Post Reply

[WIP][DEV]Hotspot unlock

3rd July 2011, 02:04 PM   |  #1  
Leoisright's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 6,895
 
4,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Well hope this won't get moved to q & a because once this is odexed I will create a bat file to push to framework and will update this thread.

I need a framework file odexed that has the hotspot hack. Anyone care to help?

Here is the file. I have tried and can't get it figured out. I think once we get this odexed we can push to framework and should unlock the hotspot so we don't need WiFi tether apps bypassing the need for Su privs.

hotspot hacked framework

Thanks to anyone that can help.


Sent from my 3VO..
Last edited by Leoisright; 3rd July 2011 at 02:06 PM.
3rd July 2011, 03:23 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Hey Leo, might want to ping AAMIKAM (MikG) they're very experienced working with Odexed ROMs.
3rd July 2011, 03:32 PM   |  #3  
Leoisright's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 6,895
 
4,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2k

Hey Leo, might want to ping AAMIKAM (MikG) they're very experienced working with Odexed ROMs.

Yeah, good idea. I tried outing it on the phone and wrapping it but didn't work. Once we get this odexed, we all get free WiFi.

Sent from my 3VO..
The Following User Says Thank You to Leoisright For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2011, 03:36 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bear, DE
Thanks Meter: 4,763
 
5,929 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
Maybe I'm missing something....how can you push anything to /system/framework bypassing the SU privs?

Code:
drwxr-xr-x root     root              2011-05-23 10:46 framework
/system/framework is only writable by root. Unless you mean 'temp root, push file, now it works'....

But my understanding is that everything reverts to where it was after a reboot, so I'm not sure how this would work.... (Not being an ass, I honestly want to understand what it is that you think will allow this to work. )
3rd July 2011, 03:42 PM   |  #5  
Leoisright's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 6,895
 
4,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smw6180

Maybe I'm missing something....how can you push anything to /system/framework bypassing the SU privs?

Code:
drwxr-xr-x root     root              2011-05-23 10:46 framework
/system/framework is only writable by root. Unless you mean 'temp root, push file, now it works'....

But my understanding is that everything reverts to where it was after a reboot, so I'm not sure how this would work.... (Not being an ass, I honestly want to understand what it is that you think will allow this to work. )

Well easy process. It will be a one click temp root, push everything to correct spot, then it should work fine.

So what if you have to reboot, its a one click process to get it back. And not so sure about that once it reboots anyway. It will over write the files and may not need to redo after reboot.


Sent from my 3VO..
3rd July 2011, 03:48 PM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bear, DE
Thanks Meter: 4,763
 
5,929 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leoisright

Well easy process. It will be a one click temp root, push everything to correct spot, then it should work fine.

So what if you have to reboot, its a one click process to get it back. And not so sure about that once it reboots anyway. It will over write the files and may not need to redo after reboot.


Sent from my 3VO..

Oh. Duh. I'm sorry, I wasn't even thinking about re-running it every time. My apologies. I thought you meant it was a 'reboot and go' sorta thing.
3rd July 2011, 03:55 PM   |  #7  
Leoisright's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 6,895
 
4,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smw6180

Oh. Duh. I'm sorry, I wasn't even thinking about re-running it every time. My apologies. I thought you meant it was a 'reboot and go' sorta thing.

It's all good bro. I will make this an easy add on to haus temp root. It should be an easy hack once we get this odexed. I contacted mikg and waiting to hear back.

I don't think it would revert the framework because its gonna be identical just hacked so it may not even revert back. Usually only reverts back the stuff pushed to data/temp where as this will push directly to /system/framework. I did it last night and it did over write the original one but since it wasn't odexed i put it back.

Sent from my 3VO..
3rd July 2011, 04:14 PM   |  #8  
kaos420's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
dantes inferno
Thanks Meter: 1,615
 
3,076 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leoisright

Well easy process. It will be a one click temp root, push everything to correct spot, then it should work fine.

So what if you have to reboot, its a one click process to get it back. And not so sure about that once it reboots anyway. It will over write the files and may not need to redo after reboot.


Sent from my 3VO..

it would have to be run everytime . all files revert back. been dealing with it. have titanium and su installed. every reboot any changes i make i gotta revert back.
3rd July 2011, 04:29 PM   |  #9  
Leoisright's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 6,895
 
4,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos420

it would have to be run everytime . all files revert back. been dealing with it. have titanium and su installed. every reboot any changes i make i gotta revert back.

Even so, I still want to add this to the one click root method. We can keep adding to it until we get full root.

I've had a couple responses and sounds like it does need to he odexed from with in the phone. For those that have an EVO that we could use to wrap may be needed.

This sounds like a challenge but once we get it lots will benefit.

Sent from my 3VO..
3rd July 2011, 04:33 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Greensboro
Thanks Meter: 46
 
472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leoisright

Even so, I still want to add this to the one click root method. We can keep adding to it until we get full root.

I've had a couple responses and sounds like it does need to he odexed from with in the phone. For those that have an EVO that we could use to wrap may be needed.

This sounds like a challenge but once we get it lots will benefit.

Sent from my 3VO..

Still have my ogEvo. Just point me in the right direction.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in EVO 3D CDMA Android Development by ThreadRank