take out the old one and put in the eng one. Hboot.img as filename should work just fine... if the hboot is an nbh or whatever it shouldn't matter... it should pick up the img during update and flash. Once that files is in the directory add all the files back into a new zip. Rename the new zip to your PCxxIMG.zip. put on the root of the phone and reboot into bootloader. It should pick up the file and... well you tell me. You can take all the rest of the files out and only leave the eng hboot and it will flash what you have in the zip. In order to do it other ways I needed a program called gfree to remove the security fom the hboot.
The Following User Says Thank You to OdiemanSAM For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2011, 08:09 PM   |  #6  
opumps's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by OdiemanSAM

Hey opumps... I'm not sure I can be ....

for your help, thank you SAM, it's nice to have u here!
and i updated the post.
4th July 2011, 10:45 AM   |  #7  
Numline1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nitra
Thanks Meter: 6
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Hey, Im glad you fixed it, now I at least know, what's wrong with mine. I hope they'll cover it under warranty and if they don't, at least I know how to fix it.
5th July 2011, 06:07 AM   |  #8  
opumps's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Numline1

Hey, Im glad you fixed it, now I at least know, what's wrong with mine. I hope they'll cover it under warranty and if they don't, at least I know how to fix it.

sure~ ~ ~
5th July 2011, 06:11 AM   |  #9  
opumps's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastynko

Which version do you have atm? Are you S-OFFed by v?


Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA App

i bought it S-OFFed, don't know how it was S-OFFed.

it costs US$5.00, to S-OFF DS in our local market.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes